Please leh, you know what is driving lights and what is foglights not?Originally posted by t3r:im not reffering to literally small headlights... but its more of onning your lamps 'half' ... like how u would turn it on before dark.... and together with fog light... is that allowed?
and yeah..i am not dumb..i can differentiate foglights and headlamps...
I get what you mean. You are talking about those that have 2 smaller lights outer than the headlamps that is located lower to the bottom of the front bumper. That is usually the position of the spot light, but have you notice that when they "on" all the 4 lights (like rectangle position), you will notice the bottom 2 are just as bright as the top 2. So are they really spot lights?Originally posted by t3r:im not reffering to literally small headlights... but its more of onning your lamps 'half' ... like how u would turn it on before dark.... and together with fog light... is that allowed?
Don't bother to use 'logic' to intepret LTA's rules. If you do that, you might end up getting double summon for failure to turn on headlights and switching on fog lights in clear weather.Originally posted by t3r:i heard that turning on your foglight is illegal... but i seen many people on their small light together with foglights... so its not so bright.... is it legal that way?
Think you're talking about parking lights. The position between off and full driving lights right? My host father in US told me that it's used for situations where you have to stop on like a highway but you don't want to drain your battery so you leave the parking lights on, they don't suck so much power and this way your car can still be seen by other cars on the highway to prevent high speed accidents.Originally posted by t3r:im not reffering to literally small headlights... but its more of onning your lamps 'half' ... like how u would turn it on before dark.... and together with fog light... is that allowed?
Alamak 2 posts up already put newspaper article of LTA clarifying that foglight is illegal in clear weather, then here you still not sure if illegal.Originally posted by PeRsEuS:I do see some cars with only parking lights on and fog lights on sometimes, my neighbor drives a lowered Mitsubishi Galant and he loves doing it. I'm not sure if it's illegal though.
Hehe ya la I'm blur la..but to me foglamps are those you sometimes see on the front of real SUVs, those at headlamp levels, not like my tinny ass ones that can't even make a mole recoil.. What does LTA mean by clear weather? Can we use them if it's raining really hard? I've never seen fog in Singapore..Originally posted by guitarman1:Alamak 2 posts up already put newspaper article of LTA clarifying that foglight is illegal in clear weather, then here you still not sure if illegal.
No wonder no matter how much LTA clarify, ppl still not sure....
Whoever happy juz on la, summon pay lor
Originally posted by drumstick:Nah, ppl complain about HID also (Esp from those Lexus RX!!) but LTA din do anything about it.
I would not call foglamp illegal.. but it is those idiots who misuse it, causing road hazards let it ended up to be illegal. If no one complains... do you think LTA or TP will be so eng to review it and to classified it? They wont 1 lor..[/b]
Cant be helped ma. Since it's factory fitted. I dont think LTA will want to start ripping the HIDs off every Odyssey and RX. Maybe that's why they ban aftermarket HIDs.Originally posted by guitarman1:Nah, ppl complain about HID also (Esp from those Lexus RX!!) but LTA din do anything about it.
So might not be a complaint thing that led them to brand foglight illegal. LTA got lotsa funny rules la, no use thinking how they came about.
those are not called fog lamps, those are called spot lamps... these are not allowed in SG and vehicles fitted with it must cover it up... damn, even crash bars are not allowed in SG, SUVs must have spot lamps and crash bar then cool mah...Originally posted by PeRsEuS:Hehe ya la I'm blur la..but to me foglamps are those you sometimes see on the front of real SUVs, those at headlamp levels, not like my tinny ass ones that can't even make a mole recoil.. What does LTA mean by clear weather? Can we use them if it's raining really hard? I've never seen fog in Singapore..
There is no kangeroo to prevent crashingOriginally posted by Prestroz:those are not called fog lamps, those are called spot lamps... these are not allowed in SG and vehicles fitted with it must cover it up... damn, even crash bars are not allowed in SG, SUVs must have spot lamps and crash bar then cool mah...
http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/modification_guide/modification_not_allowed.html
I read somewhere that car bumpers and fronts are designed to crumple in the event of serious accidents so that the hard parts don't fly into the driver's body. I was thinking if you slam into a kangaroo at like say 120km/hr..won't the bumper crumple then the crash bar remain intact how?? Will that hunk of metal fly into you?Originally posted by Praetorian111:There is no kangeroo to prevent crashing![]()
The crash bar mean even cause serious injuries in the event of an accident.
The crash bar supposed to take the impact to save the car chasis. Omg. Its a kangaroo leh! I think you will have more chance of surviving than the kangaroo.. wahahaOriginally posted by PeRsEuS:I read somewhere that car bumpers and fronts are designed to crumple in the event of serious accidents so that the hard parts don't fly into the driver's body. I was thinking if you slam into a kangaroo at like say 120km/hr..won't the bumper crumple then the crash bar remain intact how?? Will that hunk of metal fly into you?