I agree.Originally posted by joeline12:ya correct... everything have to get use... i want to drive oso cannot drive cause i don have a liscense (fail my first attempt will try again)
relax... once u know the style of singapore driver, u will get use.
singapore driver have the worst driving habit in the world.
Originally posted by picachu:Astroken, I also got mine at 51,999.
But I got mine coe le...so never cancel or else have to wait coe bidding again and if suay suay cannot get a bid, then jialat. But my coe super low, 25k only. Dam.n it.
Wat u can do is cancel the order, then forfeit ur 2k.
Then book one again and save 1k.
But I believe c&c will come up with something to make u dont cancel.
Maybe they will throw in a free leather seat and sports rims (maybe only).
but of course have to wait longer la...
And remember to get back all your freebies plus as much as possible to cover the 2k lost.
Once u got ur car, it will start depreciating the moment you drive out...Originally posted by strawberry78:If I want to sell my Picanto after 2 weeks - how much will I lose? I can't drive for nuts on Singapore roads, its too chaotic and stressful.
Hmm. Thanks for the advice, me will confirm with my SA again.Originally posted by Vit4WD:I don't know if you are getting the latest information.
But there's been 3 postponements.
Initially, we were told that the delivery will be:
1. Early Sept, then it was postponed to
2. Late Sept, then further postponed to
3. Early Oct, now it's
4. Late Oct.
It's anyone's guess that delivery will be further postponed to early November, then late Nov, then early Dec, then late Dec, then early Jan, then late Jan, and it goes on and on and on
Thanks a lot Vincent. Really informative things you have mentioned to me. As my family are pretty big sized I guess should be alright to get this car. The most worry thing is the fuel consumption as I have to travel from Sengkang to Clementi to study. Hee..So thats why need a more affordable car and the most important is less in FC. Thanksa lot. Hee... Overall I guess you provide me with a great information. However, is the engine noisy? Because I went to test drive the Kelisa and find that very nosiy so it stops me from ordering one. I have seen a couple Picanto over the weekend on the road and my mother commented that it is very nice so do my other family members. I guess I needed more of performance than the outlook. Hee...Originally posted by Vinsanne:Worth? In my opinion, it's what you can afford, how you are going to use the car and can you live with a korean car. Who does not want to own a japanese or even european car (in Singapore), but the price difference is just too great. I wanted so bad to get the Honda Fit or Jazz... but the difference of more than $25,000 is just too much for me to bear. (I believe I will end up spending more money if I did get a Fit/Jazz. Yes, larger rims definitely... FC will go down though many have told me Fit/Jazz should have even better FC than Picanto (before they up the rims), after the rims... I would want more) So getting a basic car makes senses, stay basic.
My uncle whom I recently brought the whole family out comments were: "I don't think the car can go up to the carpark (including me the driver, three adults and three kids), and also highway, you better stay on the left lane". That's before we set off.
This were his comments when I was parking our Picanto on the third storey of a carpark: "The korean makers are really picking up. I cannot believe at 1.1litre, the car is still as powerful yet smooth and quiet".
He also warned me to drive the car with ease, as it's afterall only a 1.1litre engine. I think the engine will stay healthy if you don't drag over 3,500rpm (that's over 120km/hr). This one, i totally agree with him. If you over rev a small engine, the engine will not be as smooth and quiet anymore.
My final conclusion for Picanto. Basic car that is very worth for money, even if you bought it at $3k more, you will ultimately save money in the long run as the fuel consumption is good... forget to mention, driving the car with ease should see the car achieve over 18km/litre after the first few services. Very urban driving should still get you over 14km/litre on a Picanto.
Vincent
Originally posted by fishaball:Hi, I am a car novice and I would like to just ask you all some qns.
1) Given that I just got my license last Oct, how much would a new Picanto Auto + insurance set me back by?
ur inurance easily cost u $3k.
manual in $48,999.
free half yr road tax.( half yr is 200+)
2) I hope not to fork out more than 1k a month (including petrol, season parking, insurance, tax etc). My parking in office is free. So it's just at home and going out on weekends. Possible to cap at 1k with a Pic?
if u down 20k loan 7 yr, per month only 400+ instalment include first yr insurance. and year another 3k insurance and 500+ road tax. season parking is 65 for non-shelter and 95 for shelter.
3) Is it better to put down payment? Was told by some frens that i will end paying more in the LR if dun put down pymt?
yah, the more the better bcos less interest. more than 30% down, dun need to submit income proof. loan 7 year is 2.2% int, 8,9,10 is 2.45. So best is 7 yr or else will waste too much int. btw, law states min 10% down. if less than that maybe risk finance company knock ur door few months later and ask u fork out 10% and refinance or else they tow back car.
4) I just need a car tt brings me fr A to B, dun really care about power and etc. But is the fuel consumption high for the auto version?
buy a van, cheaper. manual better, more power save petrol, more control, and less frustration waiting for it when upslope bcos can downgear and zoom u go. auto can only wait and wait.
5) My brother and my mum are quite heavy. 60 plus kg, all 3 of us. Any problem when going upslopes etc? My bro said he doesnt want to push the car for me.
defintely cannot buy auto, or else frequent dragging will spoilt the car. Actually 1100cc if auto is quite high wear and tear, unless u r the type who drive really relax and dont strain engine no matter how slow it is.
6) Where are the better car dealers and agents who are more open to bargaining?
no choice, only c&c(chop&chop).
Sorry to ask so much, but i really want a car and I think the Pic is cute and suits my style.
Vit4WD is my friend. He has seen my agony and frustration. You must remember one thing. We have nothing against the Picanto. In fact, we think it is a great car. Can you still remember my initial enthusiasm. Well, the long wait has definitely dampen it, not to mention the extra money I have paid for booking early. We are not trying to demoralise anyone here. We juz want to share our experience and let them not raise their hopes too high. I have given encouragement to frustrated people over & over again. Check the initial postings, you were not even here yet. By letting the Picanto enthusiasts know, we hope to lower their hopes of a quick delivery, and thereby cushioning their disappointment. If any new buyer does not need the car soon and they can wait, by all mean, get the Picanto. I would applaude their decision. People are starting to get pissed off becos of the waiting time, for example, RELAXMAN and astroken, who has paid an extra 3K just for booking the car early. Ha, can you imagine that? The Picanto is worth the wait, provided the wait is not too long to pissed people off.Originally posted by fishing7:Hmm. Thanks for the advice, me will confirm with my SA again.
Btw Vit4WD, did you order a Picanto? If no, how come you are so into this. There is no doubt that your info is good and very up to date. But because in this thread, most people are getting this car as their first vehicle(including myself), so let's not try to demoralise them anymore.
Facts tells, and yes they do. But if can put in some encouragement to all the people here, would it be more meaningful??![]()
Excited? I am, initially. I even put up an official invitation on the notice board. But it is postponement and postponement again. I guess it will be at least next year before the meetup really takes form. Anyway, I won't have a Picanto anymore.Originally posted by fishing7:The delivery date is late Sept 2004, i give it a 2-3 weeks grace if there is a delay.
You gave up on Picanto?? Wat about the Kia Picanto outing, aren't you excited about it?
But then, wat's done cannot be undone. I am in no hurry of the car right now coz still saving up. Hmm, by then, should be just right.
Please note that it might not be that simple if you have gotten your COE. This is because C&C has paid the deposit for the COE to LTA for the car buyer first and the name is not transferable. There might be some form of compensation you need to pay in order to cancel the order.Originally posted by chronograph:even if you forfeit your deposite, C&C can't be bother, it is just some $$ earn without having to sell a car....they won't compensate you. Besides picanto is still selling and there are many people on the waiting list. So it is buy it or leave it.
Ya...you can do that, forfeit and book again at a lower price but you have to re-q again.
Knows the rules of COE bidding and you won't feel the pinch if it drops.....what if it increases.....i guess many people here will be very happy.........
relax and wait patiently.......
For me, i will wait.![]()
Picachu is right. Provided you are not doing anything wrong, like obstructing the traffic or something else, you need not care when they trying to stress you out by horning behind. They always like to do that, me including.Originally posted by picachu:boy, be patiient. U will get use to it.
Ignore all horns and u will be fine.
And give people a act-blur look when people point finger at u.
Very soon, it will be your turn to point finger and find people to horn.
Originally posted by pupakia:U give up ??
Excited? I am, initially. I even put up an official invitation on the notice board. But it is postponement and postponement again. I guess it will be at least next year before the meetup really takes form. Anyway, [b]I won't have a Picanto anymore.![]()
Other than Pupakia, I have refered 2 other friends, who have booked the Picanto. And I get nothing out of these deals. The salesman gets his commission.Originally posted by fishing7:Hmm. Thanks for the advice, me will confirm with my SA again.
Btw Vit4WD, did you order a Picanto? If no, how come you are so into this. There is no doubt that your info is good and very up to date. But because in this thread, most people are getting this car as their first vehicle(including myself), so let's not try to demoralise them anymore.
Facts tells, and yes they do. But if can put in some encouragement to all the people here, would it be more meaningful??![]()
u not getting the picanto?Originally posted by pupakia:Please note that it might not be that simple if you have gotten your COE. This is because C&C has paid the deposit for the COE to LTA for the car buyer first and the name is not transferable. There might be some form of compensation you need to pay in order to cancel the order.![]()
Who is yr SE?Originally posted by Vit4WD:Other than Pupakia, I have refered 2 other friends, who have booked the Picanto. And I get nothing out of these deals. The salesman gets his commission.
The situation is now so embarassing for me, as my friends keep coming back to me, saying that I should not have recommended them the Picanto.
The Picanto is a good car. It's unfortunate that the distributor, C&C have not been delivering their promise time after time.
Originally posted by pupakia:Please note that it might not be that simple if you have gotten your COE. This is because C&C has paid the deposit for the COE to LTA for the car buyer first and the name is not transferable. There might be some form of compensation you need to pay in order to cancel the order.![]()
In this case, I don't mind referring future buyers to your SE instead, and share half of the commission he/she gives me, to you.Originally posted by alpha01:Who is yr SE?
I heard from mine saying if i refer friends can get half of his commission......
Yep, gave up on this Picanto.Originally posted by mini-sized:U give up ??
Chronograph, this is exactly what I was implying.Originally posted by chronograph:its the other way round....we compensate C&C further.....
it is a lose-lose situation for buyers wanting to forfiet and cancel their booking......sigh......
better think twice man!![]()
Another nice car, but not Aveo.Originally posted by alpha01:u not getting the picanto?
then wat abt yr deposit? u dun want it?
u should be getting the another nice car Aveo right?![]()
Originally posted by Vit4WD:Hi Fishball,
Since your whole family is quite big-sized, you may wish to consider the Proton Wira 1.3 manual.
Selling price is S$52,888... but if you take S$50K loan, there's a S$2K cash back that they will give you when you collect your car. Interest is 2.2%. The interest is only S$5,700 over 7 years (after S$2K cash rebate).
Hence, you pay only S$50,888 for the Wira, which is only S$1,888 more than the {Picanto 1.1 manual).
Not forgetting the higher scrap value of the Wira, the annual depraciation is actually comparable to the Picanto.
So why pay the sam emoney for a 1.1l hatchback when you can get a 1.3l saloon with tonnes of space - and it comes with a tried, tested & proven Japanese engine. And you can get lots of cheap spare parts across the causeway.
PS: The Wira also comes with power windows, alarm, reverse sensor, coloured bumper, simulated wood panels & gear knob, single disc CD player as standard... plus a HUGE boot
Wat car are u getting?Originally posted by pupakia:Another nice car, but not Aveo.![]()
how much did you lose when you cancelled the booking for picanto? the booking fee only or more?Originally posted by pupakia:Another nice car, but not Aveo.![]()
Me wanted to go.Originally posted by clipfone:
Why dun we all meet up one fine day and go down together to C&C to complain and ask for more freebies or price reduce?