With all the hype about Taxis being converted to CNGs and SMART taxis facilitating 2 more new CNG pumps in mainland SG (The only one available is at Jurong Island), would you convert your car to CNG?
According to ST Sunday Times 3rd page, the guy responsible for CNG conversions Gilbert Aue says it provides cleaner emissions but a possible 10% loss in power. Still with the increasing petrol prices i might just consider converting. That extra 300KM comes with the loss of 2/5 of my boot space.
2.0T
You will loose half your boot space.....But what the heck, its only boot space....
tomsss
when got more CNG filling station then say lah, with only 2 stations built...bleh
tiggersgd
in the near future yes.
if i'm to change car now (which i dun think so...), i'll most probably go for hybrids...honda civic (8th gen.) hybrid!
yoongf
Even if got more filling stations.. it takes damn long to fill up 1 tank. That's why even the US home version is to let it fill up overnite.
2.0T
Originally posted by yoongf:
Even if got more filling stations.. it takes damn long to fill up 1 tank. That's why even the US home version is to let it fill up overnite.
Sure or not overnite??? Filling up the entire tanker ah?
In australia my LPG takes the same time as regular petrols.....
500cel
thats why they re making u to shop at the kiosk while u wait for it to pump up. heard it may takes 1/2hr for normal passenger car to fill up
^tamago^
no... that is different.
a Volvo B10BLE CNG bus used by SBS Transit can be refuelled full tank in 6 minutes flat at Jurong Island.
GSXR~RACER
it take as similar time as filling up patrol lah. and can just convert your patrol car easily to CNG/LPG car. diesel a bit difficult... i used CNG and LPG before.. power loss is a little, but hay,,, its far cheaper than patrol.
but i dun dare to say it'll be cheap in singapore, coz our gahmen want to suck up as much as they can from us.
CNG full tank doesn't last long, but LPG could be a good alternative to patrol.
gilbertaue
Hi guys, I'm from the company that is referred to in the News Article - C. Melchers.
Just wanted to clarify a few things:
1) The loss is UP TO 10%. The amount of loss depends on how well your car is tuned after the installation. We have a standard tuning program for all cars, but since each car is unique in its own way, there might be more or less loss of power. Seriously though, with a normal car even 10% is not much unless you like to be first off the mark at the lights and you might feel a bit of loss of power during hill climbs.
2) The stations. Three stations will be running by the end of this year - Toh Tuck Ave (big parcel of land just before the PIE ramp heading towards Tuas). Its bordered on one side by Toh Tuck Ave, other side is Toh Guan Rd East. - Mandai Road (Near the old Shell station) - Serangoon Rd Nth Ave 5
The two equipment for the stations in Mandai and Serangoon have already been purchased and are on their way. However these stations are called 'daughter stations' and rely on a 'mother station' to transport the gas to their location. The 'mother station' is the one in Toh Tuck.
The station in Toh Tuck is huge and tender for the construction for it has just closed - we know, since we took part in it. The station MUST be completed by the end of the year.
So this should qualm some of the worries people have about "IF EVER".
3) The filling up of the cars depends very much on the compressors used at the station. If you size your compressors correctly, the filling up time is about 1 1/2 minutes for a car and about 3 minutes for a bus.
I won't talk much more about it here since I don't think it's appropriate for me to talk about the conversion kit too much since I would be "marketing" it. If you are interested more, have a look at the website www.cng.com.sg and you can email your queries there.
Rgds, Gilbert
heluim
power la.. got some1 marketing CNG.. i am vv interested getting CNG i even thought of purposely buying a GDI engine car for CNG.. LOL is damn cheap.. somemore i stay in yew tee.. near to the shell station tt u r talking abt.. but i am wonder if i were to install CNG kit on my current car when i buy new car can transfer over to it ??????