I guess u mean the City, Civics and the Jazz.. Yes all along disc brakes are reserved for the higher end model car. But now Totoya has changed the game rule by installing disc brakes in all it model lineup. Like yourself, when you are buying a car, you starts to consider all this factor.Originally posted by MCCM:hi guys...recently discovered that the newer hondas still comes with rear drum brakes...i was tinking now 2004 liao leh how come not front and back full disc brakes...wanted to noe wat the difference between disc and drum brakes...the pros and cons...juz curious like to noe more...anyone here can give some comments??![]()
olso hor... When you change your Brake pads (from Disc brake) 3 times, then you need to service your drum brakes 1 time.Originally posted by MCCM:hi guys...recently discovered that the newer hondas still comes with rear drum brakes...i was tinking now 2004 liao leh how come not front and back full disc brakes...wanted to noe wat the difference between disc and drum brakes...the pros and cons...juz curious like to noe more...anyone here can give some comments??![]()
Originally posted by Praetorian111:I dun see anything gd abt having 4 disc for any cars less than 1.6L..... as the front brakes are the ones functioning to do the work.. the rear ones are mainly supporting the action so as to keep the car stable when u are braking.....
For function of a handbrake nowadays is nothing more than a parking brakes.... unless u are toking abt performance cars.... or having a cable connected to ur handbrakes.... But i dun think drums brakes are better in performancing handbrakes turns....Originally posted by LCL:For Handbrake Turns, Drum brakes are better.
Anyway, well said. Doesnt mean all 4 disc brakes are better etc. Usually the Front are the ones working overtime.
Drum break is mainly for parking. Disc Breaking is good because it got the help from ABS mean anti-lock braking systems help you break better if you dont have an ABS in your car acident is likly to be higher if you are driving a car without ABSOriginally posted by MCCM:hi guys...recently discovered that the newer hondas still comes with rear drum brakes...i was tinking now 2004 liao leh how come not front and back full disc brakes...wanted to noe wat the difference between disc and drum brakes...the pros and cons...juz curious like to noe more...anyone here can give some comments??![]()
??? No lar.... it is handbrakes the takes on the function of parking brakes.....Originally posted by boa4evermike:Drum break is mainly for parking. Disc Breaking is good because it got the help from ABS mean anti-lock braking systems help you break better if you dont have an ABS in your car acident is likly to be higher if you are driving a car without ABS![]()
who me??Originally posted by 2004Lancer:DON'T BLUFF LA!!! kakakakaaaaa
eh? not all 4 disk systems come equipped with ABS hor. in fact i personally feel that ABS is a hindrance to the braking performance of the car. in all race prepped cars, u'll never find ABS. this is because ABS prevents u from doing limit braking at the last min juz as the wheels are locking up. the ABS will activate way before that happens and the car is not stopping within the shortest possible time. ABS is juz a assistant for the average driver who tends to panic when the brakes lock up under hard breaking by not allowing the brakes to lock up.Originally posted by boa4evermike:Drum break is mainly for parking. Disc Breaking is good because it got the help from ABS mean anti-lock braking systems help you break better if you dont have an ABS in your car acident is likly to be higher if you are driving a car without ABS![]()