i m torn betw honda city and vios...Originally posted by Ah Wei:Wuming is a Honda City fan, heh.........
I am just like you, the rarer species. If given a choice, I'll go for a city instead of Vios.
But heard many good reviews on Vios.
I go for the city cos of the honda badge. Partially also cos I'm driving a Honda now.
no no .. the coe is not dropping.. with the arf cut coming, coe is likely to rise more than anything.Originally posted by STiYaKuzA:wah siao... city design look like crap(but better than corolla)no offence to toyota fans ah... but quite impressive for the 1.5l vios to produce 110 hp. now the 1.6 civic also same hp, looks also improve frm the older one. hey y not u try the civic leh? now the news say the coe dunno drop by how much, so now prefably the time to change car.
think of it, vios is cheaper but it has all the accesories the honda city dun provide. if u dun mind abt the space, go for vios.. its not that small anywayOriginally posted by wuming78:i m torn betw honda city and vios...
vios is nicer on the outside, but has less space inside.
city - controversial looks (i personally find it ok. think it looks like a bullet), but more space inside.
both are comparable otherwise. vios is slightly cheaper.
so how??? tts y i keep going ard asking ppl for their opinions on the 2.![]()
wat accessories?Originally posted by tkc_76:think of it, vios is cheaper but it has all the accesories the honda city dun provide. if u dun mind abt the space, go for vios.. its not that small anyway
I test drived both the VIOS and City, and booked the City without regrets.Originally posted by wuming78:i m torn betw honda city and vios...
vios is nicer on the outside, but has less space inside.
city - controversial looks (i personally find it ok. think it looks like a bullet), but more space inside.
both are comparable otherwise. vios is slightly cheaper.
so how??? tts y i keep going ard asking ppl for their opinions on the 2.![]()
Originally posted by stealthguy:wow. thanks!
I test drived both the VIOS and City, and booked the City without regrets.
[b]Good points of City
Larger boot, 500 litres compared to 400 for VIOS, one reason is the City moved the fuel tank from the rear to the centre of the car.
Rear seatpan fold upwards to allow floor to transport tall objects. Rear backrest fold down to enlarge boot. VIOS has fixed, non-adjustable rear seats.
City has better acceleration at low speed. But the top speed is not tested because the PIE is crowded.
City has more shoulder room. The VIOS is cramped for 3 adults. I can testify to this because my wife, father-in-law and myself sat in the same position in both cars to compare.
City has smaller floor hump behind, so the middle passenger don't have to spread his legs open when seated
City has automatic transmission with 7-gear manual overide on steering wheel. I can switch between Auto and manual anytime. It's like controlling a fly-by-wire F-16 on wheels.
City instrument panel is directly in front of driver, which is the most natural position. VIOS (and even the Matrix) has a "state-of-the-art" centre-located dials. But it is unnatural and causes giddiness. Ask Shumacher if he likes it when travelling at 250 kph. The designers ought to be sacked.
Negative Points of City
City is "ugly" to some ppl. But I feel that this makes the car stand out from the crowd. If it's a Toyota, I have to remember both the color and number plate in order tofind it in the car park.
Like most cars, City's CVT engine uses a rubber timing belt which have a life of 80,000 km (2 years). VIOS uses a metal timing chain, which can last for 20 years (or forever).
City baseline model comes with little accessories, which is Kah Motor's fault. Eg. 10-CD player (useless piece of boot hogging gimmick) and a cassette player, inherited from the musuem. But the salesman told me that the City owner can easily install VIOS' accessories, but the VIOS can never be like the City.
so it means the rubber timing belt has to be changed every 2 yrs? how much does it cost?Originally posted by wuming78:wow. thanks!
so it means the rubber timing belt has to be changed every 2 yrs? how much does it cost?
and u mean when u buy the city, it comes wif a 10-cd player + a cassetter player? or not?
Originally posted by stealthguy:oh and one more thing, u mentioned its a auto gear tt allows switching to manual anytime. does this mean there is no manual version of city? and its possible to drive it at manual all the time, switching to auto only when i like?
so it means the rubber timing belt has to be changed every 2 yrs? how much does it cost?
[b]I've not seen the manual yet, but most cars is around 80,000km. 2 years is assuming 40,000 km of driving per year, which is for those who travel a lot. Don't know the cost of timing belt, but should be around $500
and u mean when u buy the city, it comes wif a 10-cd player + a cassetter player? or not?
Yes, 10-CD player inside boot plus cassette player on dashboard. I generously gave up the CD player and trade in my cassette player for a single CD player. I also managed to bargained for sports rim, leather seat and remote alarm (VIOS comes with all these). More details are found in www.honda.com.sg under pricelist.
This web-site is not as informative compared to the Thai or Malaysia Honda dealers such www.hondacity4u.com or www.honda.net.my.
Four versions:Originally posted by wuming78:oh and one more thing, u mentioned its a auto gear tt allows switching to manual anytime. does this mean there is no manual version of city? and its possible to drive it at manual all the time, switching to auto only when i like?
if auto i-dsi can switch to manual, den hm.. y would anyone wan to buy manual i-dsi? u noe the price diff betw the 2?Originally posted by stealthguy:Four versions:
Manual i-DSI
Auto iDSI (I booked this one)
Manual V-TEC
Auto V-TEC
Forward manual driving is possible using the auto-transmission. But manual mode has no reverse gear.
Kah salesman claimed that the fuel consumption for City (auto iDSI engine) is 16 km/litre, (city+highway driving). The VIOS is only 12 km/litre. I will not believe this until I start driving. But it's a comforting thought.
Price of Auto iDSI is now $66000, while the manual is $2,000 lower.Originally posted by wuming78:if auto i-dsi can switch to manual, den hm.. y would anyone wan to buy manual i-dsi? u noe the price diff betw the 2?
thanks man!Originally posted by stealthguy:Price of Auto iDSI is now $66000, while the manual is $2,000 lower.
I've been wondering about Kah Motor's sales strategy... They don't seem to doing much to promote the City... or want to.
When I went round shopping for cars, Honda was my last stop. I nearly booked a VIOS if not for the long delivery in May 2004. I decided to check out the Honda City only after my colleague mentioned something nice about its foldable seating. (I decided to book the City even when the delivery is in June 2004.)
Compared to the more expensive Civic or even the Accord, the City has far more technology and features. It even won the Car of the Year in India in 2004 (check out from Googles). I suspect that Kah Motor rather sell their expensive models to have a higher profit margin.
Give more publicity, I believe that the City will dethrone Altis and Vios as the most popular car in Singapore.