sensor didn't beep becos there was no obstacle behind at that time, i stepped on the acc too fast after letting go of the brake so didn't see how the vehicle moved. I guess I should do thatOriginally posted by kentheman:reverse sensor no sound?
normally when u let go of brake u will know if it is in reverse or drive, see hwere the vehicle is moving
I think just let the car roll all the way. Auto cars don't step gas also can move right? Parking is supposed to be slow anyway ..Originally posted by Theatre Of Dreams:haha sometimes i also encounter during adjustment of parking, switching between D & R (alright i admit i'm not pro who can go in sui sui at one shot).
i think gotta cultivate the habit of letting the car roll abit first before stepping gas lor.
ya true, but i'm referring to his 3-pt turn.Originally posted by Icemoon:I think just let the car roll all the way. Auto cars don't step gas also can move right? Parking is supposed to be slow anyway ..
I was doing a 3pt to get out of the carpark, the car was already facing the exit but I forgot that I was in R rather than D, thats why I step on gas.Originally posted by Icemoon:I think just let the car roll all the way. Auto cars don't step gas also can move right? Parking is supposed to be slow anyway ..
Yes, sometimes the ground is uneven, so can't always depend on roll.Originally posted by Theatre Of Dreams:ya true, but i'm referring to his 3-pt turn.
however sometimes parking i need a little gas to move the car abit because of uneven ground at the parking lots.
Yea, my Sis's car has that sound, sounds like a truck or a van reversing. Although it's kinda annoying sometimes, it is really for the safety of the driver.Originally posted by Troy437:All cars shd be fitted with revers gear sound.
My car has a beeping sound when in reverse gear and there is gear indicator on dash board to tell u your gears...![]()
Unfortunately this cannot be helped. Even wih reverse sensor there will be an intial beep once you engage gear, and subsequent seconds there will not be a beeping sound unless there is an obstacle. If car manufacturers made more and more of such user-friendly features then the point of driving will be invalid. This kind of situations must always be aware and check on ur dashboard or the actual gear stick to see which mode you are in. Cultivate this habit and you will be fine on the road no matter which knnccb is impatiently rushing you.Originally posted by pie:This morning someone interrupted me while I was making a 3 pt turn. When I resumed, I thought I was in Drive gear but actually was still in Rev and stepped on the acc, nearly bang the car behind.
Any tips on how to avoid this? Auto car btw
manual got clutch to control so dun tink will 4get leh..Originally posted by nullifi3d:Unfortunately this cannot be helped. Even wih reverse sensor there will be an intial beep once you engage gear, and subsequent seconds there will not be a beeping sound unless there is an obstacle. If car manufacturers made more and more of such user-friendly features then the point of driving will be invalid. This kind of situations must always be aware and check on ur dashboard or the actual gear stick to see which mode you are in. Cultivate this habit and you will be fine on the road no matter which knnccb is impatiently rushing you.
This also applies for manual transmission, although they taught you not to look at your gear when changing.
Cheers
I used to check when I was driving manual cos you can feel which position the gear is in, but after changing to auto, can't tell anymoreOriginally posted by nullifi3d:Unfortunately this cannot be helped. Even wih reverse sensor there will be an intial beep once you engage gear, and subsequent seconds there will not be a beeping sound unless there is an obstacle. If car manufacturers made more and more of such user-friendly features then the point of driving will be invalid. This kind of situations must always be aware and check on ur dashboard or the actual gear stick to see which mode you are in. Cultivate this habit and you will be fine on the road no matter which knnccb is impatiently rushing you.
This also applies for manual transmission, although they taught you not to look at your gear when changing.
Cheers
Moral of the story is it is still safer to drink a manual car. Its features ensures you go through all necessary steps, those which is easily forgotten when driving an auto car. Don't let a moment of laziness affect your whole driving experiences by getting an auto car!Originally posted by pie:I used to check when I was driving manual cos you can feel which position the gear is in, but after changing to auto, can't tell anymore
Totally agree with you. No matter how scary or terrifying the thought of having to drive with a clutch, it is still the safest method. Think about it you got 3 braking options, footbrake, handbrake and engine brake. 1st gear to 2nd gear will help you slow down drastically, and the car baing able to stall is another safety feature in the threadstarter's kind of situation. But we as SG-eans after finding the joy and ease of auto cars will favour it over manual for a long time. Cept for me. Hehe.Originally posted by wbucket:Moral of the story is it is still safer to drink a manual car. Its features ensures you go through all necessary steps, those which is easily forgotten when driving an auto car. Don't let a moment of laziness affect your whole driving experiences by getting an auto car!