Yes, the presence of trees does act as a form of barrier in the event of accidents. But ideally, I wasn't suggesting the total removal of trees, but to 'shape' their growth so that there are no dangerous overhanging branches over carriageways.Originally posted by tomsss:would u rather see a car hit a tree or fly across the divider and hit oncoming cars, skid off the road and careen into huge drain or land straight into a shop full of people?
these trees can also help serves as a barrier, you have to consider that too.
i just think that they should do more regular trimmings, that's all.
Besides, these trees help make our country "Uniquely Singapore" too![]()
wah... got alot of big big trees fell onto the roads b4 leh.... block traffic ah, commuters kpkb ah....Originally posted by bmx_rider:nothing will be done until something bad happen..btw dun worry..nvr happen b4..
since when mercedes got lorry oneOriginally posted by tofushop193:sometime i drive some trees growing out one ar...i scare my lorry the behind kana sia...
Originally posted by ShutterBug:1 guy from NIE also dies from falling branch in malaysia rite, heard it from the news. Anyway if branch kena yr vehicle, report to Nparks, and hope they will pay at least 50% of the repair jobs
[b]Woman dies after being pinned under fallen tree
Posted: 15 May 2007 1534 hrs
SINGAPORE: A woman died after being pinned under a fallen tree at the Bukit Batok Nature Park.
The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said it responded to a call on Tuesday morning at 7.10 am.
SCDF had to use a power saw to release the woman who was pronounced dead at the scene.
Two other women at the park were also injured by the fallen tree.
They were conscious but suffered cuts and bruises.
The two women were later sent to the National University Hospital (NUH) by SCDF ambulances.
NUH said both patients might be discharged on Tuesday.
- CNA/so
dun think so leh, friend driving a van and tree branch drops and broke windows. no payment made even after claims made to Nparks.Originally posted by Ritz79:1 guy from NIE also dies from falling branch in malaysia rite, heard it from the news. Anyway if branch kena yr vehicle, report to Nparks, and hope they will pay at least 50% of the repair jobs
Originally posted by ShutterBug:We all drive everyday, and we all depend a lot on all our existing Mainroads & Expressways to get to our destinations.
But I like to draw your attention to all those large, tall and old trees with overhanging branches that lined most of Singapore's Expressways & Mainroads; I see most of them have got branches that stretches almost halfway across roads. What will happen, if one of those thick branches break and fall during a thunderstorm? Even without thunderstorms, branches of old trees are known to come crashing down and flattening cars either passing by, or parked beneath it.
What's my point? Well, shade from trees in carparks and along roads and expressways are a welcome benefit, but what and who is ensuring that branches of these trees don't break off and harm road users? And when such a thing happens, who do we claim damages from?? I find it hard to accept the counter-claim under 'Acts of God', when such hazards were not prevented through maintenance by the responsible gov agency, in the first place.
I know that the PWD or Nparks conducts regular Tree Pruning along expressways, but why don't they remove all overhanging branches instead of trimming off twigs?
Or must they wait till something horrific and sad occurs before resorting to my suggestion?
Your opinions would be good in this concern.