eh, not really. mine dun use handbrakes also can.Originally posted by jiayong:some can hold a drift longer and with more ease.
some cannot...can only drift short distances with the use of handbrakes.
to be precise, a FR/MR/RR car tends to oversteer. an FF and some 4WDs tend to understeer. how ur car behave is directly linked to the drivers response in a weight transfer situation (ie in a corner) as well as the natural characteristics of the car.Originally posted by Reutral:Rear wheel drive cars would be better for drifting as it oversteers comparing to Front wheel drive cars which understeers.
Proper LSD is also needed.
DUN EVEN TINK ABOUT IT ON A PUBLIC ROAD !!Originally posted by digicharat:can all cars do drifting?
You mastered dynamic/power drifting har? Even the drift king of Japan don't dare to claim number 2.Originally posted by tailslide:eh, not really. mine dun use handbrakes also can.![]()
sorry to hear that...but tough luck...wrong place at the wrong time...Originally posted by Troy437:DUN EVEN TINK ABOUT IT ON A PUBLIC ROAD !!
why must drift? I was hit by a farking car driver who tried some drifting stunt and shattered my shin bone...ccb.....insurance pay aso no use..now right leg shorter for life.
Drift oredi got ppl clap anot? kenna accident curse ur forefathers 18 generation...
Why drift and wear our ur tyres early then tyres botak must change b4 inspection?
Wan to drift big time? heavy rain time run thru a puddle of water at 110km/h++ and pull handbrake..drift plus hydro planning (aqua effect)..hopes it kills me to serve as a warning to others...thats the way I tried to end my life when I found that i had to walk like a cripple with a shorter right leg for the rest of my life...lost my sports life and now end up working with gals in an office jobs.....knn
that sucks....Originally posted by tailslide:to be precise, a FR/MR/RR car tends to oversteer. an FF and some 4WDs tend to understeer. how ur car behave is directly linked to the drivers response in a weight transfer situation (ie in a corner) as well as the natural characteristics of the car.
LSD is actually not ideal for drifting as it helps in the torque transfer when it senses a slip in any one wheel. in drifting, the wheels need to lose grip/ slip in order to do a drift, so having the LSD would require more skill (and balls) to make a car drift.![]()
I think mine need handbrakes in order to drift.... almost impossible to do it..... Nv try be4... maybe if I try u will see a topple turtle....Originally posted by tailslide:eh, not really. mine dun use handbrakes also can.![]()
dun need so chim lah, juz go fast enough and drop gear before entering the corner without doing heel-toe and turn sharply. the tail confirm come loose.Originally posted by ditzy:You mastered dynamic/power drifting har? Even the drift king of Japan don't dare to claim number 2.![]()

why is drifting slower than a normal turn at a corner?Originally posted by HENG@:yes all cars can drift. but drifting is for showmanship purposes only. when i do it, i do it for fun. during races we try to eliminate any drifting because it wears out tyres faster and is a very slow way to corner. on the roads, pls dun do it, because, like i said, its dangerous. for all drift fans, do check out the D1 drift series, where the competitiors drift on specially prepared circuits, and are judged on style and not speed.
Its seems slower, but the entry and exit in and out of a corner is the minimal loss of power. Meaning you can accelerate out faster than a normal turn.Originally posted by bmw_lover:why is drifting slower than a normal turn at a corner?
nope. u can't. when you're sliding sideways, against the direction the tyres and wheels are meant to rotate, u're generating more friction, u need more time to catch the slide, and straighten out before u can start accel, and u are also wasting power since its not transmitted cleanly to the ground.Originally posted by ditzy:Its seems slower, but the entry and exit in and out of a corner is the minimal loss of power. Meaning you can accelerate out faster than a normal turn.
simple. u're not making physics work for you. think about it, why don't u see Formula 1 cars drifting? unless you have a very loose surface, or a very very sharp corner, usually, even WRC cars tend to minimise drifting. the only time when drifting helps u corner faster is on entry, and even then, only very slight oversteer. the slight oversteer is to help orientate the car for the exit as early as possible, hence an early accel as much as possible, at a speed higher than possible. the driver would have to catch the oversteer even before it has really started because that little bit is all it takes to orientate your car properly. once its orientated, anymore sliding or drifting would be a waste of power and time, instead, once the oversteer has been caught, start accel smoothly out of the corner.Originally posted by bmw_lover:why is drifting slower than a normal turn at a corner?
yes. like i said, for very sharp corners n loose surfaces. tarmac rallies have less drifting n sliding. mostly in very sharp hairpins.Originally posted by tailslide:the reverse is true for WRC races, somehow, all that drifting actually resulted in faster times as compared if the cars were slowing down and taking lines for each turn.