My deepest condolences to you on your misfortune, Mr. Black.Originally posted by Mr. Black:LOL
DO NOT BUY A KIA!!!!!!
I bought a new 1997 Kia Sephia that I was happy with at first. However, in the last month it's been in the repair shop 5 times and I've had over $1000 in repairs done (the cars is barely 2 years old!). I've had the alternator ($236), the battery ($70), the idle motor/throttle assembly ($687), and the pcm (the main computer that controls everything - luckily this was covered under warranty) replaced. I also had to take it to a mechanic who specialized in electrical problems so he could make sure that the Kia dealership I took the car to didn't mess anything up ($65). Aside from these recent repairs, I have also had to replace all four tires ($280), another battery ($60), the PC valve ($55), and I've had assorted repairs done that were covered under warranty. Part of the problem this last month could have been with the Sante Fe Dodge/Kia dealership, but a Kia repair shop should know how to fix it's own cars. I've done some checking around and having to do this many repairs does not seem to be anything out of the ordinary for Kia cars. I've talked to several repair shops and have been told that Kias are good for about 1-2 years, after which time they start to fall apart. This car has left my fiance and me stranded on the highway 4 times in the last month. Once it almost cost my fiancee her life (the car died at night on a 2 lane highway with no shoulder and she had no power at all - she couldn't even turn on the hazzard lights) Buying this car has been the worst mistake of my life, and I want to prevent other people from making the same mistake. If you are planning on buying a Kia, please read some of the many bad reviews and horror stories that I have found on the internet. To read some of the many reviews that other unsatisfied Kia owners have emailed me (sorry, but I am no longer accepting or posting anymore emails), click here. Most of these reviews make the problems with my Kia seem very minor.
Update (3/25/2000): A week after I finally got my car back, the brand new battery the dealership had put in died and needed to be replaced (leaving me stranded for a 5th time!). The dealership told me that they have been having problems with Kia batteries. The idle is also acting funny again, just like before it stranded us for the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th times. It seems my ordeal with this car is never going to end!
Update (5/26/2000): I was contacted by a law clerk today looking for anyone who may have had problems with seat-back failures. She is working on a case where a 12 year old girl was severely disfigured when the driver's side seat-back reclining system failed during a rear end collision and hit her in the head, breaking every bone in her face. Click here to read the email that she sent me. If you have any information that she might find helpful, please email her.
This page has been viewed times since 3/18/2000.
Read some of the many emails I have receivedEmails - page 1Emails - page 2Emails - page 3Emails - page 4Emails - page 5Emails - page 6Emails - page 7
http://members.tripod.com/aiki_joe/i_hate_kia/
For Vios owners who had to wait 4 months for their cars, they have been told of this specific date by their SA, and they deliver on time, whilst C&C keeps procrastinating on the delivery date.Originally posted by pupakia:Wah lau, Kia Picanto has dropped to its original prices due to the falling prices of COE. I have booked my car at 1K more, man!!! Frankly, if I have gotten my car, I would not have mind the fluctuations in the prices, but it like while waiting it out, you see the price going up and down like the share market. For me, I can still force myself to swallow the bitter pill. What about those who booked at S$2,000 more? Siannn, heart-pain, man.
Think I might be going down to C&C Lengkee showroom this Saturday (31 July 2004) at between 2pm to 4pm to get a black and white confirmation on the arrival of my Picanto. At first when I booked, I was told delivery was between early to mid September. Then it became mid to end September. Latest heard from my SA is that delivery in early October!!! What is this, man? Happy, happy changed the delivery date!! Might as well tell me delivery in Christmas or better still Chinese New Year!!! Really dampen my enthusiasm. I dun mind waiting, but when the delivery dates keep changing, can get really pissed off. If they really confirm in black and white on the delivery date and still can't deliver, I will take back my deposit and book another car, maybe a Getz or Vios, whatever, better than waiting like a beggar. Anyway, Getz prices has dropped also. If you noticed, there is no more advertisements on the Picanto in the newspapers or TV commercials anymore. Just last Saturday, they took out a half page advertisement in The Straits Times Classified and only advertised on 4 four car model. No Picanto at all. Sounds fishy. OK, this coming Saturday at Lengkeng showroom. Who's keen?![]()
Glad you understand my point, Vit4WD. If they told me 4 months and give me the car on time, I would not have minded a bit, after all I can decide whether I am willing to wait or not, before commiting. But, I can't tolerate procrastination. It is as good as going back on their words. The are people like Kinkichong who needs the car before his wedding, and I am sure that like me, he has booked the car with the understanding that he will get it before his required date, right Kinki???Originally posted by Vit4WD:For Vios owners who had to wait 4 months for their cars, they have been told of this specific date by their SA, and they deliver on time, whilst C&C keeps procrastinating on the delivery date.
I can fully understand your fustrations, Pupakia.
I fully support your decision to seek justice at C&C this Saturday. I will park my Vitara (with bull bar) at the entrance of C&C KIA Leng Kee and prevent prospective customers from entering the premises. You can stand at the glass door entrance to scare potential customers away.![]()
In the end, fight here fight there, all the money go to the lawyers.Originally posted by astroken:for those who paid for de 2k increase, shld we hav a class action by lawyers?
i do believe we hav need for redress

Cheer up brother. I am now thinking of all the wonderful things i can do when i got my Picanto. Although it could be OCT, or even later.Originally posted by clipfone:Hi
Very Sian .
As first was very enthusiastic on looking forward for this car to come.
Now this feeling no more...![]()

I think thats possible, then after one week later, you say u convert back to picanto. And they sell u picanto at the lauch price again.Originally posted by clipfone:
mi thinking of convert to Rio.
Rio 1.3L Sedan Manual
Transmission Manual
Engine Capacity 1343 cc
(excl ins, less UMF disct)* $51,999
C & C have to pay me $3K for the Rio ..just kidding.
or
Rio 1.5L Sedan Manual
Transmission Manual
Engine Capacity 1493 cc
(excl ins, less UMF disct)* $53,999
Dear monmon, your words are like a cold glass of clear ice water in the middle of a burning desert. Congratulations on getting your ride. Do update us on the experience and joys of driving your Picanto. BTW, is yours from the 2nd shipment? Where did you collect it from? Any procedures? Your Picanto manual or auto? What colour? Sorry for the so many questions. Perhaps you could post some pictures of the exterior and interior of the car to show us. We will sure appreciate that. Thanks a lot!Originally posted by monmon:Fellow Pica frenz, good things are always worth waiting. I jus got my "baby" last week and had drove it around the island. It sure looks sporty and cutie on the road. It is not that small in the interior and it's outlook is definitely value for the price we are paying. At least it does not look so cheap skate like some other "mini" models. Not able to give much details yet as still new to it. Will keep you guys updated on the performance. BTW, also spotted a diamond blue pica. Colour is same as the getz. Look big in such colours.
Picachu, if you give up now, you will be giving S$2,000 for nothing to C&C. Dun give up now, instead focus on the shiok part when you finally get the car. I know many of us here are frustrated but we are all telling ourselves the same thing, right guys? Focus, focus.Originally posted by picachu:Suck thumb is the answer.
But I am giving up my 2k deposit, rather dont let them earn so much. I am thinking of switching to getz. I am really disapointed with such big company doing such things.
But I just dont like the feeling of being cheated.Originally posted by pupakia:Picachu, if you give up now, you will be giving S$2,000 for nothing to C&C. Dun give up now, instead focus on the shiok part when you finally get the car. I know many of us here are frustrated but we are all telling ourselves the same thing, right guys? Focus, focus.![]()
Clipfone, I have no intention of dissuading you or anything, but I have thought before of this, and then I reminded myself of the reasons why I chose to buy a Picanto. Fuel economy, stylish body, new model, chic interior, and I manage to refrain myself from doing so. If I really did change to a Rio, it would totally defeat and change my original purpose of getting the car. And that is certainly not worth it. Who knows, I might regret it when I the all the brothers here finally happily getting their car. Thus, I will bite my lip and continue to wait.Originally posted by clipfone:
mi thinking of convert to Rio.
Rio 1.3L Sedan Manual
Transmission Manual
Engine Capacity 1343 cc
(excl ins, less UMF disct)* $51,999
C & C have to pay me $3K for the Rio ..just kidding.
or
Rio 1.5L Sedan Manual
Transmission Manual
Engine Capacity 1493 cc
(excl ins, less UMF disct)* $53,999
Here is the comments,Originally posted by mandrake:Just to share some info:
I wanted to buy 2nd car.. Maybe Nissan SS Lux Edition.
Any comment..?
Sorry, I dun understand what you mean when you say: If the transaction carry on, they will earn 6 to 7K from you. Kindly explain. Thank you.Originally posted by picachu:But I just dont like the feeling of being cheated.
If the transaction carrys on, they will earn 6-7k from me. I rather they only earn 2.1k from me. Hope all those who bought at 2k more withdrawl and their sales drop....