Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:i mean just becareful when u drive, focus and concentrate ! when unsure slow down and ensure safety, i always do that and cars behind got their asses on fire and just won't stop horning me, but fuk me, i got my P plate high and up, deal with it.
so just becareful next time, if u pass on manual car, and drving auto now it is bettter for you to go to a carpark and get use to auto, it took me a while to get use to it.
P plate they still horn leh. But those who tap their horn for fraction of a second is usually friendly warning. Hey I test drove some auto cars with D-1, D-2 and D-3 selection. What's the difference? 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear?
Also how do I go about using semi-manual function? Start on first gear like a manual car? But there isn't a clutch pedal. How to shift gears? Just by stepping in gas pedal?
Alamak.. who hasn't made a mistake. Chill.
I also langa before. I remember the first time it happened i freaked out.Subsequently i dont care. ![]()
On a serious not, as long as you didn't kill anyone, try again. To be a good driver, you need confidence. To get it you need experience. To get it you need to drive more.
Just don't use you friend's car. Get your own. At least if you wreck you own, there is no1 else to ans to but yourself. Use L-plate. Get a friend to be your "vehicle commander" when you go for your post-TP driving practice. Just not you niece.
Dont be too hard on yourself. You just need to try again.
For your friend, just apologize and sort out the cost of the damages. He/she isnt that unreasonable right?
For your niece.. kids are kids.. can bribe. ![]()
i'm sorry but i just don't understand how is it possible to step on the wrong pedal. the brake pedal on an auto car is significantly larger, to think u actually floored the accelerator.
i know of some people who actually use left foot braking, probably u can try that out so that you won't mistake the pedals again, but of course learn to modulate the strength in ur left foot first.
for me, if i use left foot braking, i end up doing e-brake. ![]()
Originally posted by nyox:i'm sorry but i just don't understand how is it possible to step on the wrong pedal. the brake pedal on an auto car is significantly larger, to think u actually floored the accelerator.
i know of some people who actually use left foot braking, probably u can try that out so that you won't mistake the pedals again, but of course learn to modulate the strength in ur left foot first.
for me, if i use left foot braking, i end up doing e-brake.
imho left foot braking on auto cars is not a good idea. tendency to step on brake pedal unnecessarily is higher. confuses the driver behind you.
Originally posted by soleachip:imho left foot braking on auto cars is not a good idea. tendency to step on brake pedal unnecessarily is higher. confuses the driver behind you.
Actually, it depends on the situation, and also on what car you drive. Using your left foot to brake does reduce the chance of lift-off oversteer, especially for those long sweeping bends. Of course, just with everything else, you'd have to use it properly for it to work, and depends on the car also.
Originally posted by soleachip:P plate they still horn leh. But those who tap their horn for fraction of a second is usually friendly warning. Hey I test drove some auto cars with D-1, D-2 and D-3 selection. What's the difference? 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear?
Also how do I go about using semi-manual function? Start on first gear like a manual car? But there isn't a clutch pedal. How to shift gears? Just by stepping in gas pedal?
talking bout tiptronic cars ? the clutch is at the steering wheel there i think..
Originally posted by soleachip:imho left foot braking on auto cars is not a good idea. tendency to step on brake pedal unnecessarily is higher. confuses the driver behind you.
some cars have a foot brake instead of a hand brake.. useful for emergencies..
Originally posted by soleachip:P plate they still horn leh. But those who tap their horn for fraction of a second is usually friendly warning. Hey I test drove some auto cars with D-1, D-2 and D-3 selection. What's the difference? 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear?
Is just like gear. If I didn't remember wrongly, my dad tried it before on his previous car. To engage such gear, while you're driving, you just need to press the huge button on the knob, and pull it down. But safety first, please let go of the gas pedal instead of stepping the gas pedal. If successful, you will hear engine kinda roar a bit, or you will see the RPM meter go up by a little, depending on what gear you engage.
As for semi-manual function, I suppose you're refering to tiptronic cars such as new Honda Civic or various sports car. I'm not sure of other cars but as for Honda Civic, to start first gear, just tap on the + while driving or vehicle is stationary. To shift gear a gear up, just tap on the +, and to shift a gear down, tap on the -. My dad who tried using his tiptronic on his Civic, with gas pedal down, while chanigng gear, apparently, cause the ride very bumpy, as the car will sudden jerk or something.
Please don't flame me if I got it wrong or something, as all this is just base on my experience and view.
We all make mistakes .
Wats important is we learnt from them
Originally posted by nyox:i'm sorry but i just don't understand how is it possible to step on the wrong pedal. the brake pedal on an auto car is significantly larger, to think u actually floored the accelerator.
for me, if i use left foot braking, i end up doing e-brake.
brake and accelerator same side wat.. it is a distinct possibility.. stepped wrongly once before.. lol.. naughty leg of mine.
ehh i donno those semi auto cars, i don't think i sat in 1 b4 so can't ans u.
the only big difference in manual and auto car is the brake and the left leg, speed.
ehh in auto car don't anyhow let go for your brake cause the car will move forward, unlike manual i can do that and the car don't move.
second is the useless left leg, nth to do .
speed wise since in manual we are taught to use gear 2 when making a turn or u turning
(provided u don't need to stop)
but in auto no gear, so i kina need to get get the feel of the speed. can't rely on the gear :(
once bitten, twice not shy...
Originally posted by HolySniper:hmm.. okay lah.. i dip holder + a bit of streetsmart nia.. i am very poor oso, can only rent car to drive leh..
but i understand this phrase : kiang jiu ho, mai kay kiang.. if even a tiny matter like brake pedal smaller can also make u kanjiong, den i reali -_-|
cornering or straight road ah? i roughly rmb tat 3mths after i got my license, the first time i drove was a rented manual car from bishan to yishun during 5pm+ peakhour ALONE leh.. how ah? den i tink i learnt my wheelspin and launching on that same car during the same night leh.. and went geylang see see rooks rook on tat night too.. wah think back like happening sia!
wah u sounded so pro, wad wheel spin wad funny shyt then wad drive alone then go gelang or sth.
so u got your book out yet ? " how to drive like an idiot or behave like one " ?
pm me when it is out i swear i go buy.
then when u gonna learn how to pilot a rocket ? u can one la, u sounded to "eh sai (capable) ".
Hello guys!
Thanks for all your comments so far. I have a request. Please don't make this turn out to be a sling match. I can accept all the snide remarks, for they mean nothing to me.
I'm just amazed how people can be so judgmental. Come on people, don't act like you've never ever made a mistake before. Let's keep this thread free of the testerone laden macho-ism ok?
Cheers!
Yo yo, relag man dudes. I don't mean that driving fast mean you are damn good or driving slow means you are crap or something. Any human being with a right foot can hit 200kmh if his ride can take it, so really theres no big deal about going fast.
I was just pissed that Sinicker said that people don't deserve to pass after multiple attempts and giving him some sort of personal attack, as I interpreted that he was making a personal attack on people who took more than 1 attempt to pass, me included. My aggressive comments were mainly targeted at him/her.
Driving is all about confidence, not about how many times or how little demerit points one gets during his TP. What I'm just trying to say is that how well one does in his/her TP is not significant to driving in the real world. It's just like learning quadratic equations. You need to know how to solve them in your secondary school maths exams, but who the hell uses them in day to day situations?
Sh!t happens to everyone, even the best drivers are human. Just because it happened to someone like TS who did not pass in her first attempt, doesn't mean it won't happen to folks who passed on the first attempt.
Well.. maybe you're juz new.. after awhile.. you'll get used to the nonsense that has infested in SGF.. nonsensical pple like me lurk here all the time.. juz take it lightly and have some nonsensical fun.. cheers.. ![]()
Yo yo, relag man dudes. I don't mean that driving fast mean you are damn good or driving slow means you are crap or something. Any human being with a right foot can hit 200kmh if his ride can take it, so really theres no big deal about going fast.
I was just pissed that Sinicker said that people don't deserve to pass after multiple attempts and giving him some sort of personal attack, as I interpreted that he was making a personal attack on people who took more than 1 attempt to pass, me included. My aggressive comments were mainly targeted at him/her.
Driving is all about confidence, not about how many times or how little demerit points one gets during his TP. What I'm just trying to say is that how well one does in his/her TP is not significant to driving in the real world. It's just like learning quadratic equations. You need to know how to solve them in your secondary school maths exams, but who the hell uses them in day to day situations?
Sh!t happens to everyone, even the best drivers are human. Just because it happened to someone like TS who did not pass in her first attempt, doesn't mean it won't happen to folks who passed on the first attempt.
learn from this experience and get over it ba...![]()
Indeedo. Lesson learned..but not sure if I will ever get over it. Maybe..but not anytime soon.. ![]()
well... try to keep in the center of the lane next time...
Originally posted by stellazio:talking bout tiptronic cars ? the clutch is at the steering wheel there i think..
yeah tiptronic cars. yes someone mentioned to me before that the clutch is placed somewhere else. i probably need to refer to the handbook. have you driven tiptronic cars before?
Originally posted by toyota-corolla:Is just like gear. If I didn't remember wrongly, my dad tried it before on his previous car. To engage such gear, while you're driving, you just need to press the huge button on the knob, and pull it down. But safety first, please let go of the gas pedal instead of stepping the gas pedal. If successful, you will hear engine kinda roar a bit, or you will see the RPM meter go up by a little, depending on what gear you engage.
As for semi-manual function, I suppose you're refering to tiptronic cars such as new Honda Civic or various sports car. I'm not sure of other cars but as for Honda Civic, to start first gear, just tap on the + while driving or vehicle is stationary. To shift gear a gear up, just tap on the +, and to shift a gear down, tap on the -. My dad who tried using his tiptronic on his Civic, with gas pedal down, while chanigng gear, apparently, cause the ride very bumpy, as the car will sudden jerk or something.
Please don't flame me if I got it wrong or something, as all this is just base on my experience and view.
actually i've been told it's fine to switch to sports mode in the middle of cruising while i'm on Drive mode. But don't want to mess about with it. Prolly a better idea to ask someone who's done it before. Don't want to mess about, scared some weird circuit thing go on or stall in the middle of highway.
Originally posted by soleachip:actually i've been told it's fine to switch to sports mode in the middle of cruising while i'm on Drive mode. But don't want to mess about with it. Prolly a better idea to ask someone who's done it before. Don't want to mess about, scared some weird circuit thing go on or stall in the middle of highway.
My dad tried it before when I was in the car. But he's asleep now, otherwise I could ask him for your behalf. But I doubt auto tranmission car stalled that easliy?
Originally posted by toyota-corolla:My dad tried it before when I was in the car. But he's asleep now, otherwise I could ask him for your behalf. But I doubt auto tranmission car stalled that easliy?
no idea, never stall before on auto car will do it on a weekend in case the whole thing explodes before i set off for work.