Hey dude, i totally agree with you. I cant stand road hoggers too. For me, i will give way to a picanto, even if he is faster then me. Some ppl c, small car, they dun give way. Really feel like shooting them.Originally posted by Theatre Of Dreams:I wished there could be a campaign of the above mentioned line. Pardon me, those who are sensitive about the issue of speeding, but the crux here is road hogging, which I think is more hazardous than speeding itself.
After a NS highway driving trip, I come back refreshed by the driving etiquettes shown by most of the locals. Even on the 2-lane road, they'll promptly go left to give way when they sense faster cars approaching them from behind. I was pacing my uncle friend and he's quite experienced and fast so we were mostly on the right to overtake, and I was quite moved by such road courtesy shown.
I'm certainly not here to boast about speeding or what. On the contrary, when the left lane was vacant, my uncle friend would keep left, with me following, even though we were considered 'fast'. This was especially when he noticed that some even faster car was pressurising me behind already.
Let's face it, we do always wish we have the liberty to drive faster than what we're currently doing. I do think this is possible without the compromise of safety, if we increase our distance to keep, proportional with the increment of speed, coupled with everyone possessing the common sense to not road hog. Going back to the basics, this means Keep Left Unless Overtaking. Even if one is already speeding, as long as someone is coming in from behind, he should give way. This is essentially What The Overtaking Lane Is For.
Back in Sg, where there are so many lanes as compared to NS highway, I wonder why some drivers can continue to be so self-centred or ignorant to road hog on the right. Fine, if the 2nd lane (from the right) is still occupied with slower vehicles that he wants to continue overtake. I can understand, if I'm the one behind him.
However in many instances, even when the lanes are clear, many can still arrogantly possess the right lane, as though speeding at 100kmh means he's king. Sighz.
There's always someone faster, So Pls Give Way
buhahaha.. so trueOriginally posted by nightsky87:campaign? yes can campaign
singapore got so many campaigns
how many actually work?![]()
the only vehicles i dont give way to are taxis. menace on the roads they are.Originally posted by Ritz79:Hey dude, i totally agree with you. I cant stand road hoggers too. For me, i will give way to a picanto, even if he is faster then me. Some ppl c, small car, they dun give way. Really feel like shooting them.
wtf? taxis are the ones to give way to man.. they are FAST..Originally posted by SBS9818A:the only vehicles i dont give way to are taxis. menace on the roads they are.
Originally posted by ellisbeck:if u are not zhai, den how to be on the road?
There are all kinds of stupid drivers on the road. But then, when I self-reflect, I wonder whether I am also perceivably another one of those stupid drivers in other people's eyes.
The fact remains that I am a very new driver, and may easily perceived as a road hogger. However, I always make sure I stay on the leftmost lane when I am so "buay zai" - And then what happens? I still will kena horned at. So it would be worst if I am on the rightmost lane and only to realise I should not have, and need to go back left. Would Singaporeans be patient enough to understand? Apparently not, even though I have my P plate, and even have a car sticker that asks for understanding because I am a new driver.
The fact remains that people just don't have the patience and are too quick to make judgments. I agree there are idiots out there who hog the road. And trust me, if I can actually get mad with people who hog the road when I myself am such a slow driver - such people are [b]seriously idiotic road hoggers. However, it would be nice for people to realise at times that there could be a valid reason why the driver in front is so slow (erm... I am talking about 50-60 km/h on the leftmost lane). For instance, do you swear at young toddlers who first learn how to walk and are blocking your way? You simply overtake when you can - that's all, and you do so carefully to avoid accidents. Why can't drivers on the road do the same?
And worse - when I give way to drivers to wish to cut my lane (and I actually had to brake to give way, so it's not that I am leaving a huge gap in front of me for people to cut in), I can even get horned by drivers behind me. What can I say?
Yes, I agree that we need to be courteous and considerate on the road, be it not speeding or not road hogging. But it's really not about the speed. It's about pausing to think and realise that people don't purposely road hog at times.
we are talking about the most right lane, the overtaking lane..Originally posted by boltstorm:road hogging is wrong, but if the person is travelling at 100 on a 90 road, that is fine. anyone who considers this as road hogging must be one of those crazy pple who think they are racing
the speed limit is 90. u are not supposed to go above this speed even if for overtaking purposesOriginally posted by HolySniper:we are talking about the most right lane, the overtaking lane..![]()
try doing 90~100 on that lane and see the reactions for cars behind.
sometimes, its either brake & give way or bang into the back of the other car...Originally posted by HolySniper:if u are not zhai, den how to be on the road?
me myself, i am a p plater too.. but my parents/frenz say i drive like a veteran driver .. people will notice for themselves whether the driver is zhai ornot 1..
brake to gave way is kinda wrong if u are already moving at a speed.. when u brake and give way, did u glance behind to see whether is it save to do that?![]()
you are wrongOriginally posted by kiss29:Please do not always compare NSHW or Autobahn with Singapore CITY CROWDED expressway. I have had enough of people who don't know what they are talking about, and keeps harping on the better driving etiquitte of overseas drivers and road.
The only common thing is the word Expressway between them.
I am 99% sure those Highways you guys drive overseas are less crowded than Singapore's one. This is a very important point to bear in mind!
The overseas Expressway has few lead-in or lead-out ramp, but Singapore's ones have an exit/joining ramp very near to each other.
A crowded Expressway like Singapore's, do not usually gives you the leeway to filter into the 2nd lane to allow faster vehicles to overtake. It might even be dangerous.
Also in MOST cases when you filter into 2nd lane, you speed will drop greatly, and that is not a nice experience.
In overseas expressway, when you filter into a slower lane, 99% of the time you are able to maintain your current speed, because there may not be any cars in the slower lane to immediately block & slow you down.
So after you have given way to a faster vehicle, you can chose to stay in that lane until you catch up with a slow vehicle further up, before you cut back to the overtaking lane to overtake the slow vehicle.
Its not whether Singaporean's driving style is lousy or not. Its just the way the road traffic in Singapore demands one to drive the Singapore way.
I am very sure, 99% of you guys who travels overseas will also be very good drivers, giving ways to faster vehicles and observing the local rules and driving style.
So what really makes a Singaporeans, who suddenly can become a good driver while overseas?
Is it the driver attitude or because the road conditions which allow him to be more courteous and more tolerant?
You tell me, if I am wrong.
He is very right. And most of these cases are women drivers or old people. Or worst still, they engage in stupid conversations while hogging the traffic behind them.Originally posted by Fateemah:you are wrong
i have seen too many cases of drivers hogging the 1st lane when the 2nd and 3rd lanes are empty!