Originally posted by scotts07:
Will tyres wear off faster if we change our stock springs to lowered springs??
Wah lau eh! Your Sunny only a few days old you want to modify the whole thing liow.

Eh, be careful leh....some modifications will void its warranty.
The answer to your question is "no"....because the tyres will still be rolling the same way, so it will not wear off the tyres in any extraordinary way.
Tyre wear depends a lot on the following:
- Your driving style, eg. do you accelerate hard, brake hard and take corners fast? Or run on rough surfaces?
- What kind of tyres you choose, eg. high performance noisy ones which wear out shortly.....or normal ones which are not lasting, compromising performance?
- Are your tyres inflated to the manufacturer's standards?
- Are your wheels properly aligned? If not, some tyres may be scraping more than rolling.
- Are the camber of your wheels adjusted for performance? Sports cars usually have their wheel cambers adjusted, sometimes even up to 2 degrees. Camber is the angle/slant of your wheels.....eg. for cars tuned for racing, if you stand at the back looking at the car, you notice that the wheels form a slight "A" shape. I don't know how to exlain this properly in words.....like the top of the wheels are further in than the bottom lah (for better stability while taking corners).
Most of us will never need lowered suspensions in practice (unless you want that sporty look).....because most of us will not take corners fast enough to feel the effect anyway (if you do, then the Sunny will be the wrong car for you). Lowered springs will give a very hard ride too...very bumpy. Better if you just keep the height level, but change to harder shocks (eg. gas struts).