Hi all,
Am new to this forum and hope to get some advices. i am thinking if am getting a car, i am thinking getting those more than 10 yrs one..why? why not just 3 yrs? cos the price is too high for me as i am don't wish to sink large amount of money into a car, as just wish to pay the convenience to ferry my family around from pt A to pt B. Why not new car like Chery QQ, Picanto Kia, Chervolet Spark? After doing some prices checking, their prices started from 20+K to 30+K, which meant i need to take up a car loan for a smaller size car. Hence am thinking of why not a 10yrs old, on the assumption that the car doesn't break down so often that it is render useless..:P Any take on this? Thanks
But hor, you might need to pay for extension of COE or PQP. It might work out to thousands of dollars. Also, I dun think you are entitled to much parf benefit. But seriously, which car that is more than 10 years old will still have a high level of efficiency that you expect? I rather you get a 2nd hand Picanto or QQ that still have warranty or stg... their cost should not be above $30,000.
If you insist, perhaps a 1999 Corolla or Lancer will be my picks. But no guarantee on their reliability though...
service until you xiao man.
The radiator will over heat after 15km, the aircon will smoke, the fan belt will burst, the brakes will fail, the suspension will leak, the gear box will creek everytime u change gear, the fuel consumption will be twice as much and the under carriage is rusty.
Still want to get a cheap 10 year old car?
you can check at sgcarmart
alot of this kind of 10yrs old + cars
mostly ESI
some quite good condition
Haiz... I didn't notice the double-posting of topic..... -.-
Originally posted by dibilo:service until you xiao man.
The radiator will over heat after 15km, the aircon will smoke, the fan belt will burst, the brakes will fail, the suspension will leak, the gear box will creek everytime u change gear, the fuel consumption will be twice as much and the under carriage is rusty.
Even if want to get those more than 10 year old car, I think those old bmw and the boxy looking merc should be still pretty solid.. see a lot of them on the roads.
Originally posted by dibilo:service until you xiao man.
haha..quite true, indeed, yi feng qian yi feng huo...difficult to find cheap and good...sianz..btw still wondering how then these old cars are still around when they should go up in smoke or end up in scrapyard leh?? Cars like QQ or Spark though new are far smaller compare to old cars like Honda, Toyota..but indeed, it takes a sharp eyes with good knowledge of car to know if car is working ok..it is a gamble
Yea... owning a car is like a running a machine, you need to maintain it well to keep it running for long periods of time. It's pretty difficult to spot them in a second-hand car market so I also feel it's like taking a gamble should you lay your hands on one.
Originally posted by lianamaster:Yea... owning a car is like a running a machine, you need to maintain it well to keep it running for long periods of time. It's pretty difficult to spot them in a second-hand car market so I also feel it's like taking a gamble should you lay your hands on one.
so what about used car of less than 3 years? would it be "safe" to buy? really tempting..:D
Originally posted by macTea:so what about used car of less than 3 years? would it be "safe" to buy? really tempting..:D
Well, in my opinion, cars younger than 3 years will be a 'safer' bet in the sense they might still be covered under warranty; so there's still some allowance for maintenance by the main agent should anything crop up. The engine and mechanics of the car should still be working fine as compared to a 10-year old car. But still, you never know the driving habits of the previous owner. Some unscrupulous dealers will make the car look brand new although it kena accident the day before, hence there's always some doubts raised when buying a second-hand car. Just be cautious of cheapo offers that are deemed too good to be true.