Can you folks advise what are the poosible brand and make of cars that can be used in drifting events?
I think generally FR cars are good for drifting..
Whats FR?
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Can you folks advise what are the poosible brand and make of cars that can be used in drifting events?
I'll only list out some of the FR/MR cars after the 90s, because if you want to list out all the FR/MR since the dawn of automobiles, think will be very long
Mazda
RX-7
MX-5
RX-8
Honda
S2000
Toyota
MR-S
Nissan
Silvia
Skyline non GT-R
350Z
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Whats FR?
Generally FR cars are Front mounted engine, Rear wheels driven cars..
Thank you nightsky.
This info is very useful.
Do bear in mind that drifting is a very expensive sports.
(Constant wear and tear of the tires, LSD etc)
wah nightsky ur list all quite high end leh.
actually ff cars oso can wat...
^ If you got the skills that is..
ae86 cfm can
not very knowledgeable, but if you are looking for cars in SG's 2nd hand market, here are an additional few:
Nissan 180/200SX, even though slightly related to the Silvias
Toyota Altezza, dunno SG have or not?
AE86s are quite hard to find.
above are a few i've seen in D1. There are many more not in production/not found in SG, so like nightsky87 said, not worth mentioning.
hope this helps....
The are all too expensive cars to buy, much less burn rubber.
Actually you need to do some Modifications to the gear diff, and mount lsd,
Also stiffen chassis and adjust the rear stiffness (anti-roll) , Coil-over Suspension.
Lots of tires to change, and a fat wallet to buffer.
Otherwise, it is cheaper to buy a (Go-Kart) or pay to drift the Go-kart at the circuit.
Originally posted by OH-FF:
Otherwise, it is cheaper to buy a (Go-Kart) or pay to drift the Go-kart at the circuit.
Singapore has go cart track?
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:The are all too expensive cars to buy, much less burn rubber.
yes you are right, and i dunno how much the sport will cost, haha.
Imo, i would rather buy a car that is track-proven, so that advice/set-ups can be easily found and done. Plus, it's hard to find FR cars nowadays, cos it's not mechanically-friendly and hence not economical to produce.
if you are concerned about the cost, can try going for the MR-S or Silvias (2nd hand) or 180SX (2nd hand). MR-S stopped production liao, according to wikipedia, dunno about its availability. these 3 should be cheaper than new RX-8s and S2000s.
all the best, you going competitive? SG got drifting circuits?
Originally posted by kajagugu:not very knowledgeable, but if you are looking for cars in SG's 2nd hand market, here are an additional few:
Nissan 180/200SX, even though slightly related to the Silvias
Toyota Altezza, dunno SG have or not?
AE86s are quite hard to find.
above are a few i've seen in D1. There are many more not in production/not found in SG, so like nightsky87 said, not worth mentioning.
hope this helps....
SG got some altezza. ive seen quite substantial amount of silvias too
Originally posted by kajagugu:
all the best, you going competitive? SG got drifting circuits?
I remember seeing drifting events at kallang stadium.
And I've been to Seattle USA for a really small drifting event on the tracks. It was interesting to watch and the boys are really nice chaps.
I was nostalgic about the Drifting and its unlikely I can manage a steering wheel again. I drifted my little kup kia and broke my wrist.
sorry, what is kup kia? u mean the KIA car or what?
Originally posted by SBS7484P:sorry, what is kup kia? u mean the KIA car or what?
Kup kia is a small motorcycle usually ridden by Malaysians. They can be Honda Wave 125, Yamaha Sparks or LC kia?
You got some real balls to drift a motorcycle..
Btw, if you want to browse through cars in SgCarmart, there are a few S15s, 180/200SXs and one AE86.
Go into drifting if you got the cash, and lastly, safety comes first!
as long as its FR car, u can try to drift with it already.
techinically, I've drifted with fron wheel drive cars in sg.
Using handbrake.
I know I know....thats a lousy drifting.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:techinically, I've drifted with fron wheel drive cars in sg.
Using handbrake.
I know I know....thats a lousy drifting.
risky! i rather stick to fr cars.
silvia is a fav among drifters.
Silvias.
http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/listing.php?MOD=silvia&GR=Any&PR1=0&PR2=&CAT=0&TYPE=0&LOC=&FR=Any&sb.x=0&sb.y=0&EXM=
S13s.
http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/listing.php?MOD=s13&GR=Any&PR1=0&PR2=&CAT=0&TYPE=0&LOC=&FR=Any&sb.x=0&sb.y=0&EXM=