No, Euro 4 is much stricter and engine makers are currently doing their best to beat it and even Euro 5.Originally posted by SBS9828X:more likely that the diesel family saloon to be at least Euro2 complied?
What shrinking slice? Hardly anyone's driving a diesel passenger car - at last count the number was 6. And because of the stupid additional taxes, no one wants to buy or import one.Originally posted by GSXR~RACER:but hor, our dear gahmen dun want to let the pie cut out and enjoy less.. that is the real problem.
dats only one form of hybrid. when we talk about hybrids, there can be solar powered, vegetable oil powered, methane powered and hydrogen powered versions too. anything which uses alternative fuels can be coined as "hybrid" vehicles.Originally posted by Tayysj:i thought hybrid cars still run on petrol. they only save petrol by using an electric motor for accelerating from standstill and low speeds. the battery is charge with the energy released everytime the car brakes. at high speeds the petrol engine takes over. =/
speaking of methane power....u know that our human sh!t is more powerful than cowdung....tested and proven liao....Originally posted by tailslide:dats only one form of hybrid. when we talk about hybrids, there can be solar powered, vegetable oil powered, methane powered and hydrogen powered versions too. anything which uses alternative fuels can be coined as "hybrid" vehicles.
dunnit to look for toilet liaoz!! jus shit into e fuel tank (or whatever they can call it)Originally posted by AE86tofu:speaking of methane power....u know that our human sh!t is more powerful than cowdung....tested and proven liao....![]()
u tried both before?Originally posted by AE86tofu:speaking of methane power....u know that our human sh!t is more powerful than cowdung....tested and proven liao....![]()
Might be true to a certain extent.. This has always been a chicken and egg problem. Without the apporpriate infrastructure to support these hybrids/ electric/ cng vehicles, the masses cannot be expected to embrace the technology. OTOH, it's not viable to develop the infrastructure without certainty or without a critical mass that require it.Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:gahmen wont do anything that doesnt absolutely need doing.. lazy to move or reluctant to move outta comfort zone.. i dunno..
also.. i guess the singaporean mentality plays a part too... if they dun earn from it.. or dun benefit from.. u can let them noe all the pros the action taken will bring upon.. and they still will not budge..
one fine day we might all be driving kangoos and combos on the road... and lane one is the sole domain of the filthy rich..
top gear did a test....they had 2 identical cars converted 2 run on methane....one with cow poo and the other with our poo...did a simple drag test and our Sh!t won....Originally posted by tailslide:u tried both before?![]()
they need to noe that the earth's oil supply will not last forever..Originally posted by Dreamslacker:Might be true to a certain extent.. This has always been a chicken and egg problem. Without the apporpriate infrastructure to support these hybrids/ electric/ cng vehicles, the masses cannot be expected to embrace the technology. OTOH, it's not viable to develop the infrastructure without certainty or without a critical mass that require it.
Between the 2, it's my opinion that the govt has the resources to break this cycle.
Of course, Singaporeans in general, have always been, sadly, an apathetic lot. Without significant benefits, most are unlikely to budge.
Of course, those enjoying the high life (I believe there's no need to name them) are a lot less likely to do so since 'significant' to them is a windfall to the masses. Perhaps an equivalent to a catastrophe is what we need to get everyone's fanny adams moving.
solar powered good tehn no need fuel le. but then it hink they will take the chance to jerk up the maintainanceOriginally posted by arjun:Hybrid cars are going to be the next tech breakthrough that will save a lot of fuel. Then the Electric car will rule. In the end it will be the solar powered ones. But still a long way to g.
You try telling that to the US and the reply will be.... you either be with us or be against us....Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:they need to noe that the earth's oil supply will not last forever..
but then again.. if the other nations r not doing anything... why should singapore rite?