Over at malaysia it is almost like legal to change the engine.... Somemore the TP there exist in their own world.... Dun really care about anything.... I ever seen one proton mod till like WRX..... for the proton cup.... If even you see a malaysian driving a Civic better dun play play.... cos that one most likely will have a 1.8 litre inside....Originally posted by GuoJing:I heard lots of my frens share their stories that malaysia drivers can beat Singapore ah beng or chiong drivers Benz SLK , Subaru WRX or Modified CIVic with their home made modified proton.
Don know much about these.. but hope to hear some facts, stories or experience about it.![]()
car is impt when both drivers are of the same skill level.Originally posted by bo liao:saw a wira "tiak" a sg celica at permas jaya....the sg celica got 3 defi guage but in te malaysia wira only got the autoguage guages....but its the boost guage...some malaysia car really cannot play lah...somehow i wish if sg law is lik malaysia...lolx
yeah agree about the moving left part. noticed it on the way up there. i thought it was a really nice thing of them to doOriginally posted by choppers:common... they modified their engines but at least in their expressway.. if u close in on them on the right lane.. they at least will let u go by switching to the left.. they are more courteous than sg drivers... sg drivers are more arrogant... trust me.. or at least i felt that way... i mean i am a sg driver too and in australia... same thign happen .. they will just let you go 1st if you rush for time.. dun seem to happen in singapore.. if u close in on sg driver.. they tot you jioing them... so funny....
Yeah man i second that .. so what it one have a big Evo 7 and have no guts and skillz? I took and evo at the cause way point corner swept him nice and proper with my sunny vip (auto) .... he and i cheong then reaching the corner he brake damn hard ... and sweep the corner wide narrow wide ... i took the outer line with just off-ing my O/D to drop gear .... in the end i passed him smoothly ... he LL behind ... somemore alone and looks Ah bengOriginally posted by HENG@:2 things.
its not just the car, its the driver too
for the driver, its not just the skill.... they're crazy too!
That is so true about SINGAPORE drivers, they love to hog the right lane and travel at their own sweet pace.Originally posted by choppers:common... they modified their engines but at least in their expressway.. if u close in on them on the right lane.. they at least will let u go by switching to the left.. they are more courteous than sg drivers... sg drivers are more arrogant... trust me.. or at least i felt that way... i mean i am a sg driver too and in australia... same thign happen .. they will just let you go 1st if you rush for time.. dun seem to happen in singapore.. if u close in on sg driver.. they tot you jioing them... so funny....
same happened to me in a older model city and a ITR... the left hander on the flyover from clementi road to upper bukit timah rd... and that was my 1st on the road lesson! (im still L plate now)Originally posted by johncooper:Yeah man i second that .. so what it one have a big Evo 7 and have no guts and skillz? I took and evo at the cause way point corner swept him nice and proper with my sunny vip (auto) .... he and i cheong then reaching the corner he brake damn hard ... and sweep the corner wide narrow wide ... i took the outer line with just off-ing my O/D to drop gear .... in the end i passed him smoothly ... he LL behind ... somemore alone and looks Ah beng
so skills is Impt .... other then drag racing ... that one need power any Tom, Dick or Harry can do it ...
Damn he is fast dude.... corner at 160km/h....... average people is ard 120-140 in steep cornering..... hahah my turtle rex is 20km/h in corners.... heheheh.... lucky there was no girl inside orelse.... she will scream like siao ......Originally posted by HENG@:car is impt when both drivers are of the same skill level.
when its not, it may be less of a factor. last month on my way up to kota baru in my coach's car, basically he was "tiak"ing all those protons and whatnots, modded or otherwise, at 160km/h. in a Clio 1.4l. and u know where he's losing everyone else? in the corners, because he's taking them at 160km/h as well.
so fast that a friend of mine along for the ride threw up in the back.
Damn his car is a full mod lancer lar....Originally posted by johncooper:Yeah man i second that .. so what it one have a big Evo 7 and have no guts and skillz? I took and evo at the cause way point corner swept him nice and proper with my sunny vip (auto) .... he and i cheong then reaching the corner he brake damn hard ... and sweep the corner wide narrow wide ... i took the outer line with just off-ing my O/D to drop gear .... in the end i passed him smoothly ... he LL behind ... somemore alone and looks Ah beng
Wow your instructor let you drive till so far ?? the last time I only in Bukit Batok only.... ??? L plate car... win a ITR??? he muz be very sad....Originally posted by HENG@:same happened to me in a older model city and a ITR... the left hander on the flyover from clementi road to upper bukit timah rd... and that was my 1st on the road lesson! (im still L plate now)
but aye... less of this is better... realised its rather foolish of me to do that... be safe on the roads.
this dude is my racing coach yeah? he's honed his racing skills in karts for over 10 years now.Originally posted by Praetorian111:Damn he is fast dude.... corner at 160km/h....... average people is ard 120-140 in steep cornering..... hahah my turtle rex is 20km/h in corners.... heheheh.... lucky there was no girl inside orelse.... she will scream like siao ......
well that guy din dare to corner fast... i didn't even go past 70 for the corner becos my instructor set the limit at 70 for me.Originally posted by Praetorian111:Wow your instructor let you drive till so far ?? the last time I only in Bukit Batok only.... ??? L plate car... win a ITR??? he muz be very sad....![]()
cornering at 160km/h? what type of corner? highway?Originally posted by HENG@:car is impt when both drivers are of the same skill level.
when its not, it may be less of a factor. last month on my way up to kota baru in my coach's car, basically he was "tiak"ing all those protons and whatnots, modded or otherwise, at 160km/h. in a Clio 1.4l. and u know where he's losing everyone else? in the corners, because he's taking them at 160km/h as well.
so fast that a friend of mine along for the ride threw up in the back.
he went "hmmpppfffh" and i'm like 'what ya sayin'? can't hear ya"
"mppppgghhffftttthhh!"
"what? quit mumblin'!"
"MMMPPPPHHHHFFFTTHH!!!!!!!"
"WTF??? I CAN'T UNDERSTAND U!!!"
*PUKKKEEEEEE* *SPLASH!!!!*
thats when i realised..... ohhhhhh gawdddd....
boy did it stink.![]()
not highwayOriginally posted by eutjin:cornering at 160km/h? what type of corner? highway?
if it's an old road, 160km/h will be hell of fast. fastest cornering i've done on those old roads is about 130km/h. have to see the corner for myself to judge whether your coach is a nut case or not
to comment on this topic, msian drivers just have more chance to try out their cars. in singapore ..... try stunts like those in msia and risk your license. thus, it's not that you guys can't do it, just lack the practice (speaking of majority of course).
the car does make a difference, but experience still shines cause driving fast is all about making split second decisions right .... think for half a second more, and you end up in a messy situation
and yes, those wiras do have monsters in them. coupled with the lightweight original wira shell, makes it possible to outrun an Evo in straight(?) - never seen this happen cause few in msia would bother to fork out over RM300K for an Evo
excellent! hats off to him, as i'm pretty familiar with the type of roads you are talking about. overtaking with lil' room to spare, that's what i call a real adrenalin rushOriginally posted by HENG@:not highway
they were driving on those principal roads where there is a lane for each direction, somewhere down the central hilly part of the malaysian pennisular. trust me those were damn sharp corners. somemore the roads were having some roadworks done so many parts, we were on detour routes... which sucked. rather old roads them. tyres were actually screeching, and we wore the tyres out.
yeah... hats off to him indeed. it was fun ridin' with him.Originally posted by eutjin:excellent! hats off to him, as i'm pretty familiar with the type of roads you are talking about. overtaking with lil' room to spare, that's what i call a real adrenalin rush
i hate it when ppl say they drive fast like hell, and then when you probe further, it's actually straight line sprinting. goodness, any fool can drive fast in a straight line
speed doesn't always count ..... it's speed in the correct places. eg: 140km/h doesn't seem fast, but when done in a highway where traffic is slightly heavy and everyone else is driving at 80km/h, weaving in and out of traffic at that speed is no laughing matter
well, that's the practice ground msian drivers have, apart from the roads HENG@ has mentioned