It will generally be held at a consistence level. Remember election is coming.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:It will definitely go up.
Yes, because of the quota. The lowest point is over.. in fact i think the next 2 March biddings will shoot up by quite abit from the current 10k, cos many people who have been holding back for the past few biddings hoping for prices to drop will jump in this time, before April.
Hmmm well, the COE prices is not controlled by the govt but rather, by the number of people who jump in at each bidding... The only thing that the govt can do to lower the COE prices is to increase the number of COEs released during the bidding, but so far it has not announced any intention to do so (any more)..Originally posted by Praetorian111:It will generally be held at a consistence level. Remember election is coming.![]()
Actually now the COE is controlled by the few Major car dealers.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Hmmm well, the COE prices is not controlled by the govt but rather, by the number of people who jump in at each bidding... The only thing that the govt can do to lower the COE prices is to increase the number of COEs released during the bidding, but so far it has not announced any intention to do so (any more)..
hmm, but strange why issit that ppl seem to noe the coe quota will be reduced come april? got some spies from LTA meh?Originally posted by benhur80:most probably will go up....i feel...
come april,the quota of coe released by lta will decrease thus coe will go up...maybe only...depends on the govt.
any comments?
why does singapore gov release so many coe?the reason being to rescue singapore from asian crisis...and of course,there are many ways to do that,like govt relax on the downpayment of flats to 5%...relaxing coe also plays a part....
actually,govt have to relax the coe pricing.....lan lan...why?if they die die hold on to 30K for a piece of paper......singaporean die die wont buy,coz economics unstable,then...everyone die....so,govt give in one step,to allow singaporean to be able to own a car,then singaporean also steady steady give in another step to help govt by loaning more $$ from the bank...if bank earns $$,naturally govt earns...thats explain why the 5% downpayment of the flat,and the cheap COE.....
so,depending on whether u want to grab this chance to be able to own a car of your own,or wait and see...(govt may decide,economic over,then jack up the coe....or may lower even further after the coming elections...all depends)
conclusion....up to you!!haha
People are so price sensitive and conditioned to 8-10k COE now, so COE very unlikely to go up to 15k. Rather than down, new COE quota may go up since itÂ’s based on no. of vehicles deregistered and guided by a 3% increase of cars on the road. No. of vehicles deregistered in 2005 is still higher than 2004. In fact, even if the new quota remains the same, COE will most likely even go down.Originally posted by tick:The only way is up....till $15k![]()
Unless they found a better way of controlling the number of cars being registered, I believe the system of COE is to stay.Originally posted by toyota-corolla:my mum said that if coe is so cheap!! in the future there might not even have coe. just like malaysia![]()
what was the cause for the $50 COE that time?Originally posted by cornyfish2000:It will definitely go up.
Yes, because of the quota. The lowest point is over.. in fact i think the next 2 March biddings will shoot up by quite abit from the current 10k, cos many people who have been holding back for the past few biddings hoping for prices to drop will jump in this time, before April.
i dun think any1 can 100% confirn that...unless they r from LTA...Originally posted by BufPuf:is it true that next yr no COe liao?
i know it does not sound logical to scrapped COE...but u never know...what if the ERP charges goes to like $5 or more etc...Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Not possible. There is no way the government can recover the lost income via ERP charges if the COE system is scrapped. As it is now, the COE remains a major source of revenue for the government.
Another reason is that the COE system allows the govt to control exactly the number of cars on the road (via the number of COEs released). This is to prevent traffic congestion on our small island. If COE is scrapped, there would be no control over the number of cars on our roads, and that's a situation that nobody wishes to have.
That the COE system will be scrapped is mere wishful thinking.
Not too long ago, people can't imagine COE to drop from 30k to 20k, then 20k drop to 15k, then 15k drop to 10k and ppl think that's it, no lower, but it went further down to 8k... if my earlier analysis makes sense, there is still some room to move down to maybe 5-6k.Originally posted by incredible:On the other hand, the hope of COE dropping back to 5-8k is highly unlikely as well...
hmmm....Originally posted by kmkm:Not too long ago, people can't imagine COE to drop from 30k to 20k, then 20k drop to 15k, then 15k drop to 10k and ppl think that's it, no lower, but it went further down to 8k... if my earlier analysis makes sense, there is still some room to move down to maybe 5-6k.
People are not just conditioned to low COE, but also conditioned to COE dropping... so I believe 5-6k is very possible. but let's see how the new COE quota will turn out. If there is a signifcant reduction e.g. 20% then I'm sure COE will be able to move up to 15k, otherwise it'll just fall again... My take is 5-6k is the lowest COE can go for Cat A, since this level is about 10% of total car cost already.
but if coe quota if due to annouce in April, there is only 2 more biddings left. with the leftover backlog of orders from the 8k and 10k coe, i think the coe levels for the next 2 rounds will still remain ard 10k, and then, come apr, when coe quota cuts (as expected), coe will start to move up.... i tink it will stabilise at 15kOriginally posted by kmkm:Not too long ago, people can't imagine COE to drop from 30k to 20k, then 20k drop to 15k, then 15k drop to 10k and ppl think that's it, no lower, but it went further down to 8k... if my earlier analysis makes sense, there is still some room to move down to maybe 5-6k.
People are not just conditioned to low COE, but also conditioned to COE dropping... so I believe 5-6k is very possible. but let's see how the new COE quota will turn out. If there is a signifcant reduction e.g. 20% then I'm sure COE will be able to move up to 15k, otherwise it'll just fall again... My take is 5-6k is the lowest COE can go for Cat A, since this level is about 10% of total car cost already.
That kind of COE price happened when the system was not as transparent as now. I don't think that is possible. but 5-6k is possible if quota remains the same. otherwise, probably stay around 8-10k. good for 1st time car buyers.Originally posted by pqr:hmmm....
how about $1 or $50 COE ?
Yes, coe is to control no. of cars, but it's dependent on no. of cars deregistered and guided by a 3% annual increase. since no. of cars deregistered last year is still higher than the year before, i don't think the figure will suddenly reduce for this year, hence won't expect too much change from last year.Originally posted by incredibleduck:think abt it, coe is to control the no of cars on the rd. so it has to be a significant enuff portion of the car cost to have an impact....
if coe does fall to 5k, i think it wld not be such an influencing factor in a person's decision whether or not to buy a car anymore. hence, i tink coe probably wld not fall to such lows....