Home > Cars

WRX Owns Evos. Possible ?

• enforcer533

even if my friend is skilled it takes a hard time keeping up with the evos. we are talking about 50 more hp here. if the evo driver is also skilled i thin there is veri little chance the Rex can keep up .

• nightsky87
    Originally posted by sk_party_lsk:

I agree that WRX winning EVO is possible, its the one behind the wheels that determines it, not the car.

Comparing apple to apple , wrx will lose no doubts. confused.png

You are correct. If the drivers are of equal skill, unfortunately, the WRX does not have a chance of winning.

Engine output aside, the reason why the Evo will win is because in addition to having ACD, the Evo has SAYC. In terms of engine output and cornering ability, the Evo has it much better.

This is why the Evo is so much more expensive than the WRX. The STI has DCCD, but may still lose out on the cornering ability of the Evo.

• nightsky87
    Originally posted by enforcer533:

Hi guys i just had a debate with my friend just now. He told me that he can drive a wrx and own Evos on a racing circuit. He had a stock WRX which churn out 230 Bhp but a evo had 280 horses (Some had 320 BHP) that is 50 more then wat the wrx can produce. I understand that both cars are born in the world of rallying and had been rival since then. So is it even possible for a WRX (Non Sti) to win a Evo 9 ?

Tell your friend the reason why he can own Evos on the circuit is because the Evo drivers were probably not pushing their cars to the limit, simply because one Evo IX can buy about two WRX-es. With their cars being so much more expensive, they ultimately have nothing to prove by competing aggressively against a WRX, especially when they will have more to lose financially if they crash their car . Some Evo drivers are slightly more mature (ie, older) and have no interest in winning a CTR/WRX/ITR and just want to drive at their own pace.

• nightsky87

By the way, my comments only applies for stock vs stock.. Like I've always mentioned, if want to compare modified WRX vs stock Evo / mod wrx vs mod evo, etc etc, it will be a never ending discussion as there are too many variables..

Just my few cents worth. No offense to anyone, especially wrx drivers.

• enforcer533

lol i agree to wat u said it all makes sense. A Evo had much more gadget and technology install in it that makes it hold its ground during cornering. Further more Evo had a More Refine engine compare to the subaru Boxer which is rough at times. To me i would prefer the Evo Mivec engine than the Boxer engine. But 1 good point about the boxer is that it makes a unique Boxing sound when the engine is in Idle with a Aftermarket exhaust ^^

• nOrmalbOi

WRX confirm win de leh. Esp those that have orange racing stripes. On blinker only Ferrari also lose!

icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif

• n0x

sigh...

evo and rexes again...

buay sianz meh....

talk about other cars lah... zzzzzzz

• sk_party_lsk

Pls read the thread name , CTR vs WRX . Evo was dragged in tho.

P/s : create your own thread for other cars :D

• nOrmalbOi
    Originally posted by sk_party_lsk:

Pls read the thread name , CTR vs WRX . Evo was dragged in tho.

P/s : create your own thread for other cars :D

Perhaps you yourself need to get your eyes checked.

• kukubird123

Possible but overall still need see you got the guts anot to play with TP=) The one with guts wintongue.png

• bo liao

Hi guys i just had a debate with my friend just now. He told me that he can drive a wrx and own Evos on a racing circuit. He had a stock WRX which churn out 230 Bhp but a evo had 280 horses (Some had 320 BHP) that is 50 more then wat the wrx can produce. I understand that both cars are born in the world of rallying and had been rival since then. So is it even possible for a WRX (Non Sti) to win a Evo 9 ?

Again, if straight line drag, evo win,tried many time in the past.

Eg:If i hv 2 identical car, 1 wid 200 bhp, 1 wid 250 bhp, is a no-brainer qus.
    (50 bhp is alot lea..gv extra 30+ whp to vehicle)

So if in track, both driver same skill, IMO, is very hard for the STOCK wrx to win the STOCK evo.BUT its possible, cos both same skill drivers on track MAY not take the same cornering line/angles as maybe both vehicle same speed charge into corner, 1 vehicle may hv to back off (maybe in fearing of accident as both are owners of vehicle), thus some time may be wasted/lost as during corners some drivers like to take inner line to "cut" & gun out of corner, the vehicle taking the outer line may hv to back off abit the chase back when out of corner.

Of cos i may be wrong :) Jus my viewpoint when i used to go these place.

• Littledevil boi

If they going to have a drag,Stock wrx will lose out due to power wise.

If track,hard to say,it will depend on the driver.

• lianamaster

I will prefer to just watch the race. icon_mrgreen.gif