Hello there,
I am a new driver and have not been comfortable driving a manual car.
I would like to get some tips on the how manual car drivers are able to switch gears so automatically and effortlessly.
Here is my problem:
1. lets say when I am at gear 2 and then moves up to gear 3 and then 4.
when a corner comes along, I know i need to switch to gear 2 at least.
2. But if I forgot which gear I am in, how? I mean, switching from 1 gear to the next requires knowing which gear u are now in , in order to smoothly switch right? Or am i missing something?
So, how do you guys do it? any tips for this young driver?
by the way, i have no money to upgrade to an auto gear. so i have to get used to manual one.
thank you in advance
regards
Ldoc
Originally posted by likedatosocan:Hello there,
I would like to get some tips on the how manual car drivers are able to switch gears so automatically and effortlessly.
Here is my problem:
2. But if I forgot which gear I am in, how? I mean, switching from 1 gear to the next requires knowing which gear u are now in , in order to smoothly switch right? Or am i missing something?
by the way, i have no money to upgrade to an auto gear. so i have to get used to manual one.
thank you in advance
regards
Ldoc
U wan help?
Erm i learn it from my father (coz he drving a van)
Gear 1 1km to 10km
Gear 2 11km to 20km plus
Gear 3 20km plus to 40km
Gear 4 41km to 60km to 69km (70Km must quickly change to Gear 5 le)
Gear 5 70km to 80km ( Cannot go on ltr caught for speeding)
Manual Car has a extra thing in below need ur leg to press it (Must together with the Gear thing)
Hope this can help u
are you a new driver or a learner driver ? ......
mi? i a student..
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB l0v3r:mi? i a student..
not you lah ! ... TS ....
Here is my problem:
thank you in advance
regards
Ldoc
Look at your speed and listen to your engine sound. If high gear and low speed, the sound will be faint and your car will seem like no strength like that. Low gear high speed, the sound will be louder.
No tips lah, it'll come naturally after a short while.
Originally posted by Fatum:not you lah ! ... TS ....
pwn
if u so fast from gear 1 change to gear 5 confirm black smoke sure come out de......
most learner drivers most likely drive max at 4th gear or 3rd gear nia.. so if your instructor ask you to turn left then u have to look ahead look further and spot the turn, then stop accelerating and let engine brakes apply, so u see the speedometer until "Gear 3 20km plus to 40km" then u change to gear 3 then apply some brake if car is too fast, then as you filter left to the left turn only "pocket" then u change to gear 2.
Sometimes u just cannot make it on time, u should just brake all the way then make your turn and you shift ya gear back to gear 2 after the turn, skipping gear 3. It is alright to skip some gear, just that your instructor wants you to do it properly.
You have to be very good in this, but you will get more chance to do all this gear changing at super fast speed when u do ya circuit, with more practice, comes the experience.
However, while accelerating, you are not suppose to skip gear if not your engine will give out a funny noise. But if you accidentally do it, then so be it, dont be afraid.
Errr I know this isn't a specific tip.. but what I can tell you is - practice really makes a difference! After a while changing gears will become so natural to you, you won't even feel 'conscious' of it at all.
Regards to gear position relative to the speed you are driving at: 1, 3, 5 is always UP
2 and 4 is always DOWN
so e.g. if you are driving pretty fast, your car is not making loud noises, your gear stick is UP then you probably driving at gear 5. If you are driving up a slope, your car no power to go up, your gear stick is UP, then you probably at gear 5 too. So just lower gear lo.
Originally posted by Fatum:not you lah ! ... TS ....
Shifting of gears shouldn't pose much of a problem...
If you switch too early, you will hear knocking sound.
If you so lazy to switch gears and keep on accelerating at low gears at very high speed, the car will whine & whine by showing high rev at your tachometer.
If you switch wrong gear, you will feel the jerks.
Sometimes, learning through the hard way can also be an alternative... hehe...![]()
Its about feeling.
With time, your left hand will tell you which gear you're at.
I'm saying if you put in zero effort into not knowing that feeling, you'll never master it even in 999 years.![]()
TS, I dun understand why u bought a manual car in the 1st place if u r not good at driving manual car??????
I myself also cannot drive manual car very well even though my license is manual car license. My clutch with 1st gear is not very good during upslope and I dun like to change gears, very troubleosme.
So I bought an auto car last year August. Auto car is much more better and easier than manual car. Driving auto car only needs 1 hand, left hand can rest.
I suggest you sell this manual car and buy an auto car. Then u have no worries during driving.
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB l0v3r:U wan help?
Gear 1 1km to 10km
Gear 2 11km to 20km plus
Gear 3 20km plus to 40km
Manual Car has a extra thing in below need ur leg to press it (Must together with the Gear thing)
Hope this can help u
i tink it's called "Clutch"
anyway, i tink u shld listen to ur engine sound rather then using the meters to gauge. i mean, wad if one day u on gear 1, ur meter spoil how? u nv gonna change gear?
When in gear 4, approaching a turn(some distance away), do an engine brake(release your accelerator only). Along the way, apply intermittent footbrake and switch to gear 2(best done early to maximise engine brake) to suit the corner speed. Execute the turn when approaching the corner. Accelerate after the turn. ![]()
see the turn how big lah.
and expressway bend, dont turn on gear 2 hor. ![]()
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB l0v3r:U wan help?
Gear 1 1km to 10km
Gear 2 11km to 20km plus
Gear 3 20km plus to 40km
Hope this can help u
clutch.
Originally posted by lianamaster:If you so lazy to switch gears and keep on accelerating at low gears at very high speed, the car will whine & whine by showing high rev at your odometer.
isn't the odometer the one that indicates clocked mileage? ![]()
i believe you're referring to the tachometer. ![]()
No la sometimes i also listen to the engine sound but then my father drives i see the meter too
Gear 1 (stop or going)
Gear 2 20km and above
Gear 3 40km and above
Gear 4 60km
Gear 5 65km to 80km
Note: My father car is a van
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB l0v3r:No la sometimes i also listen to the engine sound but then my father drives i see the meter too
Gear 1 (stop or going)
Gear 2 20km and above
Gear 3 40km and above
Gear 4 60km
Gear 5 65km to 80km
Note: My father car is a van
english fail lol
when slow down always switch back lower gear,
start from lower gear,
cut down practice using high gear to drag on slow speed
Here is my problem:
thank you in advance
regards
if u 4get which gear u are in, just take a quick peek at it, then look in front.
if u need to change your gear and u 4get which gear u are at now,
then tap the brake, clutch in, search for the gear stick put it in the middle and shift to ideal gear. u must do this really fast.
from shifting gear 4 to 2, is sth that should be avoided, unless it is an emergency. if u are doing a U turn, u should use engine brake, 4 down 3 down 2 then turn, saves fuel.
there is another habit u can take, but this is a bad habit, 1 hand on gear 1 hand on steering wheel.
Originally posted by jayh272416:
english fail lol
wala0 u broke my xin ![]()
Re edit: My father drives a van not a car
PS for my english fail
Here is my problem:
thank you in advance
regards
Ldoc
Hi TS.
I guess u just have to put in more effort to remember which gear u'r in. In fact, over time, you'll just know just when u place u hand on the stick.
Usually u know when u up u gear to 4. U should be on a decent spd rd with less traffic n turns. So this could be a clue to u.
As for dropping gears from 4 to 2 directly is not recommended. If ur spd at gear 4 is too fast, ur car may jerk, wears the gears out early.
A suggestion to u at this stage could be just playing with gear 2 and 3. When u reach big roads, less traffic, straight, then switch to 4 and 5. So this will create an impression on ur mind that u'r in 4 or 5 now.
Finally dun worry. This is just the learning stage. You'll get more confident n more steady thru practice n experience. Always remember the golden rule (told to me by a cabby) "Drive slowly if need be, always safely, and never bang others."