Hi,
I have just signed up to the forum after going through a difficult and restless night making sense of my predicament.
I had came back home tonight and received a traffic offence letter for speeding 51-60 km above the speed limit of 70km on Nicoll Highway. 18 demerit points and I know will surely have to appear in court to be prosecuted.
I am feeling extremely down with my act of speeding and carelessness but I know I need to take responsibility for this. It was last Sunday and I was rushing to get to church. There were less than 2-3 cars on Nicoll Highway on a Sunday morning and I had not realised I was going that fast (must have been around 125km or thereabouts). I have no excuses but will like to know what to expect from here on with regards to the court case, penalties and potential suspension?
What are the consequences? I want to be mentally prepared. This is my first speeding traffic offence in perhaps more than 10 years. Have a clean record for many years but just one silly act of speeding.
Really sorry that I will need to break this news to my wife soon. Appreciate any views on what I should prepare for - penalties, conviction etc ...
You should have cham siong with the TP. ![]()
are you sure you have to appear i court? i think if you compound the fine. there will be no need.
if i were you, id stop driving for a year. not worth making a mistake n have 6 points and licensce revoked.
why do you have to rush to church? god is always with you in your heart and mind.
hmm, you always drive on F1 routes? 125km/h and not realising it?
Originally posted by skeujin:are you sure you have to appear i court? i think if you compound the fine. there will be no need.
if i were you, id stop driving for a year. not worth making a mistake n have 6 points and licensce revoked.
why do you have to rush to church? god is always with you in your heart and mind.
i think once above 30 or 40km/h of the speed limit have to appear in court.
remember the kpe incident where 1 driver went 120km/h and was the only 1 prosecuted in court.
appear in court is a waste of time. must waste at least a few hours just hanging around to let them tell you how much to pay...
NP 404 (Notice to Attend Court)
This Notice to Attend Court is issued to an offender who has committed a non compoundable offence and court attendance is required, example, speeding offence for which the speed that the vehicle has exceeded is more than 40 kmph of the speed limit of the road or vehicle, or offence of using mobile telephone whilst driving. This notice may also be issued for compoundable cases where offer of composition is not granted.
Originally posted by Underdog2006:Hi,
I have just signed up to the forum after going through a difficult and restless night making sense of my predicament.
I had came back home tonight and received a traffic offence letter for speeding 51-60 km above the speed limit of 70km on Nicoll Highway. 18 demerit points and I know will surely have to appear in court to be prosecuted.
I am feeling extremely down with my act of speeding and carelessness but I know I need to take responsibility for this. It was last Sunday and I was rushing to get to church. There were less than 2-3 cars on Nicoll Highway on a Sunday morning and I had not realised I was going that fast (must have been around 125km or thereabouts). I have no excuses but will like to know what to expect from here on with regards to the court case, penalties and potential suspension?
What are the consequences? I want to be mentally prepared. This is my first speeding traffic offence in perhaps more than 10 years. Have a clean record for many years but just one silly act of speeding.
Really sorry that I will need to break this news to my wife soon. Appreciate any views on what I should prepare for - penalties, conviction etc ...<!--QuoteEnd-->
Nicoll Highway going to church at Suntec city? Don't worry, just believe what your more than 500k a year salary pastor said. When Jesus died for your sins, he knew you were going to do this stupid thing and already forgave you this stupid act more than 2000 years ago. True or not it does not matter, as long as you can feel good about doing stupid things, otherwise, pay him so much for what if you do not benefit from what he preaches?
queue up at the court
they ask if u have anything to say
u say sob story or don't say anything also the same, still tio fined
u are crazy
120+ and u dunno
wtf is this
pay up.
go to church.
realise your mistake.
Amen.
Really sorry that I will need to break this news to my wife soon. Appreciate any views on what I should prepare for - penalties, conviction etc ...<!--QuoteEnd-->
Hmm....then I better not say how much I've exceeded the speed limit.....
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Nicoll Highway going to church at Suntec city? Don't worry, just believe what your more than 500k a year salary pastor said. When Jesus died for your sins, he knew you were going to do this stupid thing and already forgave you this stupid act more than 2000 years ago. True or not it does not matter, as long as you can feel good about doing stupid things, otherwise, pay him so much for what if you do not benefit from what he preaches?
Why are you born stupid?
GOD forgives all our sins in the afterlife, but you still need to atone for your own sins when you're alive.
500k a year is alot of money??
Oh ya...I forgot, this is the place where people can barely afford a 30k ring.
Anyway, it's really hard to believe that you didnt realise that you were going at 125km... You car's stability at high speeds must be really good and you must have a high tolerance for speeds... Ever considered becoming a racer?
Originally posted by parn:
Why are you born stupid?GOD forgives all our sins in the afterlife, but you still need to atone for your own sins when you're alive.
For your info, $500k annual income IS a lot of money. How many percent of the singapore population earns that amount a year? How many church goers who donate to that income earns that kind of income themselves?
Why are you born stupid?GOD forgives all our sins in the afterlife, but you still need to atone for your own sins when you're alive.
For your info, $500k annual income IS a lot of money. How many percent of the singapore population earns that amount a year? How many church goers who donate to that income earns that kind of income themselves?
Originally posted by freakass:
Obviously, she is not impressed, cos she has lotsa fren and uncle who earn lots more than that. hahahahahaha ![]()
Yes... you have to go to court.. There is a court room that is specially used to handle traffic cases. Since ya demerit points are damn high... you therefore have to make a trip there. Just stand there and they will read out your charges in a loud and clear manner. You the kuku, will therefore keep saying yes sir.. yes sir i admit. Then after that... go to the counter and pay your fine then go home. You will not be alone.. people have to queue up for their turns to take the stand. But dont worry its very fast. ok??
Next time dont chiong too much la.. kanina no car does not mean can speed leh.. even God cannot help you when you speed. 70km/h means maximum only 80km/h. Wake up la deh...
Next time.. when drive keep looking at the speedometer la... side mirrors and rear mirrors to keep a lookout for traffic police and look for signs regarding speed camera and on overhead bridge for those hiding traffic assholes with a speed camera.
If licence never get revoked, should be happy liao. Just pay the fine and move on.
Last time my friend
50km/h over 70km/h limit..
License revoked and fined $900.
And banned 3 years before being able to RETAKE driving test.
sunday morning nicoll highway 125km/h wah lao god man!!!
Pray hard that you get a nice judge? Clean driving record might help.
no excuse.
I was also travelling around that speed the other time, but the TP nice enough to reduce it to below 40km/h exceeded limit. So I paid the fine and drove less till my points reset. ![]()
Speeding only lah, its a victimless crime, get over it.
And don't do it again, or you will lose your place in heaven, and also the free harp playing lessons.
Whay are you such a delusional? Have you ever heard what the Suntec preacher preaches?
Obviously you have not and decided to go with your own delusions. Instead of being a delusional, why don't you buy his CDs and hear what he preaches and stop making a fool of yourself.
Feel sorry for TS .. but what's done have been done...
Dun commit that mistake again.... Our island too small to speed...
Go other places and chiong if you want...