When taking the theory test, be it basic or final, why is it that at the end, only "FAILED" or "PASSED" is reflected on the screen? How is a candidate going to know where his/her errors lies in? How would a candidate be able to improve if he/she dont know the correct answers for the questions asked? Is it possible for the system to be such that it reflectes not just the "PASSED" or "FAILED" but also the answers for the questions asked in the test so that the candidates will be able to know and learn from the mistakes. Wouldn't that be much better than having the candidates passing or failing without knowing where they went wrong and what are the correct answers?
Here is where you stop ranting, and go ask THEM instead.
cos they lazy
If you failed the basic theory test, you need to study harder.
Really. ![]()
Originally posted by SharonC:When taking the theory test, be it basic or final, why is it that at the end, only "FAILED" or "PASSED" is reflected on the screen? How is a candidate going to know where his/her errors lies in? How would a candidate be able to improve if he/she dont know the correct answers for the questions asked? Is it possible for the system to be such that it reflectes not just the "PASSED" or "FAILED" but also the answers for the questions asked in the test so that the candidates will be able to know and learn from the mistakes. Wouldn't that be much better than having the candidates passing or failing without knowing where they went wrong and what are the correct answers?
U have a point..... Reality always seems to reflect otherwise...![]()
Originally posted by SharonC:When taking the theory test, be it basic or final, why is it that at the end, only "FAILED" or "PASSED" is reflected on the screen? How is a candidate going to know where his/her errors lies in? How would a candidate be able to improve if he/she dont know the correct answers for the questions asked? Is it possible for the system to be such that it reflectes not just the "PASSED" or "FAILED" but also the answers for the questions asked in the test so that the candidates will be able to know and learn from the mistakes. Wouldn't that be much better than having the candidates passing or failing without knowing where they went wrong and what are the correct answers?
I can only think of one reason...Laziness on TP's part.
Back in 2002 when i took my theory test,they were still using the old booklet A-F system for both basic and advanced.They reused the same booklets for each batch of test takers.
If they let people know what questions they got wrong and the correct answers to them,it would only be a matter of time before someone compiles all the questions and answers to the theory tests and post them online for everyone to memorize.If that happens,they got to think up of new questions each time.
Well,the good thing now is that you get your results immediately on the spot,we had to wait 2 weeks for the result slip to come into the post box back then.
whine here got use meh, CALL THE DAMN TP!
If u are really good , u will sure know where is bad and good ..
That's because the BTT and FTT is a very good reflection of how reality works. The BTT and FTT relies not only on reading the respective textbooks, but also understanding and applying ALL the concepts of safe motoring, no point being good at some parts while being bad at other parts. This is a fact of life, either you PASS, or you FAIL. BTT and FTT, fail liao, got second chance.
On the road if you are involved in an accident, make just one mistake, and you might not get a SECOND CHANCE at life.
In any case, please don't test the system, it has been this way since ages ago and if years and years and batches and batches of candidates can pass, maybe the REAL PROBLEM lies between chair and keyboard instead of blaming the system.
if you one mark away from pass, what you wanna do? appeal ahh?? this one not sec 2 final year leh.
just go to counter again and book re-test lahhhh.. ![]()
coz u ought to know eberitin.
if any TP person read this... can i request they change..
PASSED
You're a GOOD driver-in-training!
FAILED
YOU suck!
this will show more effort on your part with more words. ![]()
Originally posted by sinicker:if any TP person read this... can i request they change..
PASSEDYou're a GOOD driver-in-training!
FAILEDYOU suck!
this will show more effort on your part with more words.
LOL! Thats the reason why one has to pass BTT in order to get a PDL.
else you would see a lot of people jumping off building for getting a zero in their test...
Well thats the way it is, purposely don't want to explicitly tell you you where wrong, so that can suck more money from you as you might keep booking for tests.
But what I don't like about theory tests now is that while you know you pass or fail immediately, unlike during my time when I had to wait 1-2 weeks for the letter (damn make me feel old to say this sia...), the result stays on the computer screen for some time. If passed then ok lah, good for you. But if fail, wah lau, very paiseh leh...
In response to sinicker's reply to the topic,
"if you one mark away from pass, what you wanna do?"
Not appeal but find out what is the wrong question answered that cost the one mark and where the mistake lies in and then learn from the mistake so as not to repeat the mistake again in the future.
Originally posted by SharonC:In response to sinicker's reply to the topic,
"if you one mark away from pass, what you wanna do?"
Not appeal but find out what is the wrong question answered that cost the one mark and where the mistake lies in and then learn from the mistake so as not to repeat the mistake again in the future.
you've already learnt your mistake by failing.
it seems to you, this BTT and FTT is just about getting a pass and that's it. you must UNDERSTAND why it's like that. and most of the questions are common sense?
Friend, take practise session. Don't take the real test. Practise session won't be counted but it is cheaper and let you know the answer.
In response to nightsky87's reply:
"On the road if you are involved in an accident, make just one mistake, and you might not get a SECOND CHANCE at life."
When one pass the test, it does not necessary mean that the candidate has every single question correct. Without knowing the question that the candidate has perhaps answered wrongly during the test, wont that constitute a threat to the public when the candidate drives on the road? If he/she has know the possible mistakes made, that might have enable him/her to learn and change and avoid making that mistake on the road, the mistake which might well be the one that causes the candidate to not have a second chance at life.
Originally posted by SharonC:When one pass the test, it does not necessary mean that the candidate has every single question correct. Without knowing the question that the candidate has perhaps answered wrongly during the test, wont that constitute a threat to the public when the candidate drives on the road? If he/she has know the possible mistakes made, that might have enable him/her to learn and change and avoid making that mistake on the road, the mistake which might well be the one that causes the candidate to not have a second chance at life.
if you passed with two questions answered wrongly, would you care to sit down for 5 minutes and reflect on how you got the two questions wrong?
or would you get out of the room & spend 5mins smsing your girlfriends to tell them that you passed? ![]()
In response to snicker's reply:
This BTT and FTT is not just about getting a pass but about how did the pass come about.
Your PSLE, O levels or A levels or Uni final exams... got give you back papers and tell you where you went wrong meh?
Originally posted by SharonC:In response to snicker's reply:
This BTT and FTT is not just about getting a pass but about how did the pass come about.
the pass came about due to practical thinking. do you possess it?
no need calculations, memorise trigonometric identities at all...
In response to snicker's reply:
"if you passed with two questions answered wrongly, would you care to sit down for 5 minutes and reflect on how you got the two questions wrong?
or would you get out of the room & spend 5mins smsing your girlfriends to tell them that you passed?
"
At least that person has a choice of learning from his mistake of ignoring them. If he ignore and commit them when on the road, then he got no one to blame for the consequences that he'll have to face.
"the pass came about due to practical thinking. do you possess it?
no need calculations, memorise trigonometric identities at all..."
So people who do not possess sufficient practical thinking ability cannot improve on them through learning from mistakes isit? if that is so then I have no word to say except that god bless those without sufficient practical thinking ability to be able to acquire the required ability by failing and failing since that's where they are going to learn.