hello there I am a guy who is interested to get a 1.6 vehicle for personal uses
I have spotted the hyundai i30 which cost $67k and the suzuki swift which costs abt $60k I would like to ask if there are any recommendations for smaller vehicles
thanks
chevrolet spark
honda jazz / fit
mitsubishi lancer (not EX)
chery QQ?
Originally posted by deathmaster:chery QQ?
China QQ got 1.6 meh?
Originally posted by The Godfather:hello there I am a guy who is interested to get a 1.6 vehicle for personal uses
I have spotted the hyundai i30 which cost $67k and the suzuki swift which costs abt $60k I would like to ask if there are any recommendations for smaller vehicles
thanks
Get the Mazda 2, it may not be a 1.6, (it's a 1.5) but it handles really well and power delivery is not a problem. It will most likely have a cheaper COE since it's Cat A and you definitely save $$ on road tax comapred to a 1.6. Get the Mazda 2, my dad's got 1 and it never missed a beat. The engine is smoother compared to similar cars out there such as Mitsubishi Lancer and Nissan Sunny, blah blah.
The new mazda 2 has very good fuel economy since it's about 100kg lighter than it's predecessor. Space is utilised so well that it won several awards for clever use of space. Don't be surprised if you step into the backseat and find that you still have space to stretch your legs out. This is because of the rear seats being higher than the front ones, thus giving you more leg space. So, I would say, it's a car that best suits your needs.
Originally posted by The Godfather:hello there I am a guy who is interested to get a 1.6 vehicle for personal uses
thanks
erm.. it wld be good if u list out your criterias so that we can get a feel of what u are looking for in a car...
and u saying u interested in looking for a 1.6 car.. but at the same time u looking at smaller cars?? so how small do u want to go??
Originally posted by Ferrari_RoXz:
Get the Mazda 2, it may not be a 1.6, (it's a 1.5) but it handles really well and power delivery is not a problem. It will most likely have a cheaper COE since it's Cat A and you definitely save $$ on road tax comapred to a 1.6. Get the Mazda 2, my dad's got 1 and it never missed a beat. The engine is smoother compared to similar cars out there such as Mitsubishi Lancer and Nissan Sunny, blah blah.
The new mazda 2 has very good fuel economy since it's about 100kg lighter than it's predecessor. Space is utilised so well that it won several awards for clever use of space. Don't be surprised if you step into the backseat and find that you still have space to stretch your legs out. This is because of the rear seats being higher than the front ones, thus giving you more leg space. So, I would say, it's a car that best suits your needs.
you again..
ur comments are always cui-ed i dunno why.. LOL
firstly 1.6 and 1.5 both is in CAT A and its not necessarily tt CAT A is cheaper than open CAT... though is usually the case...
u seriously sounded like a SE in mazdamotors...
win awards so what.. nobody cares...
how u know that this is a car that best suits his needs.. he din even say what he is looking for in his car yet.... LOL u can mind read ah??
and the statement i find most offending is the engine is smoother than lancer sunny blah...
so u implying that the mz2 is the smoothest car in the entire 1.5/1.6 range??? have u driven all of them??? have u even sat in all of them...
with this statement u offended a lot of owners in this forums...
If you're below 30, then the new Suzuki SX4, hatchback has my vote. Test drove the machine before. Spacious interior and smooth handling. Quiet and smooth engine. Not so sure about FC so no comments.
In terms of styling, the Suzuki Swift is very common and imho, more suited for petite ladies and the younger brigade (below 25s). It's like having anyone above 1.6m or above 30 years of age drive a tiny 1.3cc Jimny. It looks quite silly and out of place.
Why nobody saw the Hyundai i30 that TS mentioned? I think for $67k, it is a superb car and it's worthed the money. It's a Hyundai, but it's made in Europe. More specifically in Slovakia.
And to make sure it competes well with other continental rivals like the Ford Focus and VW Golf, a lot of work went into it. It has MacPherson struts front suspension, but most importantly it has a multi-link rear suspension so that it's on par with other class leaders.
So handling is not amazing, but good enough. And the interior quality is said to be superb, also on par with class leaders like the Golf and Focus. There's a lot of good reviews about it. Only problem is brand image. I'm simply repeating what I've read in car magazines like Autocar.
Only problem is, Asian markets usually prefer saloons and not hatchbacks. So the i30 will have a problem selling well here.
Anyways, here's the article about the i30 on Autocar's website.
http://www.autocar.co.uk/CarReviews/RoadTestsHistory/Hyundai-i30-1.6-Style/226811/
bro, it would be good if u could tell us what u look for in the car, what kinda budget, like hatchbacks or sedans better, manual/auto, any preference?
lotsa choices in the market for 1.6l cars. would need ur help for us to help u with some suggestions.
i wont blindly suggest cars.. bo wait kenna resident critic scold..
haha thanks guys for all the comments
okay bascially I am looking for a 1.6 vehicle or a 1.8 vehicle would prefer it to be a small one but also wants the interior to be spacious. This vehicle would have to be auto and have to have a big booth space to enable me installing a CNG tank
Thanks
Originally posted by The Godfather:haha thanks guys for all the comments
okay bascially I am looking for a 1.6 vehicle or a 1.8 vehicle would prefer it to be a small one but also wants the interior to be spacious. This vehicle would have to be auto and have to have a big booth space to enable me installing a CNG tank
Thanks
small cars and big boot space, as far as i noe, is mutually exclusive leh.. to me lah.. if u wan put CNG tank, becoz they have different sizes for tanks, would fit most boots. Honda Jazz 09, Stream (can perm put down last row of seats for mega boot space for CNG tank, car not small tho) Toyota Vios? Higher budget a bit can get VW Golf, Pug 207/307, Renault Clio (just launched).
Go test drive and talk to the SEs a bit. Careful tho, some of them oni noe sales, dunno indepth about their cars de. Test liao then maybe u go talk to the CNG guys see what they say oso?
Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:small cars and big boot space, as far as i noe, is mutually exclusive leh.. to me lah.. if u wan put CNG tank, becoz they have different sizes for tanks, would fit most boots. Honda Jazz 09, Stream (can perm put down last row of seats for mega boot space for CNG tank, car not small tho) Toyota Vios? Higher budget a bit can get VW Golf, Pug 207/307, Renault Clio (just launched).
Go test drive and talk to the SEs a bit. Careful tho, some of them oni noe sales, dunno indepth about their cars de. Test liao then maybe u go talk to the CNG guys see what they say oso?
I think chevrolet having this promo with CNG? from what I know, most ADs, if you buy their car liao then install CNG tank, will void the warranty. Of course that won't apply if the CNG installation is done by the AD..
I would still highly recommend godfather to at least give the Hyundai i30 a chance and test drive it. Test drivers all commented that it has amazing ride quality. A very fine compromise between handling and comfort. I haven't sat in one, so I don't know. But I have yet to see a bad review about it.
And the i30 is the worse wake up call the continental brands can get. The i30 is the prequel of what's about to come from Hyundai in the future.
Originally posted by n0x:
you again..ur comments are always cui-ed i dunno why.. LOL
firstly 1.6 and 1.5 both is in CAT A and its not necessarily tt CAT A is cheaper than open CAT... though is usually the case...
u seriously sounded like a SE in mazdamotors...
win awards so what.. nobody cares...
how u know that this is a car that best suits his needs.. he din even say what he is looking for in his car yet.... LOL u can mind read ah??
and the statement i find most offending is the engine is smoother than lancer sunny blah...
so u implying that the mz2 is the smoothest car in the entire 1.5/1.6 range??? have u driven all of them??? have u even sat in all of them...
with this statement u offended a lot of owners in this forums...
You again =.=. I don't know what you have against me, I don't give a damn and I don't want any trouble from you. I have a Mazda 2 and you can't change that fact. And what's your problem with smooth engines? Are you jealous that your car(if you even have 1) does not have a smooth engine? It's my opinion and you have no right in telling me off because I am stating my own opinions.
This is a forum and any relevant things can be posted. I expected crap replies by you before I posted by previous post because of your high tempered nature. I have seen you flaming other people because of the "oh so irrelevant and unconstructive" replies. And, is there any evidence that people are angry with my not so smooth engine comments? Don't spout nonsese just because you are the only one that find my comments offending. And don't come out with evidence saying that my brother say it's offending just because he owns a what ever nissan that I claimed it is not very smooth.
And have I said that the Mazda has the smoothest engine around? I just said it's smoother. Open your teary eyes please. I think you have been blinded by anger which shouldn't exist in the first place.
I am just suggesting cars and I have no plans to read the TS mind. Besides, his i30 is more expensive than the M2 which I think its a better car. I am giving my advice, and you can give yours. I won't give a damn on what you say because I am a normal person who minds my own business, unlike someone here.
As mentioned by somebody previously, you are the resident critic and I know that. On the same basis that you presume that I am a Mazda SE, I will also presume that you work in a newspaper company and is in charge of the "critics" section. Really, you should just shut up because you are creating disharmony in this forum. I know you don't care about what harmony shit but people in this forum hate to see flamings going on.
I hate flame messages too, thus this is my decision ---> .This is the last reply from me to you because I find that talking to you is seriously degrading my moral values.
On this note, I would like to inform you that there's no need to reply me, neither do I want another crap reply from you. Well, if you choose to reply then I can't stop you can I? I won't flame you back because I am a person who wants peace and harmony and I will mind my own business, unless somebody needs help, like the TS here.
Shut up and kill yourself.
Now now now, since n0x is not here I shall be the one to point out some points in your uber-long reply. You said you'd rather mind your own business and you like peace and harmony, then why this stupid reply in the first place? Is "shut up and kill yourself" considered peace and harmony? ![]()
And, you can call me slow in reading posts, but in your first post you said the Mazda 2 are better than "SIMILAR" cars like the Nissan Sunny and Mitsubishi Lancer. For god sake, they are NOT similar cars. The Mazda 2 is a small hatchback and the Sunny and Lancer are family SALOON cars.
And once again, do not compare the Mazda 2 and Hyundai i30. They are hatchbacks I grant you, but the i30 is definitely quite a lot larger than the Mazda 2. And, IMHO, I seriously do not think the Mazda 2 is the better car than the i30.
thanks
Wa.. ur question too general la. Just asking for a 1.6L car. No budget?
No model to compare?
i30? ok lor.. lol. So many other makes ard. Sedan? Hatchback?
haha some fights over here I suppose
ya okay I am finding for something that is affordable and has interiors like the hyundai i30 or perhaps the volkswagen GTI a hatchback is prefered than a sedan and my budget would range from 30k to 70k. The vehicle must be a manual and hope to have a big booth
alright thanks everyone for the replys
to TS.
you need to state clearly your various desires in your dream car.
otherwise l8r people give suggestions.. then others dont agree.. then they fight. like what we can see above.
Originally posted by The Godfather:haha some fights over here I suppose
ya okay I am finding for something that is affordable and has interiors like the hyundai i30 or perhaps the volkswagen GTI a hatchback is prefered than a sedan and my budget would range from 30k to 70k. The vehicle must be a manual and hope to have a big booth
alright thanks everyone for the replys
30k? No need buy any car unless OPC.
70k cannot get Volkswagen GTI, caused it's priced from 110k up... But i would love to have it as well.
Afew hatchbacks other than i30 for u to consider may be:
Honda 2009 Jazz/08Fit
Suzuki swift/sports
Mazda2
Mercedes Aclass
Nissan Latio sports
Mitsibushi Colt/plus/ver R
buy nissan sunny. Its only about 30k ish for a 2 year old car (still can use for 8 years). The fuel consumption is not as bad as what many pple have exaggerated to be.
And its not OPC. Monthly instalment only $280 per month!
Originally posted by EkBoy:30k? No need buy any car unless OPC.
70k cannot get Volkswagen GTI, caused it's priced from 110k up... But i would love to have it as well.
Afew hatchbacks other than i30 for u to consider may be:
Honda 2009 Jazz/08Fit
Suzuki swift/sports
Mazda2
Mercedes Aclass
Nissan Latio sports
Mitsibushi Colt/plus/ver R
double post
Originally posted by EkBoy:double post
wa seh...more like triple post.
toyota vios not good mah??