I got my license 4 months back & finally got the chance to drive out on my own yesterday. I rented a Proton Gen-2 from a rental company for 1 day. I was so excited, so ready to take on the roads myself.
This experience ended up costing me $440 ($280 repair fee, $160 rental extension fee).
You see, the vehicle had a bodykit which means the bumper is very low, almost touching the ground. While I was making a turn out of a multi-story carpark, I turned too wide an angle & went up the kerb. Suffice to say, the low-hanging bumper was beat up. Then, it happened again. While I was sending my friend home, he suggested that I do a U-turn on a narrow road. Stupidly, I attempted to do it & once again, went up a kerb. By now, the damage to the carkit bumper was very obvious.
So I end up having to pay close to $500+ just for 1 night of driving. Worse of all, after this experience, I feel that I don't have the confidence anymore.
What do you think?
Proton Gen-2 class 4 meh?!
or class 3?
wah u really si beh jialat leh.
How u pass the driving test de ah?
You lose confidence when now you are a better driver?
Experience drivers also have issues with the extremely low bumpers, they hit the stopping blocks/curb when they park in a parking lot.
Originally posted by shadez:I got my license 4 months back & finally got the chance to drive out on my own yesterday. I rented a Proton Gen-2 from a rental company for 1 day. I was so excited, so ready to take on the roads myself.
This experience ended up costing me $440 ($280 repair fee, $160 rental extension fee).
You see, the vehicle had a bodykit which means the bumper is very low, almost touching the ground. While I was making a turn out of a multi-story carpark, I turned too wide an angle & went up the kerb. Suffice to say, the low-hanging bumper was beat up. Then, it happened again. While I was sending my friend home, he suggested that I do a U-turn on a narrow road. Stupidly, I attempted to do it & once again, went up a kerb. By now, the damage to the carkit bumper was very obvious.
So I end up having to pay close to $500+ just for 1 night of driving. Worse of all, after this experience, I feel that I don't have the confidence anymore.
What do you think?
when u got your license, you cannot just rent a car and drive. you need to gain experience on small roads and get familiar with the car. there are many "things" u need to gain on the road, this can only be done through experience.
It is of no surprise that everything is wrong. it is lucky that u did not hit any car or people.
why u rent car as an inexperienced driver and yet you rented one with body kits??
You should know that u are inexperienced and maynot have driven for the past few months, and you should just be more careful.
I cant believe you "ram" the car twice. Damn... this is just bad luck for you. Luckily its only Proton, and not any other models..
you need to judge the dimensions of the car well.
nvm, now you fork out your own hard-earned money, you will learn.
compared to those who drive parents' car and wallop it up in an accident and just let their parents settle it....
you will learn. don't worry. yes, the $$ is gone. but now, you know better how to turn and all.
can't you just drive on bigger roads and park the car in legal parking areas which are wide open?
Don't think too much, shadez. Shit happens.
Don't give up just because of 1 failure, or multiple failures. I believe this incident will make u a better driver.
Important thing to note:
If you are on probation, do not attempt to do illegal U-turns. You may be lucky once, twice but not everytime. Imagine a TP who saw you doing that illegal U-turn and even bang the kerb.. ![]()
I believe your 13 points is very precious.. I can afford to do a few illegal U-turns though..
my dotter oso first time driver ![]()
she ever drive from north to east for long distance
when i ask her fetch me to work nearby our house
she don't dare to drive alone ![]()
Originally posted by Poignant:Proton Gen-2 class 4 meh?!
or class 3?
No lah, he say he got licence 4 months ago. Not class 4.
I love driving but sometimes it can be stressful and tiring. I also kena near accidents many times.
Originally posted by lianamaster:I love driving but sometimes it can be stressful and tiring. I also kena near accidents many times.
Agree. With the existing road situation as it is, I'll be surprised if no one has ever experienced a 'near miss'.
I kena near accident like many times, but heng ah, nothing happen. Somemore I passed three months ago thou.
Next time check on the car that you're going to rent before renting it , if you just got your license , suggest that you dont rent a car with bodykits like this one whch you rented as you're not experienced yet....
hey don't lose confidence yah? treat it as a lesson fee. it may have happened because u were excited about driving out on your own for the first time..
like the rest said, don't rent cars with bodykits, familiarise with the car by driving around a safe area. be extra careful at u-turns, humps, steep slopes and bends..
Originally posted by p228:Don't think too much, shadez. Shit happens.
Don't give up just because of 1 failure, or multiple failures. I believe this incident will make u a better driver.
Important thing to note:
If you are on probation, do not attempt to do illegal U-turns. You may be lucky once, twice but not everytime. Imagine a TP who saw you doing that illegal U-turn and even bang the kerb..
I believe your 13 points is very precious.. I can afford to do a few illegal U-turns though..