I took a cab yesterday and noticed that the driver was revving the engine excessively loud before changing gear.
Hence i observed. When the light turn green he moved off and revved the engine really loud & upshifted from gear 1 to 3. He repeated the same thing from gear 3 to 5! Did not touch gear 2 or 4 at all.
I tot i was in a racing car or wat.lol.
Just wondering.. wont skipping gears spoil the gearbox? Or maybe his gears 2 and 4 were spoilt?
It will if the gearbox is not designed to cope with much larger load changes.
ask him to upgade to the auto Sonata taxis lah... so lazy to change gears ![]()
Not changing gears in sequence is not good for the gear teeths, especially when shifting down. Some older models of cars, if you shift down from 5th to 3rd gear, your whole gearbox apart will break just like that. ![]()
He lazy la... the car will jerk and jerk, so noisy...
those disel taxi... sucks in performance already... you still got this kind of driver... goodluck and have a nice trip lol.
sonata taxi so smooth and fast.... I peep at the driver's speedmeter, it was going at 140km/h sia.... then later the car seems slow, i peep again, it is at 110... taxi driver are extremly clever sia, i ask why slow? he say speed cammera lah... haha
it depends on individual. sometimes i will also skip the 4th gear and jump to 5th gear. but i dun rev all the way til red line. change at ard 3k rpm. not due to laziness but juz wanna cruise.
downshifting i also skip gear when i need the engine brake to kick in. from 5th to 3rd nd 4th to 2nd. never ever down to gear 1 unless u wan a super jerky ride and ur gearbox to chui.
The Hyundai Sonata (current model) is a very good car. It is actually closely modelled after the Honda Accord (not the new 2008 one but the previous one).
When the current Sonata first came out in the USA (I think it was in 2005), several top US auto website journalists pitted the car against the then Accord and Camry models and most agreed the Sonata was as good if not slightly better.
Pity it is a Hyundai.
Originally posted by BangHong:He lazy la... the car will jerk and jerk, so noisy...
those disel taxi... sucks in performance already... you still got this kind of driver... goodluck and have a nice trip lol.
sonata taxi so smooth and fast.... I peep at the driver's speedmeter, it was going at 140km/h sia.... then later the car seems slow, i peep again, it is at 110... taxi driver are extremly clever sia, i ask why slow? he say speed cammera lah... haha
eh diesel engine for the low end torque lah... sonata of cos smooth cos auto and more sound-proofing and newer technology leh.
Originally posted by onlooker123:The Hyundai Sonata (current model) is a very good car. It is actually closely modelled after the Honda Accord (not the new 2008 one but the previous one).
When the current Sonata first came out in the USA (I think it was in 2005), several top US auto website journalists pitted the car against the then Accord and Camry models and most agreed the Sonata was as good if not slightly better.
Pity it is a Hyundai.
The current Sonata model(used as a taxi) has recieved some criticism on the cost-cutting measure for interior.Plastiky interior and since its used as a taxi i daresay potential buyers rather wait for the newer model.
Gear
1 - 30km/h
2- 50km/h
4- 110km/h
Thats how my taxi driver drove my ride just now.... hahaa... cuz too many people i sat infront...
me like toyota crown suspension leh. haha.. willowy willowy de.. just like sofa lidat.. haha