u mean 147 2.0 selespeed or 156 2.0 selespeed?Originally posted by A.F GTA:hi. i intend to get an alfa but donno much abt this car.... can anione help out on this? i would like to noe whether the car is a reliable one. if the engine is a high wear and tear type...basically i noe the pros of the car... i wanna noe more abt the cons of the car.. thanks in advance![]()
Hi all! if I may share a few pointers as ex owner of a 2001 147Selespeed..not GTA. if A.R is talkin abt 147GTA,then out of my league to discuss as tat is a 250BHP,3.2L mean machine costing arnd 180K!! The 1.6cc 147 does not hav selespeed..only manual box. I bought my 147S new at 113K & it is indeed a sexy car inside out.the chrome circular ferrari dials, instrument&info readout are clearN red.The one thing is the selespeed, it has 2 paddles behind the wheel, right is up&left is down,u can also use the seqential stick which responds faster...(surprise).the car will autoblip down during a corner or tackling bends * it is really loud as it autoblips,& it is gruff! funny thing is taht as it has no torque converter, the car is not an auto..it is a maual w/o clutch as it will not hold on slopes.u hav to engage handbrakes as using gears to bite like a conventional manual will not work. actually IMHO, the more i use the selespeed the more i dislike it! not easi to extract 155horses also. It is a fast car N road holding is excellent. I was using KW coil-overs, lowered &Advan A036.(not the semi slicks).contrary the stering is light, compare to my other conti cars.I think the 147 u are saying taht won races are the one in BTCC series,,those are different lar.Originally posted by bjork:14.7 has 1.6cc also. At abt 90K. It has semi-auto gear the noch is at the steering wheel. The engine is very powerful as 14.7 took part in a race few months back forgot the name already ( guess it was sec/first). But cos its tyre is the 'stick on the road' type means when u speed u can still feel ur car on the ground, but not the 'flying' feeling, so the steering is heavy.
Great car.![]()
Originally posted by megatron:Hi all! if I may share a few pointers as ex owner of a 2001 147Selespeed..not GTA. if A.R is talkin abt 147GTA,then out of my league to discuss as tat is a 250BHP,3.2L mean machine costing arnd 180K!! The 1.6cc 147 does not hav selespeed..only manual box. I bought my 147S new at 113K & it is indeed a sexy car inside out.the chrome circular ferrari dials, instrument&info readout are clearN red.The one thing is the selespeed, it has 2 paddles behind the wheel, right is up&left is down,u can also use the seqential stick which responds faster...(surprise).the car will autoblip down during a corner or tackling bends * it is really loud as it autoblips,& it is gruff! funny thing is taht as it has no torque converter, the car is not an auto..it is a maual w/o clutch as it will not hold on slopes.u hav to engage handbrakes as using gears to bite like a conventional manual will not work. actually IMHO, the more i use the selespeed the more i dislike it! not easi to extract 155horses also. It is a fast car N road holding is excellent. I was using KW coil-overs, lowered &Advan A036.(not the semi slicks).contrary the stering is light, compare to my other conti cars.I think the 147 u are saying taht won races are the one in BTCC series,,those are different lar.
over all, interior is comfy & shiok, key has auto sunroof, auto music,immobilser & stuff..great gadget..I do miss the interior but i wud prefer a stick anytime compare to all these selepeed, DSG,semiauto gears..also everytime at traffic lights,sure got pple want to stare at you & "cheong"one..
so hope it helps..if u wan some more info, go to the AROC forums,,coupkle of 147GTA owners there..or why not wait for new 156selespeed coming out soon?..
cheers..
wud luv to write more but im overseas now & internet is damn ex!!KNN
1.6 & 2.0 has the same interior both has sunroof. The only difference is the engine. Why do u go their authorise dealer outlet to test drive?Originally posted by A.F GTA:alamak sorry man i forgot to put in the model its a 2003 147 2.0 selespeed.
My petrol per week for 1.6 147 max is $80. But usually $50. So if ur getting a 2.0 147 hehehee i sure its much more then mine eh.Originally posted by A.F GTA:actually i noe the performance of the car..and it handles great... i only Question is.. is the engine problematic? i heard that the engine 'eats' up at least 1L :15k km... for a new car.. i think is abit much? if someone can ease my negative side on the car i will get it ;p
no wad i meant was it eats engine oil 1L : 15K km is this true?Originally posted by bjork:My petrol per week for 1.6 147 max is $80. But usually $50. So if ur getting a 2.0 147 hehehee i sure its much more then mine eh.But for a 2L car its quite standart why dun consider 1.6?
Help u to ease uh? malaysia petrol?
i never record my mileage when i pump so i dunno if 1L:15km leh.Originally posted by A.F GTA:no wad i meant was it eats engine oil 1L : 15K km is this true?
btw is there any other probs. wif the engine or the after sales ?
just my 16 valves worth
p.s so u enjoying the ride so far ?
Originally posted by A.F GTA:i mean the engine oil ;p
no wad i meant was it eats [b]engine oil 1L : 15K km is this true?
btw is there any other probs. wif the engine or the after sales ?
just my 16 valves worth
p.s so u enjoying the ride so far ? [/b]
ezcuse me!!?? A.R engine & Ferrari engine is the same!!!?? so ur 1.6l 147 performance the same as a say ferrari for 1/8 of the price?!!Originally posted by bjork:i never record my mileage when i pump so i dunno if 1L:15km leh.
Engine like they say its ferrari engine cos A.R & Ferrari is the same company. Wat do u think?Currently after 4 mths no problem leh. Just wanna change the color.
common sense la. same engine!? i mean since they are under the same company, there are some identicals. U turn me off with ur ignorance way of speaking. ur here to post ur views or here to criticise?Originally posted by megatron:ezcuse me!!?? A.R engine & Ferrari engine is the same!!!?? so ur 1.6l 147 performance the same as a say ferrari for 1/8 of the price?!!
Mr A.R GTA is talkin about eng oil consumption & ur figure of 15km/l is damn optimistic for an Alfa. but i hope u are right for ur $$$ sake!
To answer Mr A.R GTA question, since we both had same 2.0L selespeed powerplant..
The oil consumption tend to be bad,even wz synthetic after 2yr,depending on how u take care & drive.do not add addictives I did it once & compression jus went down. Alfa has bad resale fyi, tends to be noisy & a/c is constant whine..but i reckon tat is the alfa signature trademark. yes the instruments clusters are lovely wit indiglo ligthing ,like Defi gauges.
It is not a consumer car, AR belongs to certain enthusiast group,howver it is a veri driver orentated & characteristic car..but like i say, why not wait for the 2004 156selespeed?
cheers
engine oil huh.. this i dunno. yap mine is 03 model. if u free, can meet up to bio my car lor...By thw way wat u driving now?Originally posted by A.F GTA:i mean the engine oil ;p
u comfortable wif the ride? is yrs the 03' model? i love the meters when the engine is off...u cant see S**t but when u switch on the engine it lights up! damn cool i must say... its called indigo or something...
just my 16 valves worth
driven? or test drive?Originally posted by A.F GTA:love dogs?? hmm..i m a fellow beagle lover! i have 3 and a MS and a jrt ;p btw this will be my first car..i have driven a couple of cars..merc..jag..hondas..toyotas...but wad really turned me on was the grunt of an alfa tho' it was a long time back and was an old 33 man...the sound is wad every car lacks... no offence to other car users ya?
ur father got so many cars before. Then u shld ask ur papa to bring u there ma. Drive any of the above cars, the sales man will serve u well. Not need ask in forums ma.Originally posted by A.F GTA:these were my dad's cars.. not test driven..
my dad passed on.Originally posted by bjork:ur father got so many cars before. Then u shld ask ur papa to bring u there ma. Drive any of the above cars, the sales man will serve u well. Not need ask in forums ma.![]()