Got budget dun buy car....Originally posted by Kart~z:Hi all,
I intend to get myself a secondhand car, but i am really inexperience in doing so.
Just wondering if those who has experience would teach me or advice me a little here, like what to look out, where to go and buy, what type of car is suitable what car is good and what car is not etc etc...
i am looking for a budget car, not a luxury one.
Here you people soon...
Seriously...got budget cannot buy car one...Originally posted by Hello Kitty:Oi GoonDu, can u dun be so bad ah?
That why i decided not to get a car as taking a cab is definitely cheaper unless i doing field work,eheheOriginally posted by GoonDu:If you take cab everywhere, at most 1 month $500. Think about it. Unless you really need a car, don't bother if you're not well off.
Thank you jeff007, I dun intend and never will go and race with those dumb rich kids with "racing cars". What i want is a transport for my family and myself, that's all.Originally posted by jeff007:As wat Bluediver has said, get a Proton, cheap and easy to maintain...
However if u're looking for those kind of car tat u want to chio Cao Ah Bengz to race on the road, forget it. U shouldn't be driving at all!
If u really, really have the $$$, go for a 2nd-hand Honda Civic Esi or a VTI.
Also, look out for signz of weldings and paint jobz tat may indicate tat car has been smashed b4... Check b4 buying, otherwise u end up wif a trash!![]()
DUN BUY FRM CAO AH BENGZ ALSO, THOSE KIND OF CARZ (AH BENGZ LIKE MITSU AND HONDA) WILL DEFINITELY FAIL INSPECTION IF THEY SELL IT TO YOU WIF THE MODIFICATIONS!!!
Brand is not a big issue here, what i want is just a transport, with all the neccesary equipment on a normal car. I would not want to buy a car that breaks down once here and there.Originally posted by Bluediver:budget ar.. then frm my personal views , get a Proton lor.. u can service the parts in JB , much cheaper..
but hor if u hate the brand then forget it lah..
Thanks Atti.Originally posted by Atti:Got this piece of infor else where, hope it helps......... also, some budget car i recomment is proton wira, suzuki swift, hyudai accent etc etc......maybe, its best if u could list out yr budget, and if u want a renew COE car or what...... or these played an important factor.
"i would recommend you to buy from a dealer if possible cost that few thousands more safe you a hassle and give a a few months gurantee for the car you bought.If you are buying from private owner.
You either pay full cash or get a fianance office to finance you.Pay slip require and must be over 21.Inspect the car at reown workshop if you are really interest.Automobile Assiociation at Ubi would be a good choice. www.aas.com.sg
Info can be found of www.lta.gov.sg on transfer of ownership."
Please do a little research before asking. You're giving people a wildcard to reply to...not having any info on your budget etc...Originally posted by Kart~z:now people please, what i need here is real and sincere advices on buying secondhand cars, i dun need all this flamming from you people, please and thank you.
Originally posted by GoonDu:Thank you there GoonDu.
Please do a little research before asking. You're giving people a wildcard to reply to...not having any info on your budget etc...
Anyway, if you want advice, here it is...
When you go buying a car, remember the costs involved (trust me...I know). Here're some pointers anyway.
Check the classifieds for ads especially on saturdays. People like to advertise on saturdays and you'd be able to get a pretty good deal. Don't be afraid to call up and check on the price of the car. Ask about colour, engine cap, mileage etc.
If you're interested in a car you're viewing, check the mileage (dun try to show too much interest to the dealer though). Usually, a car in Singapore will travel about 20,000 - 25,000km per year. So if you're getting a used car that's about 5 years old, you'd be looking at 125,000km or thereabouts.
Remember, the higher the mileage, the more worn out the car is and the more likely it is going to require changing of worn parts (suspension, brake discs, driveshaft, etc.)
Also, be a little suspecious if the mileage is too low...it may have been altered by someone...
You should also get a mechanic to check out the car that you're interested in. Viacom provides full inspection of cars should you decide on one. But remember DO NOT SIGN any papers until you are absolutely ready to buy the car. if you have a friend that's a mechanic, bring him along. You can even ask them to let you test drive the car which you ought to.
Once you're sure on the car, go ahead and make the saleman's day.
1. Buying the car. Well, you'd be looking at forking out about $600-$700 per month in repayments on top of a $9000 downpayment (20%) calculated based on a 1993-4 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXI 1.3. The car will cost about $40K depending on condition.
Once you've taken the plunge (to your bank account as well), you'll have to get insurance. Your preference of coverage as there are several options...a) 3rd Party Comprehensive - Safest...covers your own car and occupants plus other drivers while driving your car with your permission. b) 1st party - Not so safe but cheapest option...does not cover your own car but covers any other car damaged by yours in an accident.
If you're below 25 years of age and have never owned a car (i.e. no NCB or no-claim-bonus), you're looking at paying about $1000+ per annum for 3rd party comprehensive. 1st party not recommended for brand new cars but for cars with only a couple years life on Singapore roads left, it's alright. Not sure how much...can vary depending on insurance company.
2. Road Tax, you'd be looking at paying about $1000 - $1200 road tax per year if you get a 1.3litre car. A 1 litre car in my opinion is too pathetic to even consider carrying more than 1 passanger. You'd probably need to renew your road tax after six months (that's usually the duration the dealer will pay for you) so be prepared to fork out another $400-$500.
3. Parking - Standard open air HDB season parking $55...believe me, you'll be saving at least $100 in fines if you get season parking...those umbrella women come and fine you even at 4amOn top of that, weekend shopping parking can cost $2-$3 per entry depending where you park. So overall, per month, you'd be spending at least $70-80 on parking alone.
4. Food for the car - With escalating fuel prices, you're looking at spending about $1.44 per litre. That's gonna amount to $40-$50 for a full tank that'll get you anywhere from 380-450km.
5. Maintenance - You'd probably be servicing the car regularly (I hope) to keep it in good shape. It'll cost about $50-$100 per normal service and about $100-$150 for a major service. That'll come once every 3months or 5000km. Alternatively, you can opt to use synthetic oil such as Mobil 1 and the service intervals will be longer at 10,000km or 6 months (hence the 20,000km per year average mileage for cars).
6. At about 150,000km, the car should be going for a top overhaul. That's a basic overhaul that you'd wanna do to make sure that the engine's in good shape although you'd wanna get a good mechanic to do it.
7. Tyres will last you 2 years (depending on driving style) on average and they cost about $100 each for economical ones.
Anyway, that's my pointers on car purchasing and ownership....good luck.
[b]N.B. Hello Kitty, I'm not bad...I'm just mean![]()
[This message has been edited by GoonDu (edited 19 September 2000).][/B]
It's the odometer and it usually sits inside the speedometer of the car...the smaller re-settable one is the tripmeter.Originally posted by Kart~z:Thank you there GoonDu.
Points taken.
So can anyone tell me where i can locate this mileage thing on the car ?
Hi Kart~z again,Originally posted by Kart~z:Dear all,
I am looking for a ecnomic car just for transportation purpose.
My budget is about 30k-40k. so what do you poeple recommend eh?
with or without COE is the better choice?
Any good websites to tell me?
Any advices?
please feel free...
Thanks Atti,Originally posted by Atti:Hi Kart~z again,
If seriously for transport purposes only, i will suggest u get a suzuki swift GL, 1000cc only though, but super economic, in the sense that save petrol (but think no power window and steering. But the steering is okie in the sense the car is light, so not much diff from power steering).
A suzuki in this case at abt 30-35k enables you to have abt 4 yrs left, or more, on the COE. With scrap value at abt 10k. So, 25k for yrs or more, worth it isn't it?
When renewed COE, it meant to say that the car is more than ten yrs old, and life for the car was prolonged, for either a choice of 5 or 10 yrs....... anyway, in this instances, car will be cheaper however, no scrape value. So, needless to say, car with COE left is of cos better.
As for the mileage thing, think GoonDu had already replied you. On the average, S'porean tends to cover 20,000 km - 25,000 km a year. This meant to say, if you bought a 6 yrs old car, the so called ideal miledge should be ard 120,000 km or slightly more.
Hope my infor does help.
Regards
You'd be looking at a 7-8 year old Mitsubishi Lancer 1.3 or a Nissan Sunny EX Saloon of about the same age with that budgetOriginally posted by Kart~z:Dear all,
I am looking for a ecnomic car just for transportation purpose.
My budget is about 30k-40k. so what do you poeple recommend eh?
with or without COE is the better choice?
Any good websites to tell me?
Any advices?
please feel free...