But the Advanced driving theory book says Manual cars can use engine brake, but Auto cars must brake earlier cuz they dun have! hmmmmmmmmOriginally posted by ditzy:Auto cars also have clutches. In fact, auto cars have more clutches than manual ones.![]()
Because manual car you control the clutch, and auto car, you cannot control the clutch, hence auto.Originally posted by markzz:But the Advanced driving theory book says Manual cars can use engine brake, but Auto cars must brake earlier cuz they dun have! hmmmmmmmm![]()
You will see its benefits in the long run.Originally posted by markzz:Why u laugh? --->![]()
Anyway, I find going uphill from a stop very mafan in a manual car. need to find biting point 1st den can move off. Me now learner driver. Thankfully the other road users around Ubi are patient and didn't honk at me for driving slowly. hehehe
i think auto cars have something called a torque converter to prevent the engine power being transferred into the transmission when idling.Originally posted by markzz:Is engine brake caused by the clutch action? Cuz clutchless cars (Auto) have no engine brakes. Wad abt F1 cars? Do they have engine brakes, since they no clutch?![]()
i think u missed the "f" in shift.Originally posted by tofushop193:auto got engine brake la...when u in D u shit to L then got engine brake liao
Yea. Just go D3 or D2 or something. And if u have those manual + and - gearbox, works too. Also works well with the flappy pedals.Originally posted by Theatre Of Dreams:engine brake simply refers to engaging a lower gear to tarik the engine what. does clutch have to play a part here?
I think so too. "...when u in D u sh|t to L then got engine brake "Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:i think u missed the "f" in shift.![]()
It's ok. every sch like that one. BBDC also. drive like snails but no one minds cuz everyone is driving like snail. i dont mean the snail drive the car, i mean the speed of the car is like snail.Originally posted by markzz:Why u laugh? --->![]()
Anyway, I find going uphill from a stop very mafan in a manual car. need to find biting point 1st den can move off. Me now learner driver. Thankfully the other road users around Ubi are patient and didn't honk at me for driving slowly. hehehe
scully in future govt decides to build driving centres all around the island so as to force everyone to drive slowlyOriginally posted by nightsky87:It's ok. every sch like that one. BBDC also. drive like snails but no one minds cuz everyone is driving like snail. i dont mean the snail drive the car, i mean the speed of the car is like snail.
hahahhaa...sorry was typing in the darkOriginally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:i think u missed the "f" in shift.![]()
Most conti cars auto box have engine brake when u slow down of turning into a corner. These boxes uses accelerometers to sense your action and shift accordingly (some even have gyros to sense car position). Also, unlike jap boxes, the conti auto boxes gears stays engaged when u lift your foot from the gas paddle thus providing more "engine brake".Originally posted by SEI:my merc have engine break when using tip tronic if that counts
If dat happens, more pple are gonna ride bicycles in the city (Imagine a Driving centre next to Taka ! )Originally posted by Theatre Of Dreams:scully in future govt decides to build driving centres all around the island so as to force everyone to drive slowlyomg roads road-hogged by L-plates
If kana Yellow Box while not turning at red light = Immediate Failure in TP test right? Basket..dat time driving along Bedok Reserviour got 1 City Cab drove next to me. After a while, he speed up n moved a few metres ahead ( still in the lane next to me) . Suddenly, the crazy Cabbie suddenly swerved in front of me without signaling!!!!! Lucky I "Zham" brakes in time n missed his rear bumper by inches!!! My Instructor was so angry den he wound down the window n yelled x@#$! at the cabbie who simply stuck his hand out of the cab window with the Middle finger clearly shown!Originally posted by storm_freaky13:markzz i understand how you feel... LOL...
aiya they see 'L' plate never give face one...
some idiot squeezed into the only space availabe after the yellow box which was supposed to be mine. forcing me to kenna in the yellow box -.-
Immediate failure meh? SO JIALAT?! i tot points nia... wah a bit harsh leh.Originally posted by markzz:If kana Yellow Box while not turning at red light = Immediate Failure in TP test right? Basket..dat time driving along Bedok Reserviour got 1 City Cab drove next to me. After a while, he speed up n moved a few metres ahead ( still in the lane next to me) . Suddenly, the crazy Cabbie suddenly swerved in front of me without signaling!!!!! Lucky I "Zham" brakes in time n missed his rear bumper by inches!!! My Instructor was so angry den he wound down the window n yelled x@#$! at the cabbie who simply stuck his hand out of the cab window with the Middle finger clearly shown!![]()
not don't have, but in an auto car, even when u're not stepping on the accelerator pedal, there is more fuel being injected into the engine as compared to a manual car, so the engine braking is less pronounced. thats why some auto cars will move forward very slowly even without stepping on the gas, while manual cars will stall when u dun step on the gas.Originally posted by markzz:But the Advanced driving theory book says Manual cars can use engine brake, but Auto cars must brake earlier cuz they dun have! hmmmmmmmm![]()
thats why i love conti boxes. step on the gas gently, it shifts around 3000-4000 rpms. savage the gas pedal, it shifts at 6000.Originally posted by siaokao:Most conti cars auto box have engine brake when u slow down of turning into a corner. These boxes uses accelerometers to sense your action and shift accordingly (some even have gyros to sense car position). Also, unlike jap boxes, the conti auto boxes gears stays engaged when u lift your foot from the gas paddle thus providing more "engine brake".