Neutral mode, your engine is running but the clutch ain't engaged.Originally posted by rumie:actually, what's the difference between using Parking mode and N mode??? which is better???
you're absolutely rightOriginally posted by bmw_lover:actually.... if you're stationary and u use foot brake, your car isnt moving, so there's no friction, if there is no friction, your brakes cant wear out. brake only wears out during the braking process. i'm not too sure if i'm right, but i find that this makes sense to me. haha. anyone care to clarify?
yes. but the force moving the car is really small, and if u are already at rest, there is no friction acting on the brake disc and pads, even if your engine is trying to move the car, because ultimately your car is ALREADY at rest and not moving.Originally posted by rumie:erm, for auto cars, if you dont apply brake, it'll still move at D-mode.
actually, what's the difference between using Parking mode and N mode??? which is better???
for auto cars....even if ur waiting for "a while", its still not advisable to put into N or P. this is b'cos the transmission is not like that of a manual car...ur gears will wear off too if u shift gears too much too often.Originally posted by boon_tl:if you are going to wait for while, then place it to N.
If not, and you know that it is just not more than 1~2mins, apply brake will do.
I guess I am right.
i beg to differ. shifting to N will prevent strain to the engine as the engine is still engaged and rearing to go while u are applying brake to the wheel.Originally posted by tiggersgd:for auto cars....even if ur waiting for "a while", its still not advisable to put into N or P. this is b'cos the transmission is not like that of a manual car...ur gears will wear off too if u shift gears too much too often.
Nope... Whomever it was that instructed you to shift to N at traffic junctions is seriously mistaken.Originally posted by slikpizz:i beg to differ. shifting to N will prevent strain to the engine as the engine is still engaged and rearing to go while u are applying brake to the wheel.
in addition, the gear of an auto cars shifts frequently while travelling. not unlike that of a manuel car. i've been "instructed" to shift the gear to N whenever at the traffic junctions!![]()
all i know is using manual car waiting at the junction cannot put to N that's it!Originally posted by Bloop...:Nope... Whomever it was that instructed you to shift to N at traffic junctions is seriously mistaken.
Originally posted by SunRisE:all i know is using manual car waiting at the junction cannot put to N that's it!
u are rite.... in fact putting to neutral help u to save crutch(manual cars)... I understand that most learners will actually do crutch in first gear after stopping but it is not advisable... But for auto constant changing will actually damage the gear box.....Originally posted by Bloop...:Sure about that?
Nah! I love engine brakingOriginally posted by gUms:to me is logic , when ur veh is stationary u depress ur brake , there is no wear and tear cos theres no friction ,
and let me ask u all how many of u guys got a habit of throwing gear to nuetral before stopping , i have de habit
if u are driving a manual car then u are save from gear box problem if u are driving an auto car then u are in trouble when the car is in the 5th year or even earlier years. for auto never shift your gear to netural when it still moving it will spoilt the gear box.Originally posted by gUms:to me is logic , when ur veh is stationary u depress ur brake , there is no wear and tear cos theres no friction ,
and let me ask u all how many of u guys got a habit of throwing gear to nuetral before stopping , i have de habit
the person who advise u to shift to netural when stop is trying to earn from u otherwise he is an newbie to auto car. never shift from D to N just becos it red light. it less then 1min of stop never shift unless u are saying about 5mins and above then u shift to N or P.Originally posted by slikpizz:i beg to differ. shifting to N will prevent strain to the engine as the engine is still engaged and rearing to go while u are applying brake to the wheel.
in addition, the gear of an auto cars shifts frequently while travelling. not unlike that of a manuel car. i've been "instructed" to shift the gear to N whenever at the traffic junctions!![]()
yes u are right putting to netural for manual is good when at stop. but for your saying of saving the clutch is wrong. engage at 1st gear at stop wont waste the clutch unless u half clutch then it will waste. putting at 1st at stop can say your car too.Originally posted by Praetorian111:u are rite.... in fact putting to neutral help u to save crutch(manual cars)... I understand that most learners will actually do crutch in first gear after stopping but it is not advisable... But for auto constant changing will actually damage the gear box.....
when park at carpark after u done everything u are suppose to put to P. but if u are stopping at a traffic light not more then 2mins there is no need to shift. becos the more u shift the more wear and tear is done. putting to N mean clutching-in if your car on slope u will roll back or front, but whereas P mean total park even when u are on slope the car wont roll back or roll front, it just like putting handbrake on.Originally posted by guardsmen:one of my friend told me to shift to N den to P after i just park my car at the carpark so as not to strain to gearbox
ya...and also when stop at traffic light sometime i will just apply brake sometime had to wait long i will shift to N or even shift to P.
so shift to N or P?which is better?which one will not strain the gearbox?
clutching in dont wear off your clutch, becos there is no contact between the engine gear and the clutch. it will wear off becos u never fully clutch in but u half clutch that where the wear and tear come. clutch normally wear off after about 3yrs or so with normal driving. but if u are the high rev type about 2 or less u will need to change new clutch liao.Originally posted by no_speeding:Manual car, if u clutch in too often, ur clutch will burn.
Its best to put to neutal.
Auto cars, press ur brakes.
Dun worry....alot of people wonder for years why their clutch can slip so quickly or why auto keep having probs...
some learn...others, they juz sworn off the brand of car altogether...
then u see your clutch use up faster lor. and have more wear and tear.Originally posted by Bloop...:Nah! I love engine brakingWill only shift to neutral once the car comes to a full stop.
That's alright.. racing clutch, meant to be used and abusedOriginally posted by victorco:then u see your clutch use up faster lor. and have more wear and tear.
there is no right or wrong actually.... i do drove a auto trans car b4.... what i believe you hv to consider carefully is : -Originally posted by rumie:When idling at a traffic light, and suppose you know it's a long wait, do you put into Parking mode and use the handbrake?
i mean, since auto car can't use engine brake, the braking system is very important and most easily affected by wear-and-tear, right?
and if you were to depress the brake for such a long time during the traffic light every so often at each traffic light, will it be bad for the braking system in the long run?
have i just asked a stupid question???![]()