any comparisms like that would be debated to death. both camps have their own supporters and theres no of saying for sure whos e best.Originally posted by D16Z6:Is DOHC engine better than SOHC VTEC engine?
What r the differences between DOHC VTEC engine and MIVEC engine?
Which one is better?![]()
Clue.....look at what the R34 GTRs, Evo MR, Rexes, SIRs, Type Rs have under their bonnets.Originally posted by D16Z6:Is DOHC engine better than SOHC VTEC engine?
DOHC is dual overhead cams... shud be better wad...Originally posted by D16Z6:Is DOHC engine better than SOHC VTEC engine?
metal? er.....windshield fluid?Originally posted by saab95:Clue.....look at what the R34 GTRs, Evo MR, Rexes, SIRs, Type Rs have under their bonnets.
wad r Type Rs? i always see ah bengs put the logo on their civics 1...Originally posted by saab95:Clue.....look at what the R34 GTRs, Evo MR, Rexes, SIRs, Type Rs have under their bonnets.
Your civic type R, Accord Euro R, Integra Type Rs......Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:wad r Type Rs? i always see ah bengs put the logo on their civics 1...
Type R are engine used in some civics and integra...Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:wad r Type Rs? i always see ah bengs put the logo on their civics 1...
actually, Type R is not equivelent of NISMO. Mugen is. Mugen, NISMO, TRD, STI r all official tuning arms of their respective brands. Other examples are Ralliart, AMG, M Sport. A Type R is simply top of the range for civics and integra models, the equivelent of the GTR for the Skyline Range and the GT2 for the 911 range.Originally posted by saab95:Your civic type R, Accord Euro R, Integra Type Rs......Not simply the beng chia with a paste on badge. Wasabit hot N.A road rockets.
Type Rs are the 'performance' Hondas.....the type-R badge is akin to your NISMO, TRD, STI terminology.
Not true....Look at mercedes....the E55 AMG(the NA models) They are SOHC but pack a punch.....both have their merits and demerits....Heard that DOHC suffers in low end...can anyone confirm this?And If I'm correct merc are using SOHC enginesOriginally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:DOHC is dual overhead cams... shud be better wad...
SOHCs have less moving parts... but DOHCs can take in more air n release more exhaust.... i think...Originally posted by AE86tofu:Not true....Look at mercedes....the E55 AMG(the NA models) They are SOHC but pack a punch.....both have their merits and demerits....Heard that DOHC suffers in low end...can anyone confirm this?And If I'm correct merc are using SOHC engines
Type R means more money donated to your insurance company that insures your carOriginally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:wad r Type Rs? i always see ah bengs put the logo on their civics 1...
Dun forget NSX-R...Originally posted by saab95:Your civic type R, Accord Euro R, Integra Type Rs...
I personally feel DOHC Vtec better cos....on singapore rd,which car can win Doch vtec on honda?(OF COS I MEAN N-A CAR OF SAME CLASS)cannot take Merc to compare...Originally posted by D16Z6:Is DOHC engine better than SOHC VTEC engine?
u crazy? since when E55 AMG got NA model?Originally posted by AE86tofu:Not true....Look at mercedes....the E55 AMG(the NA models) They are SOHC but pack a punch.....both have their merits and demerits....Heard that DOHC suffers in low end...can anyone confirm this?And If I'm correct merc are using SOHC engines
yummy.Originally posted by bo liao:Type R is better specs lor, got 5 nuts screw to the wheel mah...
while we're at the subject of smoothness, lets compare a Forumla 1 engine to an Indycar engine. An indy car engine is turbocharged, and is much smoother than a formula 1 engine. a formula 1 engine produces a lot of vibrations. If u fit a formula 1 engine into an indy car, on the straights, the car will shake itself to bits. just a bit of interesting info.Originally posted by LittleTiger:What i can say is normal DOHC engine is better and surely smoother that SOHC or OHC, unless you are talking about Mercedes engine is another thing liao as they got lots of budget to spend for their engine.
DOHC has 2 camshaft to pull contrast to one but naturally the 2 pulley will be smaller than a single one.
but in term of smoothness is sure wins a SOHC. So does it like V6 is more smoother than 4 cylinder DOHC engine.
my dad's car is an SOHC V6 n its very very very very very smooth........Originally posted by LittleTiger:What i can say is normal DOHC engine is better and surely smoother that SOHC or OHC, unless you are talking about Mercedes engine is another thing liao as they got lots of budget to spend for their engine.
DOHC has 2 camshaft to pull contrast to one but naturally the 2 pulley will be smaller than a single one.
but in term of smoothness is sure wins a SOHC. So does it like V6 is more smoother than 4 cylinder DOHC engine.
wad car?Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:my dad's car is an SOHC V6 n its very very very very very smooth........
s classOriginally posted by HENG@:wad car?
No wonder very smooth lah. Sometimes how the engine is put together matters alot too.Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:s class
Last time is, but now heard about toyota 1.8 DOHC with VVTL-i . that produces more than 180hp. That was fit to corolla, celica. And dont forgot the 3SGTE engine produces 200++ Hp on altezza all these are NA engine.Originally posted by bo liao:I personally feel DOHC Vtec better cos....on singapore rd,which car can win Doch vtec on honda?(OF COS I MEAN N-A CAR OF SAME CLASS)cannot take Merc to compare...
For performance,Stock Civic Vtec Dohc 0-100km/h 7sec plus(unmod), try getting a mivec to do tat, very hard rite...my friend drive mivic best hit 9.3sec only-somemore mod abit..
As for how reliable te engin is i dunno but for 0-100km/h, so far i see is Honda Dohc Vtec "king"as also called "Big V"
Some ppl somemore put turbo lea...den change engin to 1.8L or 2.0L.....
Tink some forumers here wil know tat VTEC is know as te poor man fast cars,also used as racing car dunno how long ago in races...
If got a siao kia put 2L big Vtec, MAYB some cars wid turbo also lose to it...tat way i feel ba...
Type R is better specs lor, got 5 nuts screw to the wheel mah...
oooo... my dad's car is the S320... the 1 without presafe but still wif the cool headlights...Originally posted by saab95:No wonder very smooth lah. Sometimes how the engine is put together matters alot too.
However LS430 V8 DOHC 280 bhp, 417 NM Torque sis till much smoother with much more power to boot.
V6 SOHC 245 bhp, 350 NM Torque =S350. Your father's car is at most a S350
V8 SOHC 279 bhp, 400 NM Torque = S430.
So if we compare the LS430 & S430 (same capacity), it can be seen that the Lexus engine has 1 bhp more and 17NM of additional Torque.