Dun pump 95 lar....the mileage sucks compared to 98....98 is Definitely the way to goOriginally posted by enginboi:hello people, wonder what petrol do you all use? i used to use shell v power, but now the petrol price goes up, v power 1 litre for $1.50!!! so ex right....so changed to 95 instead. but its not so powerful la. so what petrol do you all use? what do you all think is the best power vs value petrol?
recently just changed from nissan 1.5 manual to matrix 1.6 auto, wah kao, the new car eat petrol like water like that....thou i din really take note of how many km per litre la....and the engine also like no power. anyone got similar experience?
Anyway shall we post updates on petrol price and discount in this thread often? like which petrol station at where got discount??? i know the shell at queensway(not the one opp ikea) got 10% off now. i know to some of the big tow kay here petrol money seems trival, but to poor student like me can save is best la.....hope you all can suppot support!!!! thanks
no leh, i find that i can get 620km on a full tank with 95.. never had that experience with 98Originally posted by AE86tofu:Dun pump 95 lar....the mileage sucks compared to 98....98 is Definitely the way to go
hmmm.. what do you mean by rev up your car once in a while???Originally posted by dansplace:According to my friends at Shell, Forumla 98 is good enough for most cars (even performance cars). V-power is a marketing gimmick - just ensure that your engine oil suits the car that you are driving, make sure you rev your car once in a while to get rid of the carbon build up, go for your regular inspection - things should be ok.
is it? okok...i will try...cos i find v power really ridiculously expensive, so now trying out 95 and 98 to compare the performance and mileage efficiency. but i think if drive auto car you can't feel much power diff between v power and 95, unlike manual car. thaks alot anyway!!!Originally posted by AE86tofu:Dun pump 95 lar....the mileage sucks compared to 98....98 is Definitely the way to go
oh...he drive auto or manual ah? did he complain that auto seems really no power. i m not one that is hungry for speed la....but find its acceleration not so good. Anyone here that drive auto got similar experience? like when u wan it to accelerate but it just slow slow pick up.Originally posted by my_name_is_Natasha:my friend's matrix oso got drunk on petrol... but he go malaysia to pump i using 98
cos auto uses a toqrue converter...which results in 10% power loss and furthermore...its heavier than manual and the gear ratios are taller as there are 4 gears only(for most auto cars except high performance auto gearbox) everything results in thisOriginally posted by enginboi:oh...he drive auto or manual ah? did he complain that auto seems really no power. i m not one that is hungry for speed la....but find its acceleration not so good. Anyone here that drive auto got similar experience? like when u wan it to accelerate but it just slow slow pick up.
V-power - bad for your car engine? Please enlighten.Originally posted by Danisdead101times:i use 98...but once in a blue moon i will use V-power to clear carbon...don't always use V-power,bad for your car engine for long trm use...
The engine oil will breakdown after a while, resulting in carbon deposits on your pistons and your valves. If one drives at low speeds (especially so in automatic cars), the engine oil usually does not get hot enough to burn off the deposits.Originally posted by shanhz:hmmm.. what do you mean by rev up your car once in a while???
whew!!! think it sounds too adventurous for me.. can't imagine running at 2nd gear for 2 min at 100km/hr.. think i'll prefer my good old 5th gear..Originally posted by dansplace:The engine oil will breakdown after a while, resulting in carbon deposits on your pistons and your valves. If one drives at low speeds (especially so in automatic cars), the engine oil usually does not get hot enough to burn off the deposits.
A cure can sometimes be to carefully run an otherwise good engine hard so it gets hot enough to burn the excess carbon deposits off the piston crowns, clean the valve faces and blast deposits off the spark plugs, fuel injector nozzles and oxygen sensor and at the same time boil any lingering water out of the oil.
Found a website to tell you more about what is known as the "Italian Tune Up".
http://www.members.tripod.com/~fuelie/tuneup.htm
Hope this is helpful. Drive safe!
my own logic (yeah, my own only.. dun quote me if it's wrong!!) is that since v-power has a detergent content, it's good to clean up your engine, but after your engine is real clean, it starts to 'eat into' the good parts as well, eg: pistons?? etc..Originally posted by dansplace:V-power - bad for your car engine? Please enlighten.
he drives auto version.... dunno about picking up coz never ask le.... I only know if he never go JB, his petrol 200+++ per month.Originally posted by enginboi:oh...he drive auto or manual ah? did he complain that auto seems really no power. i m not one that is hungry for speed la....but find its acceleration not so good. Anyone here that drive auto got similar experience? like when u wan it to accelerate but it just slow slow pick up.
wa. just calculated.....my matrix runs about 369km using 39 litres of shell 95. thats just about 9plus km/litre. so low right?? is this normal? or should i bring it to the service centre to ask them? not as if i m driving a mpv or suv. it seems too low alreadyOriginally posted by ontrack:I used to pump 95.Now I've changed to 98.
But I must admit that the difference is barely noticeable.