What's the point of cars being more expensive when all the specs are the same.
For Example:
A Honda Jazz would cost from £8,302($18,618) to £12,602($28,261) in England.
However, It'll cost between $53,800 to $65,300 at list price.
Where did the extra $35,000 go?
An Audi A3 1.8T FSI S tronic would cost £19,445($43,607) in England but would cost $116,200 here.
Again, where did the $50,000 go?
Even Proton, people would think due to the reduced shipping cost would be cheaper right? WRONG.
The Proton Gen-2 1.3(M) would cost £7,805($17,503) in England but would cost $37,000 in Singapore.
Hence, do you think cars are overpriced here?
have u considered how big our land?
our population density, our roads?
buy MIC cars la...
Originally posted by NerdzRulz:What's the point of cars being more expensive when all the specs are the same.
For Example:
An Audi A3 1.8T FSI S tronic would cost £19,445($43,607) in England but would cost $116,200 here.
Even Proton, people would think due to the reduced shipping cost would be cheaper right? WRONG.
The Proton Gen-2 1.3(M) would cost £7,805($17,503) in England but would cost $37,000 in Singapore.
Erm...now then you know ah?
Originally posted by FireIce:have u considered how big our land?
But does that allow the dealers to charge up to twice the cost?
Do you think that's right?
But think about it... Singaporeans may or may not know that our island sells one of the world's most expensive cars around, be it a Proton or a Lambo,..... and that doesn't put off many locals from getting their hands on one.
Our roads are still congested on some parts during peak hours, ERP has been set up ironically although the COE is supposed to take care of the overcrowding issue....
So.... your view isn't going to deter anyone from purchasing their first set of wheels...
At least for me... haha....
Originally posted by lianamaster:But think about it... Singaporeans may or may not know that our island sells one of the world's most expensive cars around, be it a Proton or a Lambo,..... and that doesn't put off many locals from getting their hands on one.
Our roads are still congested on some parts during peak hours, ERP has been set up ironically although the COE is supposed to take care of the overcrowding issue....
So.... your view isn't going to deter anyone from purchasing their first set of wheels...
At least for me... haha....
So who benefits? The government or the dealers?
Because the only cars affordable to the general public and i mean blue collar workers are Geely or Chery and those cars are rubbish and were built by idiots who made Chinese inventions of the 21th century (CHEAP IMITATIONS)
Originally posted by NerdzRulz:So who benefits? The government or the dealers?
Because the only cars affordable to the general public and i mean blue collar workers are Geely or Chery and those cars are rubbish and were built by idiots who made Chinese inventions of the 21th century (CHEAP IMITATIONS)
Well... I dun wish to spell out word for word who benefits the most.. but we definitely stand to lose.
Cars, in our local context, are depreciative asset remember?
Even Geely and Chery sold in Singapore are already more expensive than their mainland counterparts.
Originally posted by NerdzRulz:So who benefits? The government or the dealers?
http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/motoring_vo_tax_pte.htm
refer to above link for ur explanation and plus the car dealers need to earn $$$ also.. so u get exorbant pricing of the cars...
Who benefits?? of cos the dealers will earn money right?? if not open shops for what??
govt benefits?? its the same case as cigraettes being taxed very high then u asked why government tax so high.. and are they benefitting....
why so much tax?? cos land area small... u want sg to transform into another bangkok?? whereby cycling is much faster than driving???
which brings me to your next question
a car is a luxury item.. no offence but it is SUPPOSED to be priced out of reach of blue collars or as a matter of fact.. anyone who cannot afford it... but of cos there are some blue collars that are rich enough to afford cars...
and if you are poor... but still can make do with china made low end cars.. u dun hiam here and hiam there... you make do... cos u have no money in the first place....
Originally posted by n0x:http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/motoring_vo_tax_pte.htm
refer to above link for ur explanation and plus the car dealers need to earn $$$ also.. so u get exorbant pricing of the cars...
Who benefits?? of cos the dealers will earn money right?? if not open shops for what??
govt benefits?? its the same case as cigraettes being taxed very high then u asked why government tax so high.. and are they benefitting....
why so much tax?? cos land area small... u want sg to transform into another bangkok?? whereby cycling is much faster than driving???
which brings me to your next question
a car is a luxury item.. no offence but it is SUPPOSED to be priced out of reach of blue collars or as a matter of fact.. anyone who cannot afford it... but of cos there are some blue collars that are rich enough to afford cars...
and if you are poor... but still can make do with china made low end cars.. u dun hiam here and hiam there... you make do... cos u have no money in the first place....
You make a good argument. But are you satisfied with your current car if you own one, knowing you could purchase a much better car in the UK with the same amount of money?
Originally posted by NerdzRulz:What's the point of cars being more expensive when all the specs are the same.
For Example:
buy 2nd hand or cars from those bankrupts kena seized by banks auctions...
Originally posted by NerdzRulz:You make a good argument. But are you satisfied with your current car if you own one, knowing you could purchase a much better car in the UK with the same amount of money?
Who will be satified ? Don't have to look far, just go accross the crossway and you will see the different..
Cars prices are different depending on where you are in the world. Some countries bump up the car prices, in hopes that it will encourage people to take public transport, hence, contributing less to "global warming" or negative environmental impacts. In saying that, I love my cars, and i previously came across this site which shows some pretty cool, new exotic models! http://www.luxury-insider.com/Insiders-Circle/ - Luxury Insider's Insider Circle - The Insider Circle brings you inside information, exclusive invitations and special promotions in Singapore's lifestyle scene.
it should cost quite a lot to transport that one whole mass of metal from Honda to Singapore
Originally posted by soutv:Cars prices are different depending on where you are in the world. Some countries bump up the car prices, in hopes that it will encourage people to take public transport, hence, contributing less to "global warming" or negative environmental impacts. In saying that, I love my cars, and i previously came across this site which shows some pretty cool, new exotic models! http://www.luxury-insider.com/Insiders-Circle/ - Luxury Insider's Insider Circle - The Insider Circle brings you inside information, exclusive invitations and special promotions in Singapore's lifestyle scene.
Perhaps people would take public transport more if it is cheaper or more reliable? Do you think Singapore's public transport is reliable?
By the way, what's the cheapest car you can buy in Singapore? I mean a car could be bought in England for £1($2.60).
Originally posted by eagle:it should cost quite a lot to transport that one whole mass of metal from Honda to Singapore
how abt... buy parallel imports cars ?
Originally posted by NerdzRulz:Perhaps people would take public transport more if it is cheaper or more reliable? Do you think Singapore's public transport is reliable?
By the way, what's the cheapest car you can buy in Singapore? I mean a car could be bought in England for £1($2.60).
even those paper car for the dead cost more than that !!
Originally posted by Rednano:
how abt... buy parallel imports cars ?
think just use bus 11
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:
even those paper car for the dead cost more than that !!
cheapest in Singapore is free
the one where pple put one hand on the car till everyone else fell out... then u get the car for free
For Example:
yes, cars are overpriced here. don't buy.
Originally posted by eagle:cheapest in Singapore is free
the one where pple put one hand on the car till everyone else fell out... then u get the car for free
if you are working and have to take leave to participate, still there is cost .. not free hor ... opportunity cost can be quite expensive ha ....
Originally posted by NerdzRulz:You make a good argument. But are you satisfied with your current car if you own one, knowing you could purchase a much better car in the UK with the same amount of money?
u can put this question to the hong kongers... but with regards to their housing... they pay much much more for their houses than we do....
and then it will nv end..
each country has their own limitations
but at least when u pay tt much for a car here u know u are paying for exclusitivity... and u know tt not any tom dick and harry can own a car here...
Originally posted by FireIce:have u considered how big our land?
Have you considered how big is Hong Kong?
Their population density, their roads?
How come Hong Kong Honda Jazz only HK$ 139,880 (SG$ 27,556), whereas Singapore Honda Jazz is SG$ 57,000???
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Have you considered how big is Hong Kong?
Their population density, their roads?
How come Hong Kong Honda Jazz only HK$ 139,880 (SG$ 27,556), whereas Singapore Honda Jazz is SG$ 57,000???
Hong Kong don't have COE ... so car cheaper ... If the government is also MIW, you bet they gonna cost same or more than Singapore . .
Why drive when you can fly?