Originally posted by tranicide:Congrats!
Don't lose your hard earned license to sinful temptations!
i wont. this hard earned license really goes a long story
damn keep stalling my fuc king car.
Originally posted by forum_dude:damn keep stalling my fuc king car.
i every lesson did that but slowly u will realised its easy. take ur time :)
Originally posted by forum_dude:damn keep stalling my fuc king car.
That's normal... must keep practising till you get the feel.
i wonder how my dad start the car so fast after stopping from a traffic light. it is like 1 sec then he start moving liao.
my instructor teach me to reach what 2000rpm before releasing the clutch to move the car, then very hard sia
What your instructor taught you was what mine taught me as well, but I find it slow especially when you're on a slight slope. By the time you rev to 2000rpm, you're be rolling down the slope, and might hit the car behind you.
Thats why on consecutive lessons, I learn to release at half-clutch immediately before moving off. This is not an overnight skill, you need to practise it for a few lessons before getting used to it. This is why i still stall certain times, but after praticing, you'll be fine!
So right now whenever I'm driving a manuel car, I'll release to half-clutch before stepping on the accelerator.
Originally posted by tranicide:What your instructor taught you was what mine taught me as well, but I find it slow especially when you're on a slight slope. By the time you rev to 2000rpm, you're be rolling down the slope, and might hit the car behind you.
On steep slopes... go towards 2500 - 3000rpm. Step on the accelerator then slowly release the clutch once biting point is met.
Originally posted by forum_dude:i wonder how my dad start the car so fast after stopping from a traffic light. it is like 1 sec then he start moving liao. My instructor teach me to reach what 2000rpm before releasing the clutch to move the car, then very hard sia
There's no award for doing that...So u need not worry...
Better to focus on the road and beware of any kayu drivers/pedestrians....
That's more important. :)
Originally posted by lianamaster:
On steep slopes... go towards 2500 - 3000rpm. Step on the accelerator then slowly release the clutch once biting point is met.
i dun see e rpm one lehz..i put on e handbrake on slopes, then slowly accelerate till biting pt...till i see e bonnet rises abit..there will a feeling of a 'pull' of the car..then slowly release e handbrake..car will slowly move off le..
just step on the accelerator as you're releasing your clutch then wont stall liao.
Yep, I learnt the half clutch method after some time later.
But take note not to do the half clutch too often when you have a passenger in the car. It makes the passenger motion sick cos they are not aware of what skills you are showing.
Originally posted by alfagal:
i dun see e rpm one lehz..i put on e handbrake on slopes, then slowly accelerate till biting pt...till i see e bonnet rises abit..there will a feeling of a 'pull' of the car..then slowly release e handbrake..car will slowly move off le..
Yea... like that also can.... car dun roll back can le...
some slope no need 2000rpm. on slight slopes let the car vibrate at biting point then step on accelerator and release handbrake sametime. the only problems is doing sloping in the circuit.
Originally posted by forum_dude:i wonder how my dad start the car so fast after stopping from a traffic light. it is like 1 sec then he start moving liao.
my instructor teach me to reach what 2000rpm before releasing the clutch to move the car, then very hard sia
ur dad driving that car for some time liao so used to the bitting point and etc of the car...
instructor teach U the theory...its up to U to translate into practical...like how much to step on the accelerator to get around 2000rpm....newbie learners always over-ram the accelerator cos cannot control how hard they step on the pedal...it's part of the learning.
driving is not an exact science...it depends on how well U hone ur skills coupled with safety.
Originally posted by martin_lim85:some slope no need 2000rpm. on slight slopes let the car vibrate at biting point then step on accelerator and release handbrake sametime. the only problems is doing sloping in the circuit.
There are more slopes that are very steep....that's the problem.
Older people will not feel comfortable holding their feet at both pedals for very long time.... ![]()