In Singapore - just put it to "D" and go, there is very very rare cases that you will even need 1 or 2 .Originally posted by reddressman:Hi Friends,
I need some advice.
I have an auto car.
As you know, there is a auto gear and 'more power' gears 1 and 2 in addition.
During driving, if what must I take note when shifting from auto gear to 1 or 2?
Or what should I not do when so doing? Like things to avoid to damage the gear.
And has anyone used the ODO ?
How should it not be used?
Thanks!!
R.
Originally posted by Glennyek:Thanks Glennyek!
For OD or overdrive, it's main purpose is to push the car faster at relatively higher speed. Like when u driving north-south Highway in Malaysia and needed to pick up speed to over the 100km/hr, u can use OD to make that come about faster cos it will use the 2 or 3 gear longer before switching to the higher gear or fuel efficiency gear. Note also that the RPM meter will shoot pass 3k rpm or more before switching gears in OD mode. Usually, ard 2-3k rpm, the gear usually would have automatically switch to the next higher gear.
If still in doubt, try reading up at howstuffworks.com
Ohh.. dont do it.. it will be the same case when u shift to gear 1 in a manual car when going at 60... It will jerk suddenly and engine will suddenly REV damn high..Originally posted by NoviXG:From 80kph in Drive mode, then to Gear 2 mode?
If I remember correctly, the manual would say how fast can the car go in Gear 1 or 2 mode...
I think Gear 1 can go 30-40kph, Gear 2 around 60-80kph max...Different cars different limits...
But generally, dun switch from Drive to Gear 2 at 80kph...It will make the engine rev at a higher RPM to match the relative speed...And probably damage your engine...
Normally, most only play a bit with the OD button for overtaking or when the need for speed urge come about...Originally posted by reddressman:confirm that when pressing the OD, I can press it when at 80-100km/hr (accelerator pressed) and not that I can only press it when the car is at standstill before takeoff?
From what you said, I think its ok but I like to confirm since I don't wamt to do it wrongly.
Likewise, can I only shift to 2 or L only when the car is stopped or at low speed or break must be pressed?
thanks!!
Thats what I'm trying to tell TS...Haha...Originally posted by Cpt.ZR:Ohh.. dont do it.. it will be the same case when u shift to gear 1 in a manual car when going at 60... It will jerk suddenly and engine will suddenly REV damn high..
Scary...
Tried and tested on a camry 2.4!![]()
aye,... I think your auto gear will know how to drop to a lower gear when your car gets on an upslope, so no need to use "2" or OD... and no worries about damaging your gears...Originally posted by reddressman:Thanks Friends!
Another scenario : lets say I am driving at 80kph, D mode, and suddenly see a high slope to climb. Am I right to say I can engage the gear 2 to climb this by 1st reducing the speed to Gear 2 level ? Or should I use OD mode for climbing? I am not clear how the auto system switch between gears as I cannot see or control the clutch. And thus I am concerned about gear / engine damage when shifting gears, for example, when climbing slope when the car is not starting at gear 1 or 2 but at gear D 60-80kph.
Can I also say that gear shifting is ok in auto gear as long as I match the gear with the car speed at time of shift?
Lastly, is it not advisable to use the OD frequently even when it is used appropriately like at the right situation?
Thanks again Friends !!
double tab on accelerator?? i tot tat's only for beemers? i tried a double tab on a 320 before n it picked up speed real fast.. but on toyota doesn't seemed to hv any effect??Originally posted by so_nice:or, u can do a double tab on ur accelerator. auto still can play one. just see how u play lor.
Most auto box dun need double tap, just apply more pressure suddenly on accelerator..the gearbox will detect it and think that you want a downshift, so it will downshift a gear for you and you will accelerate faster..or if the auto box got manual override function, even better!Originally posted by kerts:double tab on accelerator?? i tot tat's only for beemers? i tried a double tab on a 320 before n it picked up speed real fast.. but on toyota doesn't seemed to hv any effect??
yeah. wat alleggerita said was more correct. anyway kerts, u driving vios? wat i did on a vios auto was to whack the rpm until 5k+, release and do it again. the pick up not bad lah. not rex or evo performance of course.Originally posted by alleggerita:Most auto box dun need double tap, just apply more pressure suddenly on accelerator..the gearbox will detect it and think that you want a downshift, so it will downshift a gear for you and you will accelerate faster..or if the auto box got manual override function, even better!![]()
Ya lor, I was thinking of that too..OD means use highest gear to save fuel..Originally posted by HolySniper:y u all so wrong... OD is overdrive, which means if on, the gearbox will use the 4th or 5th gear.. something like cruising..![]()
OD if off means it will use till gear3 if u have 4 gears and if u have 5gears, it wil use til gear4..![]()
yep wat u say is true, but hor, last time i tested e 320 beemer owned by a german, he told me abt e "double tab" n i tried it to be correct like wat he says. Needs abit of experience to get it right.Originally posted by alleggerita:Most auto box dun need double tap, just apply more pressure suddenly on accelerator..the gearbox will detect it and think that you want a downshift, so it will downshift a gear for you and you will accelerate faster..or if the auto box got manual override function, even better!![]()
i'm driving a seo, pickup decent, mayb i can hv a friendly race wif u somedayOriginally posted by so_nice:yeah. wat alleggerita said was more correct. anyway kerts, u driving vios? wat i did on a vios auto was to whack the rpm until 5k+, release and do it again. the pick up not bad lah. not rex or evo performance of course.