Hey all, do not scare him leh. I drove up to those places before in my new Lancer and not as scary as what you all said! To me, think it should be the skill of driving that count. As for the security, just get one steering wheel lock and it will solve your worry.Originally posted by my_name_is_Natasha:if you are driving yr brand new lancer with SF* plate to malaysia.... good luck, tell us when, we will pray beri hard for you... maybe start a thread to pray for yr car....![]()
Why not go and buy a steering wheel lock shope like a baseball bat. Can lock car and also for self defense.Originally posted by Subbx:Not say scaring him or what, but it's really quite serious.
First, your car must be "more fierce" than theirs, else stuck forever in traffic. Then lock the car doors even in car. If anyone gets down to exchange $ or anything, dun park at those ulu car parks, best stop by main road and conciously lock car even if short while. Then also dun drive new car in lor. Later tio scratch/ravaged/stolen thenYou want the excitement of driving beyond SG is okie, but dun risk your new car, really not worth it. The TP of M'sia will also esp. aim your car.
Lastly, this is what my family does: place a baseball bat within easy reach if you want bring new car in, like the rear seats, NOT the boot.
Hope this helps![]()
If the figures is change to Merc being first.... lancer being second.... u think will singaporean ever drive into Malaysia in the first pl?? Stats figures may be rather deceiving.... wira is the highest in the list primary becos of the fact that it is the most popular car over the other side of the causeway....Originally posted by Sir_Horny:dun worry so much if u drive lancer....according to Malaysian 2003 stolen cars statistic wira is the highest munber of car stolen
1) wira
2) unser
3) kancil
4) waja
5) iswara
anyway if u drive along highway at night, do look out for pontianak
u make a simple thing like driving into malaysia for a relaxing afternoon sound like a drive into a battlezone.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Aquire those fancy anti carjacking systems that stuns anybody who tries to gain unauthorized entry to your car with thousands of volts of electricity or fries them with side mounted propane flamethrowers... nobody will dare touch you man...
Also, mounting caltrop, slick oil and smoke grenade dispensers isn't such a bad idea, and don't forget to armour your car with ballastic fabric and bulletproof, safety glass.
hahaha but better be safe then sorry....Originally posted by bmw_lover:u make a simple thing like driving into malaysia for a relaxing afternoon sound like a drive into a battlezone.![]()
Thanks for that advice! Anyway, it fits into my personal conviction about bribing tooOriginally posted by zhaozhilong:I'm Malaysian. Here's my advice.
Don't offer bribe. Especially if you have a singapore number plate (they hold a grudge against you, don't you think?). Now is the transition period in Malaysian politics. You might become a scapegoat to be sacrificed in the police's campaign to rid themselves off the "dirty" image. The new PM (Abdullah) seems intent on setting things straight, or at least trying to put up an image of anti-corruption. If they press charges against you for attempted bribing, you will most likely go to jail as I believe that it is a criminal offense.
And yes ALWAYS lock your car, no matter what. At secluded places (for ex. highways), don't stop for "freak" minor accidents (for example, bumping into the backside of the car in front which breaked suddenly, or the car behind bumping into your backside). There are quite a number of car-jacking gangs (MOSTLY young Indians in groups of 3 or 4 persons) that purposely create accidents, so that you stop and come out and they can rob you. No kidding. People have been killed/murdered in such incidents. Be smart. Take note of who are the people in the other car before you alight. When in doubt, go to the nearest police station or call 999.
Thanks bro! I understand the reasons for 3 - 7, but can u explain why park heads in and turn the steering? Pardon me for the ignorance...Originally posted by johncooper:Hey bro here are some advice which helps me to keep my car from almost being jacked ...
As i told Choppers in the previous thread;
1. Always park heads in (esp got wall even better)
2. Turn your steering full lock left or right when off engine
3. Always keep your car in sight when makaning or stop overs
4. (not advisable but up to you) Bring a baseball bat or something close
5. Never park away from crowds
6. If your alarm goes off slience it AT ONCE to tell the thief that you are around if not .. there goes your car
7. If you are intending to get a saftey lock, invest in a pad lock to lock the steering lock also (you'll figure out how to)
Well thats all i can help with ... hope it is useful to you
Ok there was once a period of time they use tow away trucks to tow away your car in the broad day light ... it almost happen to my friend ... and i heard is in trend again ... so if you park heads in .. chances of being tow away is little + if you keep full lock left or right .. they will take a long time to get it back stright to tow it away again ....Originally posted by dustearth:Thanks bro! I understand the reasons for 3 - 7, but can u explain why park heads in and turn the steering? Pardon me for the ignorance...![]()