I am considering these 3 models. The car prices are as follows:
Avante S: $42,999
Vios SPorts E: $49,999
City: $57,000
In terms of exterior looks i think the new City looks the best. Vios and Avante looks equally good. I am tempted to choose the cheapest Avante but worried of the FC and reliability as alot of people are quite skeptical about korean cars and shared with me their horror stories. On the other hand Vios looks sporty but currently the price is not cheap at 50k but it has good FC of abt 14 - 15km/l and toyota is well known for better reliability. The downside for Vios is that they require min. 25k loan with certain amt of interest/ yr but Avante is pretty flexible they allow me to pay all at once with no extra price hike. I'm caught mostly between Vios and Avante..any opinions from owners of these 2 models?
With the exception of the City, all rather old and may-EOL-soon cars leh.. Have you noticed the Forte thread? ![]()
"With the exception of the City, all rather old and may-EOL-soon cars leh.. Have you noticed the Forte thread?
"
In fact i went down to see Forte too . I thought Avante just 2 year old model? The vios sports alsonot that old. where got end of life so soon?
Originally posted by Wayne25:"With the exception of the City, all rather old and may-EOL-soon cars leh.. Have you noticed the Forte thread?
"
In fact i went down to see Forte too . I thought Avante just 2 year old model? The vios sports alsonot that old. where got end of life so soon?
No lah, just exaggerating the fact that the Forte is a new car while the others have been around for quite some time..
If you've seen the Forte, then I guess there must be certain reasons why you've decided not to include in your shortlist. The horror stories about korean cars, well, have you heard any horror stories specifically about the Avante? In fact, if you've seen the new Sonata (blue instrumental backlight instead of the usual green), you would be surprised to find that the Koreans have come a really long way.
I agree with you. I like the exterior of Avante but i find the interior lousy esp the head unit. i feel like asking the SE to change for me to DVD touch screen FOC. wonder if it is possible hahah.
I still dare not consider KIA, if i end up buying a korean car it will be hyundai rather than KIA.
In fact i quite like the sports vios, my friend is driving it looks not bad but it cost abt 50k now i wonder if the price is gonna drop somemore.
Hmm... I would go for the Vios Sport if I only have those 3 choices that u indicated. I look more for sporty styling one... like side skirting and spoiler etc...I sat on my friend's Vios and it's pretty comfortable, quiet and fuel-efficient. I just dun like the instrument cluster on the middle of the dashboard. Other than that, it has a pretty ok OMV for a 1.5L and I believe Toyota brand shouldn't go wrong. It's the 3rd best selling model after Civic and Altis for 2008, so I believe it should appeal to those seeking a lifestyle car at a budget. :)
definitely Honda City. why you may ask. because,

Originally posted by MR WRESTLEMANIA:definitely Honda City. why you may ask. because,
Haiyo.... end up I need more time to load this page... ![]()
sorry to hijack ur thread... but why is city so ex? in general, why is honda more ex than it's equivalents in it's class? like vios v city and corolla v civic
anyway i would pick the vios :D
i prefer city =)
Originally posted by unclebutcher:sorry to hijack ur thread... but why is city so ex? in general, why is honda more ex than it's equivalents in it's class? like vios v city and corolla v civic
Generally the H badge more expensive, because their profit margins are fatter?
Originally posted by nightsky87:Generally the H badge more expensive, because their profit margins are fatter?
shouldn't the relationship be the opposite?
i choose vios
Originally posted by unclebutcher:sorry to hijack ur thread... but why is city so ex? in general, why is honda more ex than it's equivalents in it's class? like vios v city and corolla v civic
Apparently, the City's OMV is higher than the Vios and Avante. The OMV for City is around $20,000 while the Vios and Avante are around $12,000. Hence, it's like you pay more initially but you also get higher parf rebate at the end of the day. In other words, the City will fetch a higher resale value compared to the Vios and Avante.
Just my 2 cents' worth...
I have driven the new vios and city (the old version) before. If the performance of the new city is the same as the old city, then I would advise you to go for city. Though its expensive, but all honda cars are so expensive.
If its too expensive, then choose vios sports, which I find it also not bad in terms of performance. Only when you compare the interior, new city is much nicer with more features.
Originally posted by lianamaster:Apparently, the City's OMV is higher than the Vios and Avante. The OMV for City is around $20,000 while the Vios and Avante are around $12,000. Hence, it's like you pay more initially but you also get higher parf rebate at the end of the day. In other words, the City will fetch a higher resale value compared to the Vios and Avante.
Just my 2 cents' worth...
20k is a lot.. You are right that Avante the OMV is plus minus 12-13k range, while the Vios is around the same or slightly lower. I think that's mainly because the avante is MI Korea, and the vios is MI Thailand, while the city is still MIJ.
However, if the City costs higher, it also means that the depreciation will be accordingly higher than the Vios and Avante..
Originally posted by unclebutcher:shouldn't the relationship be the opposite?
cost + tax (omv, etc) + profit margin = selling price mah. From personal experience, I do know that when it comes to pricing, KM is more strict and it's not easy to get further discounts from the listed pricing.
Another reason why Honda cars are generally more expensive - Options are generally not avaliable. Things like Leather seats, sports rims, solar flim, ICE, etc etc, are usually offered as options/freebies by other ADs. KM on the other hand, anything and everything that can factory fit, they will factory fit - that's why all Civics come highly-spec-ed, and in the end you don't have to ask for this and that because anything that you want and which can be fitted into the Civic, will already be fitted AND included in the selling price.
In fact from the KM price list I have, only the Jazz has the options of cancelling your leather seats audio, etc ( minus Leather Seats, $700 off asking price, minus Audio system, $400 off, etc).
Originally posted by nightsky87:20k is a lot.. You are right that Avante the OMV is plus minus 12-13k range, while the Vios is around the same or slightly lower. I think that's mainly because the avante is MI Korea, and the vios is MI Thailand, while the city is still MIJ.
However, if the City costs higher, it also means that the depreciation will be accordingly higher than the Vios and Avante..
Haha.... I referred to http://app.lta.gov.sg/motoring_vo_omv.asp ...
Just quote some OMV figures from there:
City 1.5A: $18642
City LX 1.5A: $20065
Avante 1.6A: $11585
Vios Auto: $11506 to $13210
What a difference man...
go test drive all the 3 models then decide...
oh thanks guys i see
Originally posted by dukedracula:i think vios is the ugliest looking of the lot…
even so the racing edition. ![]()
Originally posted by sinicker:even so the racing edition.
I've actually seen 'racing editions' altises.. which means there ARE people who actually buy them!
to own a car, surely will be costly.
road tax + radio licence, = over 1 thousand bucks
tires after 2 or 3 years, = over a few hundred bucks for 2 tires at least.
maintenance every 6 mths, = a few hundred bucks
petrol, = a few hundred bucks per month for normal drivers
the wonderful ERP parking and ERP , and if u a leaseholder of HDB, monthly 65 bucks for car park or thereabouts. = for sales people, ho say , enjoy.
new battery after 2 or 3 years. = not sure the cost. maybe 1 hundred?
scratches, birdshit, polishing fees, car washes, polish wax, detergents, towels, = maybe a few hundred for 1 year.
spark plugs change, engine oil change, filter change, so many more to change,
clean car every now and then (i see some use their maids to do the job),
and i have even included mods and superchargers and turbos and sports rims and all the gadgets. I dont do any of these. I am a normal car driver. not good at driving too. = cost ???
anything else i missed? I am still a novice driver, 1.9 years old.
yes, a car is a luxury item , it is an expense item and it depreciates everyday.
out of all these, you get convenience and some comfort.
thats life, pay and pay.
mind if i ask, what are the differences between vios J E and G models?