*Clap clap*Originally posted by silvacc:Hi guys! Good Luck for your next bidding.
I'm actually not a buyer of Picanto, but i have a friend and a brother who have placed order. Scorpey is my friend.
My drive is Year 2000 Hyundai Accent 1.3. Silver color.
Hope you guys allow me to forum here.
By the way, read the license plate thingy..
SFL?? See fart loong? hehehe
clap clapOriginally posted by scorpey:*Clap clap*
D*U....
yalor.. now gotto wait n wait...
btw i've search the web for tyres size available for picanto...quite difficult to match the size leh...
so far michellin got one tat can fit... yokohama dont have...yoko got two..but this brand never heard b4..is it good? one size is 185 60 R13 u think its a bit broad?? michelin one is 175 60 R14...if fitted wif OZ Rims (now got a 14" one) Nice sia...![]()
check this out for details:Originally posted by silvacc:dont forget your PCD and offset when you upgrade your rims. very important.
with wrong PCD, the rim wont fit into your axle.
with wrong offset, you risk having your wheels hitting your fenders when you make turns! very dangerous!!!
datz y i changed to a manualOriginally posted by clipfone:Driving an Auto Car.
To D or not to D
This is the most commonly asked question by owners of automatic cars: “Should I put the lever to N, or leave it in D while waiting at traffic light junctions?” The answer is, leave it in D and use the brakes to hold the car at a standstill. All modern automatic gearboxes are designed to cope with this, so there is no unnecessary wear and tear on the mechanical components.
Frequently shifting from D to N and vice versa, however, puts strain on the gearbox and its electronically controlled solenoids. In the long run, this may result in premature failure of some components, and a hefty repair bill. ItÂ’s also a common misconception that holding the car with the brakes leads to additional wear and tear on the braking parts. Since the car is stationary, there is no friction between the pads and discs, so there is no extra wear.
My Question is , is our Picanto come with modern automatic gearbox that are designed to cope with this ??
Hi Vit4WD,Originally posted by Vit4WD:Hi Silvacc & Scorpey,
I would strongly recommend that you stick to the original tyre size.
Ask yourselves the primary factor why you chose the Picanto.
1. Fuel economy?
2. Perky pick up & power?
Once you change to a broader tyre, you will experience higher fuel consumption and find that your Picanto has gotten sluggish.
Anyway, how fast do you expect to travel in your Picanto, considering S'pore's legal speed limit. The stock tyres can cope within such speed limits. Of course, I hope you are not expecting to do fast corners like you would in a Lamborghini or Ferrari
Silvacc, did you know that your year 2000 Accent stock tyres is also 155/70R13? Only the current facelifted model comes with stock 175/70R13 tyres
if im not wrong, ABS technology is not to prevent skidding but it allows u to have some form of control when ur car skids. i've seen a video clip b4 that an expert driver slam the brake of his 2nd hand car and it skidded damn scary..just b4 it's going to hit a staionary car, he releases the brakes, steer the car away n back to the same direction... tat's wat people do b4 invention of ABS.. hehe..Originally posted by Vit4WD:Hi Silvacc,
Yes, that's my mistake on your stock tyre size : It should be 155/80R13.
The reason your Accent skidded even at 30km/h is because it does not have ABS. Changing to a broader tyre will NOT prevent skidding.
My Vitara, using 205/70R15 tyres, Made in France Michelin Pilot MXV3A (no ABS) also faces the same problem. I was travelling at about 40km/h on a straight road when I approached a hump and applied hard pressure on the brakes. The wheels locked.
In contrast, my Corolla (with ABS), using thinner 175/70R14 stock tyres (Yokohama) has never skidded nor has the wheels locked when I tried jamming the brakes on the highway at 80km/h (with no cars behind me of course).
It is the ABS that prevents skidding, not the tyres.
ABS prevents the wheels from locking, and this in turn, prevents skidding.Originally posted by scorpey:if im not wrong, ABS technology is not to prevent skidding but it allows u to have some form of control when ur car skids.
will try that if i have a chance man...anyone got a corolla to lend me? hehe..
Remember the ship load of Hyundais that sank off Singapore?Originally posted by pupakia:Indeed, looks like everyone is much quieter now. I guess the waiting has taken its toll. It's like all talk and no car, right. I am feeling sian also.![]()
Wah biang!!! Touch wood lah!!! Wash your mouth and say it again, man. Christmas is like six months away!!! Super sian.Originally posted by Vit4WD:Remember the ship load of Hyundais that sank off Singapore?
What if... the shipment of diamond blue Picanto sinks on the way to Singapore? Then you have to wait till Christmas, and cannot bring Pupikia for joy rides![]()
Yes fishing7, the car is indeed more spacious comparatively, after testing the kelisa and getz. It is also quite comfortable for a basic car. If you find it a chore handling the manual, why dun you consider an auto. In my opinion, though manual could be more fun to drive, the high incidences of jams on Singapore roads makes practical sense in buying the auto. If price is a concern for you, you should really consider the Picanto because besides the Kelisa (which I have tested), it is the cheapest small car around.Originally posted by fishing7:Hi guys, just went for a test drive at Leng Kee today.
As i have not driven for many years since i pass my driving test, really dunno what to expect from the car.
Basically, the pickup (manual) is ok. The car is a bit more spacious than i thought. Kalang kabuk just now, cannot feel clutch coz wearing basketball shoes, move off at second gear, engine stalled. Malu sia.
But overall, quite happy with the basics of the basics. Should be ordering it soon after i sort out the figures. The shipment according to the SA, is Sept/Oct.
there is nothing wrong with engine stall....me too experience that too during the test drive....just cant get use to it.Originally posted by fishing7:Hi guys, just went for a test drive at Leng Kee today.
As i have not driven for many years since i pass my driving test, really dunno what to expect from the car.
Basically, the pickup (manual) is ok. The car is a bit more spacious than i thought. Kalang kabuk just now, cannot feel clutch coz wearing basketball shoes, move off at second gear, engine stalled. Malu sia.
But overall, quite happy with the basics of the basics. Should be ordering it soon after i sort out the figures. The shipment according to the SA, is Sept/Oct.
How about those who already secure their COE ?Originally posted by Vinsanne:Okay guys, let's calm down. However it's really nice to know so much information is being pumped into this topic. Keep it up but always remember, we need to keep a cool head, even when driving...
My SA is getting me prepared by telling me that my car is properly going to be the August shipment instead of the July shipment. I think she is doing so cos her company (KIA Ubin brand) has yet to secure my COE.
Whatever happens, I will still get the car... just have to wait longer which I hope will not be the case.
You guys all have a good day...
Vincent
hey fishing7,Originally posted by fishing7:Hi guys, just went for a test drive at Leng Kee today.
Yes you are right, scorpey. Seems like they tell everyone September shipment, even for those new buyers. Haha.Originally posted by scorpey:hey fishing7,
b4 ouy buy, they will tell u sept/oct shipment, after u sign on the dotted line they will tell u 0ct/nov/dec shipment!!! kekeke
The Picanto manual is now selling for S$51,999. The auto version is selling for S$54,999.Originally posted by pupakia:Yes fishing7, the car is indeed more spacious comparatively, after testing the kelisa and getz. It is also quite comfortable for a basic car. If you find it a chore handling the manual, why dun you consider an auto. In my opinion, though manual could be more fun to drive, the high incidences of jams on Singapore roads makes practical sense in buying the auto. If price is a concern for you, you should really consider the Picanto because besides the Kelisa (which I have tested), it is the cheapest small car around.![]()
In a certain sense, what you say is correct, but the Proton has been around for such a long time, and all these years, the design has remained the same. I have to admit it is a good buy, but ask yourself, who wants to drive a car with looks and technology that is ten years older. If not for the number plate, nobody would have guessed that it is a brand new car. OR maybe, they would probably think that this is an old car with a new facelift. Besides, a Malaysian car and a Korean Car. It's like asking anyone what they prefer, a Japanese car or Korean Car. The exciting part is owning a car that is new in the market. New style, new technology, new name, new colours, new design...............Originally posted by Vit4WD:The Picanto manual is now selling for S$51,999. The auto version is selling for S$54,999.
At such prices, honestly, if you don't mind the Proton Wira 1.3 manual, I'd rather you get the Proton for only S$53,000.
You get lots more space, a huge boot and the annual depreciation is similar to the Picanto as the Proton has a higher scrap value.
I agree with you pupakia. Once again, I am going for the Picanto, of what is packed into a small cute car. And to be the first batch to be driving the car on the road seems cool to meOriginally posted by pupakia:In a certain sense, what you say is correct, but the Proton has been around for such a long time, and all these years, the design has remained the same. I have to admit it is a good buy, but ask yourself, who wants to drive a car with looks and technology that is ten years older. If not for the number plate, nobody would have guessed that it is a brand new car. OR maybe, they would probably think that this is an old car with a new facelift. Besides, a Malaysian car and a Korean Car. It's like asking anyone what they prefer, a Japanese car or Korean Car. The exciting part is owning a car that is new in the market. New style, new technology, new name, new colours, new design...............![]()