| Raising taxi fares might push marginal car-buyers to drive rather than carry on with public transport, or delay scrapping their cars given that it is not cost-efficient to switch to taxis. Perhaps a separet category could be established for taxis, about 250 COEs a month set aside for taxis. This number can come from the common pool or be on top of the quota, or split between the two. |
| Taxis are a much more efficient use of a vehicle than private cars and it is not fair or efficient to class them in the same category as private cars, at least as far as COEs are concerned. |
If gahmen scrap COE system, they will only implent another system,or set up ERP
Maybe COE prevents too many cars from travellin on the roads.
hello bic_cherry,
I hope u not considering a Petition or Hong lim thingie.
we are singaporeans, we are not used to petition and hong lim thingies wan.
we are not like 1st worlds like USA , europe or australia.
we are singaporeans, u know? we very unique wan.
we are pretty much non western style democracy.
ERP charges are expensive too. Car park parking too. There's still COE.
PAP's way of limitation is by Pain... Pain of paying more n more Money for usage.
Firstly, the car population growth need to be restricted.
If you want to take away the COE, you must replace it with some thing else to restrict vehicle population growth.
Remember, with COE there are people who can buy four cars.
And people with one car means they can buy at least two without COE.
Without COE, I, you and many others can buy one car for self and another for the missus.
So, replace COE with what?
Frankly, any system will also be just as lousy.
You want LTA sell cars like HDB sell flats, ah? Singapore citizens only can buy new cars, and must own for five years before selling, cannot apply second time. Priority to first timers. Waiting time 2-3 years. Successful applicants must choose model presented, reject go to back of queue.![]()
without the COE, you will end up jaming for hours, and that include buses and taxi. Do you want that to happen?? Govt dun mind releasing the COEs, the more the better, they earn more...but today they restricted it, cos it can become a problem worst then BKK or KL
Without COE, you will be asking why there are so many cars on the road, and then blame LTA even more for not building enough roads or for poor public transport system.
It's a never ending process. Infrastructure construction can only go so fast...
The person who came up with COE is a genius.
Btw, I don't own a car, nor do I plan to own one in the near future, although I can afford one.
Originally posted by eagle:Without COE, you will be asking why there are so many cars on the road, and then blame LTA even more for not building enough roads or for poor public transport system.
It's a never ending process. Infrastructure construction can only go so fast...
The person who came up with COE is a genius.
Btw, I don't own a car, nor do I plan to own one in the near future, although I can afford one.
i think few ppl can resist buying car when they can afford it . cos the public system just suck big time.
unless u dun travel in sg? possible?
Originally posted by angel7030:without the COE, you will end up jaming for hours, and that include buses and taxi. Do you want that to happen?? Govt dun mind releasing the COEs, the more the better, they earn more...but today they restricted it, cos it can become a problem worst then BKK or KL
should scrap the EPR and tighten the COE.
and are we so sure the road can allow 1.5 car pop growth annually?
Originally posted by mh2:i think few ppl can resist buying car when they can afford it . cos the public system just suck big time.
unless u dun travel in sg? possible?
that's what you think? ![]()
Why the focus on cars only.
Why was the bicycle alternative abandoned?
What about the motorcycle?
Most cars have only one occupant, the driver. Ride a motorcycle.
The policy makers don't ride bicyles or motorcycles.
Why, they don't even take public transport!
remove COE lor
then i see all the morons get stuck in jams ![]()
Originally posted by mancha:Why the focus on cars only.
Why was the bicycle alternative abandoned?
What about the motorcycle?
Most cars have only one occupant, the driver. Ride a motorcycle.
The policy makers don't ride bicyles or motorcycles.
Why, they don't even take public transport!
Why? Becoz, some people feel motorcycles are simply too dangerous and seeing them weaving in and out in between the cars during a traffic stop / jam, and considering that there is no shelter in a bike, that congest people in the viaducts during rainy days, what makes you think that bicycles / motorcycles are so good.
This is what i think, after reading so many replies:
1. COE system to keep.
2. For sales person (or people who need to use the car for work, travelling 70% of the time to meet clients), guaranteed COE and COE < $5,000 (highly dubsidised road tax).
3. For non-sales person, COE > $30,000 for first car. Subsequent car within the family will be paying COE of > $40,000 and third car will be > $50,000 so on.
4. Raise ERP to Orchard / Shenton Way / Chinatown to be $10.00 per entry (sales person got discount).
5. Raise road tax by 50%.
6. Do the Pay-per-use scheme by distance (LTA already considering).
7. For OPC car owners, get $800 annual road tax discount (instead of $500 under new scheme).
8. ERP gantries on any common busy roads out of town, such as PIE (Tuas), Tuas road (outside fire station), Mandai Road (towards BKE in the morning).
9. Higher interest rate for hire purchase (5% - 6 %)
10. Compulsory downpayment of at least 10k to buy any new car.
I personally prefer option 7, 8 , 9 and 10.
ya, everyone will declare themselves a salesman
Originally posted by kopiosatu:ya, everyone will declare themselves a salesman
Ya, next time buy car you must show your employment letter (stating your job description, and blah blah blah). The SE will call and check with the company.
Mondays, wednesdays, fridays, licence plates that are even numbers.
Tuesdays, thursdays, licence plates that are odd and up to 3999.
Saturdays, sundays, licence plates that are even, and odd numbers 4001 to 9999.
What to do? Blame on the size of our tiny island.
Originally posted by ditzy:Mondays, wednesdays, fridays, licence plates that are even numbers.
Tuesdays, thursdays, licence plates that are odd and up to 3999.
Saturdays, sundays, licence plates that are even, and odd numbers 4001 to 9999.
Follow China's system huh? LOL....
One person must buy 2 cars there during Beijing Olympics. LOL...
Cos odd number for Mon, Wed, Fri...
even number for Tues, Thu, Sat....
Sun free for all... lol...
Let's fly!
/me sings I believe i can fly
Got COE, you KPKB about the high prices.....
Got no COE, you KPKB about all the traffic jams......
There's really no pleasing some people. ![]()
Seriously, I don't mind keeping the COE sky-high. All I really want is a really good public transport infrastructure as an alternative.
Actually I for one am supporting high COE prices. I wonder if TS actually drives a vehicle. Driving on Singapore roads isnt fun anymore. Jams are getting far too frequent and seriously how often do people take longer routes that require more time and fuel just to avoid an ERP gantry?
Singapore has an excellent public transport system. I say keep COE prices high, send them even higher if needed. Owning a car shouldn't be the expected norm in a small island nation, like how owning landed property isnt the expected norm.
finance miniter should provide interst free loan to let people buy coe- add value to our perfect money making coe system, make a money making deal even sweeter- now we buy a car coe also take loan easily adds anotherv 20%to the price
.add value= addvalue=