COE only $2 right? Is it the right time to buy?
Is this the right place to ask??
$2 bid over, you have to wait for the next bid. if many people rush to get car, than the bidding will be higher. it's all about luck
if you can afford and need one, sure..
if you can't and don't, no..
simple enough? ![]()
if you can spare about average $1500 a month
Well... it is a trick to get you guys buy cars...
what about low paper value?
Originally posted by soleachip:what about low paper value?
You buy low, you sell low.. seriously there's no loss.
There's never really a 'best' time to buy a car. Buy what you need, when you need. And the bear has effectively summed up the perfect answer to this question as well. Can afford + need/want? Go for it. We live but once. Cannot afford but want? Better to save up more first, then get into unneccesary debt.
Originally posted by nightsky87:You buy low, you sell low.. seriously there's no loss.
There's never really a 'best' time to buy a car. Buy what you need, when you need. And the bear has effectively summed up the perfect answer to this question as well. Can afford + need/want? Go for it. We live but once. Cannot afford but want? Better to save up more first, then get into unneccesary debt.
I agree with that man...![]()
But reading the advertisements on Classified are certainly very tempting...although car loans seem pretty hard to secure.
buy car if where you stay has no public transport links to anywhere.
let's say you stay at jalan telawi or punggol 24th avenue or andrews terrace, then you would need a car.
What do you guys think is the appropriate age to own a car?
Originally posted by nightsky87:You buy low, you sell low.. seriously there's no loss.
true. but most of the time people buy high and forced to sell low, no?
especially when times are bad.
Originally posted by lianamaster:What do you guys think is the appropriate age to own a car?
29!
actually depends, if i'm getting a flat near a supermarket + MRT stn. then no need car lah right.
but if my future wife pregnant i'll definitely get a car. it is inhumane for a pregnant woman to board our trains. ![]()
without bank loan can buy
if require bank loan better not buy
1840 plus coe if next round all or mostly submit S$2 again
chance will be S$2 as successful bid
i am in a dilemma. i think i can afford a car (through a bank loan), but i have no actual need for it... i take public transport to work. on weekends, i go out ocassionally. i have no wife, no kids. there are times of course that i hope i have a car... should i get a car (normal or OPC) now to feel like "wow, i own a car liao"?
Originally posted by starlancer:i am in a dilemma. i think i can afford a car (through a bank loan), but i have no actual need for it... i take public transport to work. on weekends, i go out ocassionally. i have no wife, no kids. there are times of course that i hope i have a car... should i get a car (normal or OPC) now to feel like "wow, i own a car liao"?
I also have this feeling too. But to own a car.. u need to set aside at least $1000 depending on what car you want irregardless of OPC or not.
depends lah.. if you're always alone and think u can go public, why not. you wouldnt even spend more than $5 a day travelling lah right...
car str8away u need to put aside at least $1k. servicing also quite cut-throat one.
if you're compelled to own a car just so that your gf stays with you, then dump your gf. ![]()
pubing cannot drink
parking need to walk back, to collect car
passenger alight you need to park your car,
valet parking if you can affort
Originally posted by zaxis:pubing cannot drink
valet parking scratch car, they deny responsibility.
Originally posted by sinicker:valet parking scratch car, they deny responsibility.
so, having a car is so much more than just feeling good or having a status symbol...
Originally posted by starlancer:so, having a car is so much more than just feeling good or having a status symbol...
by any chance u are xxsp1r1txx
Originally posted by starlancer:so, having a car is so much more than just feeling good or having a status symbol...
yup.. must think of all the possibities that may take place...
does it make you feel good to be stuck in a traffic jam? trains have dedicated tracks.
is the train always most efficient? dedicated tracks also mean only one track for people to jump onto. (my journey home took 1hour longer thanks to suicide at tampines mrt)
and the cost difference is very large too.
Originally posted by lianamaster:What do you guys think is the appropriate age to own a car?
it's not the age...but how much spare cash you have every month
how does the COE works ?
( Even though I have a car .... ha ) .
NOt sure if I am right . My idea of COE is that it allows people to drive for 10 years. If you sell before end of 10 years , you get part of the COE money back . ( Right ? ) .
If its 2 dollar only , the depreciation per year is neligible . Its damn worth it .
Originally posted by zaxis:pubing cannot drink
says who pubbing cannot drink?
you just need to know how. if you pub and consume alcohol in large quantities, just chill, sober up with hot tea, wait 2 hours and then head home. alternatively, chiong until 7am, where got road block at 7am? alternatively, get a friend to drive you home or send you home. better still go home in a cab, collect your car the next day lor. very ma fan meh?
no need to walk to bus stop and wait for bus?
no passengers means no need to park your car lah?
you've got some ridiculous ideas there my friend.
Originally posted by youyayu:by any chance u are xxsp1r1txx
no, i am not.