my tp also coming le tml circuit again![]()
Originally posted by martin_lim85:my tp also coming le tml circuit again
Panic and nervousness are some capital mistakes in a test.
Just be yourself....pretend tester is your loved ones.....and stay focused...
Good Luck!!!
Originally posted by Agenda:ya, i hope i pass. my friends all pass liao then waiting for me pass then xmas can drive out together
passing and really seasoned driver on e roads still need time to practise one..
and u guys wanna drive on xmas...so crowded..u confident enough?
Originally posted by lianamaster:No need ba...I always stop at 3rd gear when stopping on main roads....I dun shift down further anymore... so long u put it to 1st gear once you stop and get the half-clutch ready before you start moving...
yeah..can use 3rd gear to stop at red light...
unless turning at junction then must use gear 2..or shift to gear 2 while turning..if u are zhai enough..
Originally posted by alfagal:
unless turning at junction then must use gear 2..or shift to gear 2 while turning..if u are zhai enough..
Yea..for junction have to shift to Gear 2 to get the desired speed....
I'm not zai enough so I have to down gear before I turn... Very busy one leh.... Imagine you hands are moving the steering wheel and switching the gears and your legs are controlling the pedals...by then your car have drifted away....causing a wide turn in the end....haha
Originally posted by lianamaster:
Yea..for junction have to shift to Gear 2 to get the desired speed....I'm not zai enough so I have to down gear before I turn... Very busy one leh.... Imagine you hands are moving the steering wheel and switching the gears and your legs are controlling the pedals...by then your car have drifted away....causing a wide turn in the end....haha
hee hee i knoe wat u mean..
Originally posted by lianamaster:
Yea..for junction have to shift to Gear 2 to get the desired speed....I'm not zai enough so I have to down gear before I turn... Very busy one leh.... Imagine you hands are moving the steering wheel and switching the gears and your legs are controlling the pedals...by then your car have drifted away....causing a wide turn in the end....haha
hahaha, i told my instructor that to turn right and at the same time change gear is impossible. that was the first few lesson.
the above wasn't hard until i learn how to move off the fuking ram in the circuit. because in that short steep ram, u need to move off smoothly, + overtaking and breaking. wah that one lagi worse.
Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:
hahaha, i told my instructor that to turn right and at the same time change gear is impossible. that was the first few lesson.the above wasn't hard until i learn how to move off the fuking ram in the circuit. because in that short steep ram, u need to move off smoothly, + overtaking and breaking. wah that one lagi worse.
Yea.... That needs some constant practice too... Thank god those days of terror are over for me....![]()
Since everyone is asking, I shall ask as well since my test is round the corner as well.
Whats the proper step for braking when you're approaching a traffic light?
1) Use engine brake. (eg. gear 3 to gear 2 etc.)
2) Neutral and brake
My instructor taught me to use engine brake, but I find it very weird because the engine braking is so intense, I'll usually stop before my intended stoppage place. So I asked my friend that recently passed his test, and he told me that he used neutral and brake. I prefer using neutral gear and brake because it feels natural, but I don't wanna risk my test.
So which is the correct step?
I just clutch in and brake then gek siao shift gear from 4 to 3 to 2
Hmm according to my instructor and the theory?...
You should use engine brake at all possible time to prevent brake fade or something...
For me, when I see then traffic light at junction is red and I'm at 4th gear, after I gauge the distance required and reached it, I will immediately engage 3rd gear without stepping on brake.The car will start to slow itself down.
Then when I going to reach the third arrow (approximate will do, no need to stare at the road for arrow lol) before the stopping line, I will engage 2nd gear then at the same time step brake, if required, until the car reach the stopping line.
After that, I will engage first gear and step at the brake to prevent any sudden moving.
That's what my instructor told me to do.
Well, if I have no time to shift gear to use engine break due to traffic light suddenly change, then I just step on the brake till it stop at the stopping line.
Originally posted by Agenda:I just clutch in and brake then gek siao shift gear from 4 to 3 to 2
e testers can see this...and penalize u for this..there is no way to geh siao one..its so obvious if u lifted ur feet or not..
and its very dangerous to clutch in..cos its considered free gear...
u are still learner, so better stick to e books..or else..if retest, its only ur lost...not only money, but time bro...
Originally posted by tranicide:Since everyone is asking, I shall ask as well since my test is round the corner as well.
2) Neutral and brakeMy instructor taught me to use engine brake, but I find it very weird because the engine braking is so intense, I'll usually stop before my intended stoppage place. So I asked my friend that recently passed his test, and he told me that he used neutral and brake. I prefer using neutral gear and brake because it feels natural, but I don't wanna risk my test.
1. is correct..
u can use ur neutral gear after u pass, also no one will care man..
Originally posted by tranicide:\Since everyone is asking, I shall ask as well since my test is round the corner as well.
2) Neutral and brakeMy instructor taught me to use engine brake, but I find it very weird because the engine braking is so intense, I'll usually stop before my intended stoppage place. So I asked my friend that recently passed his test, and he told me that he used neutral and brake. I prefer using neutral gear and brake because it feels natural, but I don't wanna risk my test.
confirm use engine brake and stop is the correct way.
of course U have to see how U use ur engine brake and how much distance U have...example if U are at 4th gear...traffic lights turn red...U change down to 1st year and use engine brake...confirm the braking effect will be strong mah...so U either change down to 3rd gear and stop or U brake a bit to slow down the speed a little before changing down to 3rd gear or U can clutch in...change to 3rd gear...get bitting point...get a little braking effect and then clutch in again...change to 2nd gear and repeat the proces....its all how much distance U have and how well U know ur gears...U need to develop feelings for it.![]()
Originally posted by alfagal:
1. is correct..u can use ur neutral gear after u pass, also no one will care man..
Neutral gear not free wheeling?
Originally posted by Agenda:Waa very scared sia.. although still got a week but I very scared fail and waste money.
My parking not very good, for parallel is okay but always not straight
crank course is okay but not so okay for s course.
anyone can give me some tip anot?
on the road I am above average except I tend to lag behind the car in front of me and my car usually is closer to the centre line, because i cannot see my left so i scared strike kerb.
parallel parking - There is always the "formula" method that the instructors will teach...just follow that...maybe what I want to add is that ur low speed control is also important for the "formula" to work...have to practise and make sure U can repeat the "formula" to a T.
what's ur problem with S-course?
lagging behind neber mind since U are learner driver and U need to be within the speed limit.if the road in front is clear..U can go up to the speed limit(obviously not over lar)...if there is a car in front...just make sure U leave a safe distance between.U can use the 2-second rule to help if it works for U.
personally I hate drivers who dont keep to the centre of the lane so pls go and ask ur instructor on how to make sure ur car is in the centre...usually they have a point that U can refer to when driving(eg the wiper nozzle in the centre of the lane when U look at it from ur driver seat)...go ask ur instructor about it...ur height/car models/instructor styles will vary...if not U can just use the side mirrors and see that the spacing at both sides(dotted line/kerb) are about the same.
Originally posted by furb:lol... I learned a total of 31 practical lessons, spending 2K+.
The TP test will be upcoming tuesday morning. Not much confidence to tell you the truth, since my driving skill like cannot make it.
But I hope I can pass.
P.S - First timer.
Some Problems:
1) Driving sometime too near to road side.
2) Turning too late, thus become too sharp (90 degrees) My instructor will say "you think you are doing crank course ar?"
3) Sometime never check blind spot or rear view mirror
Justing seeing the above problem, I think cannot make it liao.
But parking and stuffs mostly likely no problem. Hmm, I cap myself at 50km/h for main road and about 40km/h for those small road.
1. refer to my previous post on how to centre the car.
2.usually for right turn...U start turning when ur shoulder is in line with the dotted line on ur right hand side....not sure if U know what I am saying...mmm...
3.this one cannot help U one.tester confirm will see and deduct points if U neber do them...so U have to do it if U want to pass and its not for the sake of just passing...blind spots are very impt..it can mean the difference between a smooth drive and a collision.
sometimes is not the slower the better...tester also want to see testees being able to adjust their speed to the traffic and react accordingly....so try not to roadhog.
Originally posted by Xcert:1. refer to my previous post on how to centre the car.
2.usually for right turn...U start turning when ur shoulder is in line with the dotted line on ur right hand side....not sure if U know what I am saying...mmm...
3.this one cannot help U one.tester confirm will see and deduct points if U neber do them...so U have to do it if U want to pass and its not for the sake of just passing...blind spots are very impt..it can mean the difference between a smooth drive and a collision.
sometimes is not the slower the better...tester also want to see testees being able to adjust their speed to the traffic and react accordingly....so try not to roadhog.
Ya... Been trying to correct it, though sometime habits still pop out. No time to worry liao since tomorrow is my TP test, just hope I can concentrate 100% on the road since sometime I have a habit of dazing off (mind drifting away after driving for too long) because too tired or something. <-- Someone gonna flame me for this and I admit its quite abit of problem.
eh agenda
for the timing, take either morning 10-11am, or afternoon 2-3
the least traffic 1
correct method of breaking ----> Assuming u are at 4th gear, u see a red light... here is the procedure...
1) clutch in,
2)brake,
3)wait for speed to become 30kmh,
4)change to gear 3, slowly release clutch and brake at the same time
5)wait for speed to become 20kmh,
6)change to gear 2, slowly release clutch and brake at the same time
7)clutch down fully, and brake until u come to a complete stop.
8)change to gear 1 (at this point, no need half clutch, just watch out for traffic lights whether its turning green soon) (also, if u know u need to stop quite long, engage hand brake, otherwise, stopping for zebra crossing no need to use hand brake)
9)once u know the green light is coming soon, go into half clutch.
10)Do not start to half clutch immediatdly once u stop, this is totally wrong. Can cause damage.
Originally posted by jgho83:correct method of breaking ----> Assuming u are at 4th gear, u see a red light... here is the procedure...
1) clutch in,
2)brake,
3)wait for speed to become 30kmh,
4)change to gear 3, slowly release clutch and brake at the same time
5)wait for speed to become 20kmh,
6)change to gear 2, slowly release clutch and brake at the same time
7)clutch down fully, and brake until u come to a complete stop.
8)change to gear 1 (at this point, no need half clutch, just watch out for traffic lights whether its turning green soon) (also, if u know u need to stop quite long, engage hand brake, otherwise, stopping for zebra crossing no need to use hand brake)
9)once u know the green light is coming soon, go into half clutch.
10)Do not start to half clutch immediatdly once u stop, this is totally wrong. Can cause damage.
I stop at junction all those i neutral and step foot brake only, never use handbrake o_o
can anot?
@giga - my timing 1.55pm to 2.35pm
during test at junction better use handbreak if long wait/slope
wah raining again, so sway i everytime go circuit rain![]()
i always drop 1 gear down(if gear 4) then stop de
Originally posted by lianamaster:Panic and nervousness are some capital mistakes in a test.
Just be yourself....pretend tester is your loved ones.....and stay focused...
Good Luck!!!
xie xie i need it
Actually if want to make sure if the car is in the centre of the lane. A more systematic way would be to use your wing mirrors. Make sure that they are adjusted to a comfortable level for you so that you can take quick glances at them without having to move your head at all so that you can gauge whether you are in the centre of the lane.
@Agenda: I got geh siao change gear clutch in before, but I got caught and ganna scolding. --"
@Xcert: I actually did what you described, but the only difference is that i didnt remain at half-clutch for 3rd gear before changing to gear 2. I'm not allowed to do so. The instructor told me that I should'nt use half-clutch for 2nd and 3rd gear onwards, this includes braking.
I will be having my driving lesson later on at 1.30pm and I'll try your method. I think the problem is that I'm changing down gears at too high a speed, thus the intense engine braking.