As above, does 2nd hand car safe? Is it more cheaper than 1st hand car? Do we still need to pay for the COE for the 2nd hand car?
if you wanna purchase 2nd hand cars, it's best to have 'lobang'. It's def cheaper than a first hand but you cannlt always trust what the dealer tells you about the condition of the car. If you have lobang, at least you can be assured that your source will take care of things properly for you.
You don't have to pay COE cos it has been included in the car price.
Hope this helps you! :)
'Lobang'? What do you mean? Who is the 'Lobang' you referring? If purchase 2nd hand cars, do we still need to buy insurance?
Linwei,
what cheryl trying to tell u is that its better to have someone/'lobang' which have good knowledge(insurance,pros & cons etc..) abt 2nd car.
or a trustable colleague/close friend who is selling their car whom you know their driving habits (don't use their car much hence low milleage etc etc)
roughly a second hand car cost how much?
To TS:
I am sorry to be a wet blanket, but i find that you have not done any/enough research.
There is a website called: SgCarMart
You can get whatever information you need there.
Asking how much a second hand car cost reveals that you are waiting to be spoonfed with an answer.
If you want a price range, i can tell you. It costs from 6,000 SGD - 700,000 SGD.
Isn't this a nice range?
Now, go and slap your own face for asking such a silly question without doing any bit of research.
P/S: If you feel offended, go ahead and flame me, but that's how i feel about you.
Originally posted by p228:To TS:
I am sorry to be a wet blanket, but i find that you have not done any/enough research.
There is a website called: SgCarMart
You can get whatever information you need there.
Asking how much a second hand car cost reveals that you are waiting to be spoonfed with an answer.
If you want a price range, i can tell you. It costs from 6,000 SGD - 700,000 SGD.
Isn't this a nice range?
Now, go and slap your own face for asking such a silly question without doing any bit of research.
P/S: If you feel offended, go ahead and flame me, but that's how i feel about you.
It's seems like you're planning to buy your 1st car. Not to lecture you but to let you aware of the commitments to consider.
Buying a car is like buying a house. There are alot of financial commitments to consider. Such as the installment, the annual insurance premium, the 6 monthly road tax, radio license & the parking charges.Another issue is the ERP. Depends on where you drive for your daily journey. If you're a 1st time car owner, the insurance premium is also high because of the illogically high number of claim cases on our local roads.
Not to forget your petrol & your servicing. You will also have to consider the fuel consumption of the car as well as technical reliability of the make & model. Certain makes & models are not suitable for tropical country use & the reliability becomes an issue when you visit the workshop oftenly.
Another major issue is the hire purchase loan. Many inexperienced drivers were tempted by the low upfront cash & ended up commiting to a hire purchase agreement which they could'nt back out when they realise there are many other expenses that they did not factor in when they did their sums.
I suggest that you visit SG Carmart.com & see for yourself the make & model which you prefer be it new or used car. I will advise you that as a rule of the thumb your monthly hire purchase installment should'nt be more than 35% of your net (not gross) income & together with your monthly expenses spent on your ride should'nt be more than 50% of your net income. Preferably, you save up 1st & downpay at least 10%-15% of the selling price excluding the 1st insurance & the 1st road tax.
If not you will be shocked to find out that you have only cleared the interest & you still have'nt start to clear the principle even if you have been servicing the hire purchase loan for years. You will have to top up cash if you have to sell your car. You will be at the mercy of the financing firm if you land yourself in such a situation.
I will be glad to advise you if you have other queries. Feel free to PM me.
Originally posted by Dreamwerkz:It's seems like you're planning to buy your 1st car. Not to lecture you but to let you aware of the commitments to consider.
Buying a car is like buying a house. There are alot of financial commitments to consider. Such as the installment, the annual insurance premium, the 6 monthly road tax, radio license & the parking charges.Another issue is the ERP. Depends on where you drive for your daily journey. If you're a 1st time car owner, the insurance premium is also high because of the illogically high number of claim cases on our local roads.
Not to forget your petrol & your servicing. You will also have to consider the fuel consumption of the car as well as technical reliability of the make & model. Certain makes & models are not suitable for tropical country use & the reliability becomes an issue when you visit the workshop oftenly.
Another major issue is the hire purchase loan. Many inexperienced drivers were tempted by the low upfront cash & ended up commiting to a hire purchase agreement which they could'nt back out when they realise there are many other expenses that they did not factor in when they did their sums.
I suggest that you visit SG Carmart.com & see for yourself the make & model which you prefer be it new or used car. I will advise you that as a rule of the thumb your monthly hire purchase installment should'nt be more than 35% of your net (not gross) income & together with your monthly expenses spent on your ride should'nt be more than 50% of your net income. Preferably, you save up 1st & downpay at least 10%-15% of the selling price excluding the 1st insurance & the 1st road tax.
If not you will be shocked to find out that you have only cleared the interest & you still have'nt start to clear the principle even if you have been servicing the hire purchase loan for years. You will have to top up cash if you have to sell your car. You will be at the mercy of the financing firm if you land yourself in such a situation.
I will be glad to advise you if you have other queries. Feel free to PM me.
You work as Car agent? Wow how you know all this information?
So let's say, if i earn $1.5k a month, it is not possible to get a car?
it is possible to own a car, even if you're not earning much. just that are you able to cope with the car's needs, like petrol bills, season parking, and what kind of cars are you looking for?
a 2nd hand esi will cost around 8k+? but depends on personal one luh.
hope i helped a little
Originally posted by linwei20:You work as Car agent? Wow how you know all this information?
So let's say, if i earn $1.5k a month, it is not possible to get a car?
the above is the minimum information you need to know before you go shopping for a car. U need to read up more. Onemotoring.com and sgcarmart.com has everything u need to know.
BUT!
If your pay is 1.5k, I suggest u shelf your plans to buy a car until U double your pay, take home.
"You work as Car agent? Wow how you know all this
information?
So let's say, if i earn $1.5k a month, it is not possible to get a
car?"
I am planning to be a car dealer. As a part timer so that I can be an honest one. I was a inexperienced driver kena burned by car loan until jia lat jia lat years ago. Just like you, did not know much, trusted the sweet talks of the dealers.
Dealers don't bother whether you are financially sound to own a car. They only bother about whether the bank or the financing firm approve your loan application. Some dealers even have the capital to finance you. Worse to worse case if you have problems servicing the loan, you will expect a lawyer's letter because base on the bankruptcy act, you are liable to be sued for bankruptcy if your outstanding debt is 10K & above. Even if it's less than 10K, they can hire debt collectors & you will not want a debt collector appearing in your office in front of your colleagues & bosses.
Let's say your salary is 1.5K a month. After deducting CPF it will be left about 1.2 - 1.3K. Because hire purchase loan is a high interest, high risk, compound interest loan, I believe most banks will require at least a 1.7k gross monthly income to assess such a loan. Even if 1.7K gross, you must have not any financial commitment such as properties & your credit history must be clean.
Even if the loan is approved, you must take note that the installment should'nt be above 35% of your nett monthly income if not you will be on a highway to financial stress. I will advise you maybe you can try car rental or car co-op plans after your P-plate probation is over. At least the financial commitment is not there & you will have the luxury to try out different models before you commit to car ownership in the later stages of your life.
1.5k still want to buy car? just go and take the bus. Some threadstarters seriously don't have brains. If i earn 1.5k a month i wouldnt even be asking about buying a 2nd hand car. Go take the bus and stay off the forums ok? you are killing me with your absolute stupidity.
Originally posted by kiwi182:1.5k still want to buy car? just go and take the bus. Some threadstarters seriously don't have brains. If i earn 1.5k a month i wouldnt even be asking about buying a 2nd hand car. Go take the bus and stay off the forums ok? you are killing me with your absolute stupidity.
what an ownage ![]()
Originally posted by kiwi182:1.5k still want to buy car? just go and take the bus. Some threadstarters seriously don't have brains. If i earn 1.5k a month i wouldnt even be asking about buying a 2nd hand car. Go take the bus and stay off the forums ok? you are killing me with your absolute stupidity.
PAWNED..
petrol bike or pedal bike maybe for 1.5K salary
Buy Chery QQ ![]()