FD FC are models of RX-7 yeah... FD and FC are the generations of Rx-7 modelsOriginally posted by Ah Wei:Hi guys,
I think this qns was asked a long time ago, but me too lazy to trace the past messages, thus here I go again.
There are quite a few kind of cars, like the FC, FD, FR and some more I suppose, can't remember.
What are the main difference between these cars? How many F something are there all in all? Pls enlighten, thanks.
yeah bro. your right! regarding porsche, the boxter i saw the engine at the back. i suppose its a Midship. 911 is RR yup.Originally posted by megatron:i ah wei, actually, de defination is more complicated than that.
But the guys are all correct in their answers.
the 2 letters signified Engine/Driven wheel..FR = Front engine Rear driven wheels. FF=Front engine/Front driven wheels.
Mr actually means Midship Roundabout(watever tat Roundabout means) .anyone noes ? can share..this MR was made popular by the Toyota MR2(1st gen model) meaning the engine was mounted before the rear axle. nowadays cars like MR-S, MG rover,VX220.
some cars are RR = rear engine/rear driven wheels meaning engine is mounted at or behind the driven wheels like Porsshce 911.
all these configurations go towards the type of driving characteristics the manufacuteres want.understeer, oversteer, neutral, slide,drift,
Correct me if im wrong ok?..Thanks .we live & learn Bros,,we live & learn.
forgot RR... some porsches are RR, those non 4WD ones...Originally posted by nOObiE:hey dude
FF- Front Wheel Drive
FR- Rear Wheel Drive
4WD/AWD- All Wheel drive
MR- Mid-Engined drive...
whereas FC, FD are models of Mazda's RX-7s..
opps here say liao... paiseh never see....Originally posted by KhidMasAE86:yeah bro. your right! regarding porsche, the boxter i saw the engine at the back. i suppose its a Midship. 911 is RR yup.
Er, Heng, I believe the SLR is front-engined.Originally posted by HENG@:opps here say liao... paiseh never see....
anyway... the new Mercedes McLaren SLR is MR
yes its front engined, but the engine block is positioned behind the front axle, as such, it qualifies as a MR car... any car is mid engined as long as the engine block is bewteen the front n rear axle.Originally posted by Gedanken:Er, Heng, I believe the SLR is front-engined.
Anyway, for the Porsches, they have been steadily moving the engine block forward over successive models, but it wasn't until about three or four years ago that the engine's centre of gravity actually was placed ahead of the rear axle.
same as S2000 lorOriginally posted by HENG@:yes its front engined, but the engine block is positioned behind the front axle, as such, it qualifies as a MR car... any car is mid engined as long as the engine block is bewteen the front n rear axle.
NA...???Originally posted by tsubi:all so expert.. then tell me what is NA?
Depends on the angle from which you're looking at it - Jürgen Hubbert says it's front-engined, but Gordon Murray says it's mid-engined. Personally, I say it looks pretty gruesome - I've always preferred the cab-forward layout like in the Mac F1.Originally posted by HENG@:yes its front engined, but the engine block is positioned behind the front axle, as such, it qualifies as a MR car... any car is mid engined as long as the engine block is bewteen the front n rear axle.
Originally posted by GHoST_18:NA...???
NA = Not Available...???![]()
remember...gordon murray designed the car so he should know better...he's one of the best designers in the world....pity tt he decided 2 leave the GP scene....actually front Mid-engined is better...wun have sudden snap oversteer...tts wad i thinkOriginally posted by Gedanken:Depends on the angle from which you're looking at it - Jürgen Hubbert says it's front-engined, but Gordon Murray says it's mid-engined. Personally, I say it looks pretty gruesome - I've always preferred the cab-forward layout like in the Mac F1.
wad else do u expect....anything designed by gordon murray looks good and it's fastOriginally posted by HENG@:gosh i love both the McLaren f1 and the new SLR... gorgeous, both of them.