Clarification...........I have a license myself and wud never advise anyone to take that risk at all.....even if the penalty is light....it's life out there that is a concern.Originally posted by casshern:the one driving without license will kena banned from driving for 2 years.
the car owner's license will also be suspended for 2 years if i rmb correctly.
there are cases where pple lend their parents' car to pple with out license to drive, in this case, the lender, driver and parent all kena. u sure u want to do it?
It applies the same as no license. SAF license is only recognise by SAF Organisation.Originally posted by KLZW:wad bout driving wif saf licence?
Not severe enough...should have mandatory jail sentence for driving without license. If he causes a non-fatal accident, he should be caned as well. If he causes a fatal accident, the driver should be charged for manslaughter.Originally posted by Thailand_Hero:The police will arrest you and ask you whose car is it.
If the owner say he lend/rent you without you having a valid licence...his licence gone + fine. you will get fine ban from learning 2 years.
If owner say you steal, you go Jail + fine + ban from driving 2 years.
so either way...its a lose lose situation for you. and the penalty is very severe.
see the country law la... diff country got diff law...Originally posted by ceecookie:what if u drive in foriegn country w/o license?
how do u know?Originally posted by Thailand_Hero:The police will arrest you and ask you whose car is it.
If the owner say he lend/rent you without you having a valid licence...his licence gone + fine. you will get fine ban from learning 2 years.
If owner say you steal, you go Jail + fine + ban from driving 2 years.
so either way...its a lose lose situation for you. and the penalty is very severe.
I served my NS in the police force. I know what i am talking about.Originally posted by pqr:how do u know?
good the straight a student can now be entrepruener le. maybe he will make big bucks cos of thatOriginally posted by Ponders:you want to know what's the worst part of driving without license and get caught...
IT IS A CRIMINAL OFFENCE!!!!!!
yes, it is. I have said this story many times... a straght A student cannot be employed in a MNC because he drove without license when he was younger.
anyway, as for using SAF license.. hmm. i think it is abit grey and i have not heard of any precedent cases before.
The law says you need to be licensed to drive a car legally... but it does not clearly start what license you should own.
My Singaporean friend drove in singapore without Singapore license but he has a US License and was caught.
He did not get the criminal record because he is a qualified driver, and did not endanger ppl as he knows how to drive. So in the end the penalty is $2000 fine, 2 years driving ban AND forfeiture of the privilege to covert a foreign license into singapore license.
basically true but letting the car owner get off lightly is just changing the loophole from one to another.Originally posted by hisoka:they should make the person who drove ultimately responsible
dun think its an offense, btu hor why ressurrect such an old threadOriginally posted by mhcampboy:I think i just hijack this thread...
lets say you already have a license and forgot to bring it with you and get caught by TP or wadever..... is it an offense?
or the TP can check with their hq or wadever to see whether i posess a dl or not...