heng: really? hm....think i should get one for myself already...how should i contact them?Originally posted by HENG@:yes of course.
i have one.
well the 1st thing u gotta do is to become a SMSA member. once that is done, u have to demonstrate to them you have the necessary skills to be a racing driver b4 u can get your raing licence
there is no course. u get a vehicle, u practice, and while u practice over time, people who are around keep an eye on you, note your performance and skill levels, and when u apply, they will judge your performance during your practice sessions and decide what to issue you. there is no formal course to go thru.Originally posted by Theatre Of Dreams:how much does it take to go thru the course?
cost, time?
so gotta get a car of racing capabilities yet is road legal? hmmm then how can the licence broaden up my scope? able to take part in various professional races? thanks.Originally posted by HENG@:there is no course. u get a vehicle, u practice, and while u practice over time, people who are around keep an eye on you, note your performance and skill levels, and when u apply, they will judge your performance during your practice sessions and decide what to issue you. there is no formal course to go thru.
hello i think u can go play all u want with your friends lah huh? ppl asking about how to take part in official competitions. wu li eh dai ji ah? i can race i got racing licence u not happy ah? u go and concentrate on racing your pansy friends and stop spreading disinformation here lah.Originally posted by Goodeal:Stop dreaming...
you dont need any racing licence to race.
not that i look down on anyone, not to mention skill but i think not many of you here are physically fit to be racing drivers.
get yourself any car and get down to PG share the cost with friends and rent the circuit to race.
[email protected] offence but i think you should focus on your class 3 first.
yah no one ever said motorsports is cheapOriginally posted by LH83:There is a cost... You need to be able to afford a car... sheesh... that's already a very huge hurdle...
to become an SMSA member will cost u $100Originally posted by ah boi:how much is it 2 become a member.. thinking of joining..
ok if u do not want to take up go karting, the alternative is to start in cars. a good place to start is in autotests. an autotest is like a sort of rally, where u need to drive a fixed course around cones placed on the ground. autotests are good starting grounds because there are many diff classifications of cars, which include classes for stock, showroom spec cars. If u have a car already, it should be ok to use it for autotests. do get the 2004 rule book from SMSA and read thru it, noting what is allowed for stock classes and what is not.Originally posted by Theatre Of Dreams:so gotta get a car of racing capabilities yet is road legal? hmmm then how can the licence broaden up my scope? able to take part in various professional races? thanks.
by no accounts should u ever associate Initial D Arcade Stage to real racing. That game is simply too unrealistic to be compared to racing in real life. The threories learnt there, are mostly not ture, with the exception of the in out in rule. To us, that rule is simply a small part of the topic we call racing line.Originally posted by LH83:Thanks for the info Heng@... but where in Singapore can you find go karting? Not many places I know... Heard only of the ones held in Kallang car park... other then that, don't really know...
Although I've read up on driving techniques and stuff, I think I'm still a newbie... cos most info I get is from going to Initial D forums... hee... The out-in-out rule... heel-toe... all ID... hee.. so I'm still very green... Yup... that's me... a newbie with a P-plate.. hee...
by the way, there is no heel and toe in Initial D. to be able to do that u must have a manual clutch to operate and a H box. i think whatever it is in initial D, its been mistakenly called heel and toe by those wannabes who do not know what the hell heel and toe is. and thats why i recommend anyone who really wants to start taking racing seriously to try and give up Initial D. once in awhile is ok. playing it often is not. awhile back, when i was actively playing initial D, my lap times in real life actually got worse. ever since i stopped, my timing has gotten better again. in fact last weekend i set a new personal best. so my advice is, initial D is not for people who want to race for real.Originally posted by LH83:Thanks for the info Heng@... but where in Singapore can you find go karting? Not many places I know... Heard only of the ones held in Kallang car park... other then that, don't really know...
Although I've read up on driving techniques and stuff, I think I'm still a newbie... cos most info I get is from going to Initial D forums... hee... The out-in-out rule... heel-toe... all ID... hee.. so I'm still very green... Yup... that's me... a newbie with a P-plate.. hee...
Originally posted by HENG@:ok if u do not want to take up go karting, the alternative is to start in cars. a good place to start is in autotests. an autotest is like a sort of rally, where u need to drive a fixed course around cones placed on the ground. autotests are good starting grounds because there are many diff classifications of cars, which include classes for stock, showroom spec cars. If u have a car already, it should be ok to use it for autotests. do get the 2004 rule book from SMSA and read thru it, noting what is allowed for stock classes and what is not.
the licence does not broaden your scope. having one does not make u skillful suddenly overnight. in fact, the only reason that u get one is because it is already determined that u are skillful enough to own a racing licence, which is why it has been issued to you.
so with a official FIA licence(issued thru SMSA), you will be able to take part in events, either national or international, depending on your licence class. eg. my licence class is International Senior C. that allows me to race in the advanced class races worldwide.
npOriginally posted by Theatre Of Dreams:thanks man for this info
practice is practice liao la. unless u talk about street racing, even if u rent the circuit and race against your friends, it is still only a practice and not a race. Usually we call is sparring. yes it looks like racing, but it is not. no rules, no marshallers, no procedures, class limitations, scrutineering, how can it be called a race?Originally posted by jiayong:maybe he meant toe and heel from the cartoon?
Racing is all practise lah. but to officially take part in local rallies then u will need to sign up for the license la.
Personally la, i think that practising for the license not impt la..
just get a car to go PG and try the track yourself and play for fun. Also discuss with those experts all thevarious driving techniques and get to know your car better than u are already on your way to become a racer already.
Then if u are really good already, and u just want to join rallies, then jsut go smsa and challenge them lorr...beat them flat they also bo pian have to give u mah..hee hee.![]()
no harm intended.
Hmm... racing license sounds so expensive, rich men's game, like golf. I guess I have to give up on tat idea, just stand 1 side and watch pple drive at kallang and collect freebies. There goes my dream. T_T How much can Boo do in a goo? Thanks for the info Heng@.Originally posted by HENG@:yah no one ever said motorsports is cheap
the cheapest form of it is go karts. i'd recommend it as it teaches u the purest of racing skills and hones your reflexes in more ways than simply driving a sports car like a WRX and EVO can. This is the basic building block of learning how to race. Many of the world's top racing stars all started out in go karts. many people think driving sports cars is enuf, but to be better, u 1st have to get your basics right, and people who simply pooh pooh karting as a serious form of motorsports, are the ones who cannot face up to the fact that they lack the most necessary and basic skills needed to race and thus they are much lousier drivers than they think they are.
so if u would like to start, take u go karting. it helps more than you could ever imagine.
i was thinking too if any car wld do... i'm starting to have some interest...Originally posted by KhidMasAE86:@heng...the license...you said need to get a car...any car will do is it?