I was a passanger in a ITR vs WRX Drag. WRX surged ahead by a bit b4 being balked by a Taxi and then the ITR's VTEC opened up. But I would say it was a kind of draw.Originally posted by evoMR79:Today while on my way to work, i was at the traffic junction waiting for the light to turn green. Then came a silver evo and a black STi.. The moment the lights turn green, both sped off... Most probably racing.But anyway, the evo8 was visibly faster and it made it across the next traffic light as it turned orange, while the Sti was not fast enough and had to slam brakes.. tyres screeched like hell..
So have u guys ever seen races like this before?? and who was faster??
corolla 1.3???Originally posted by HENG@:oh yes, heard about an ATR and a Corolla 1.3... Corolla 1.3 was very fast off the line.... until ATR pressed NOS. khidmasAE86 should know this story as well![]()
ahahaha. ask KhidmasAE86.Originally posted by evoMR79:corolla 1.3???WTF?? TC is it?
Dammit...Originally posted by HENG@:I was a passanger in a ITR vs WRX Drag. WRX surged ahead by a bit b4 being balked by a Taxi and then the ITR's VTEC opened up. But I would say it was a kind of draw.
Witness 2 e8s cheh an STi b4. think I posted my account somewhere in this forum b4... was in one of the e8s and I dare say, at least both 8s were stock... Anyway, both fast cars... and it was stupid to do it on public roads...Originally posted by evoMR79:Today while on my way to work, i was at the traffic junction waiting for the light to turn green. Then came a silver evo and a black STi.. The moment the lights turn green, both sped off... Most probably racing.But anyway, the evo8 was visibly faster and it made it across the next traffic light as it turned orange, while the Sti was not fast enough and had to slam brakes.. tyres screeched like hell..
So have u guys ever seen races like this before?? and who was faster??
Haha, I know that red M3...Originally posted by bo liao:Dunno lea, at ULU pandan towards clementi jus now bout 11.30pm, see Rex win EVO 8 from traffic, but...out run by a RED colour BMW M3.....
Rex & E8 side by side,i was behind Rex...tink te blue rex got the lounch control ba...keep got "piak piak piak "sound, den jump out faster den E8,den dunno how te hell, a RED BMW M3 jus pass them lik nothing....very "kong bu " lea...
but of cos lah, price range diff quite abit..
ATR vs 1.3Originally posted by fabiuz:atr = airtrek?
wat about the itr and corolla 1.3?
momma. an M3 is an M3.Originally posted by bo liao:Dunno lea, at ULU pandan towards clementi jus now bout 11.30pm, see Rex win EVO 8 from traffic, but...out run by a RED colour BMW M3.....
Rex & E8 side by side,i was behind Rex...tink te blue rex got the lounch control ba...keep got "piak piak piak "sound, den jump out faster den E8,den dunno how te hell, a RED BMW M3 jus pass them lik nothing....very "kong bu " lea...
It could be the turbo cars per se - weight factor and tuning (ecu, compression) and other internal mods. I presume you were watching the night sprints? Singapore cars are definitely limited from reaching their full potential becos of our cost and our laws. Going fast in a straight line with, in a way, a rolling start will not take too much skill or effort, IMHO.Originally posted by mandrake:Wah Piang leh,
I was at Pasir Gundag watching all the Turbo cars.
As the show is over, while going back home.. Wah..! STI and whatever
Turbo cars with SG plate, have no skillz compare with Malaysian drivers.
STI press and Proton Overtake 2 STI leh.! STI try to pickup and there goes
all the Protons speeding all the way up.
And then, all the Kelisa, Kancil with Turbo all start to race.
Guess What, SG plate with Turbo Engine are required to keep on the Left
lane...rofl..
Does not mean, Turbo Cars is a Turbo Drivers.!
From the way you described it, the STi and the Evo were driving off from a complete stop. And the M3 was coming from a rolling start.Originally posted by bo liao:Dunno lea, at ULU pandan towards clementi jus now bout 11.30pm, see Rex win EVO 8 from traffic, but...out run by a RED colour BMW M3.....
You tink those Protons are stock meh??Originally posted by mandrake:Wah Piang leh,
I was at Pasir Gundag watching all the Turbo cars.
As the show is over, while going back home.. Wah..! STI and whatever
Turbo cars with SG plate, have no skillz compare with Malaysian drivers.
STI press and Proton Overtake 2 STI leh.! STI try to pickup and there goes
all the Protons speeding all the way up.
And then, all the Kelisa, Kancil with Turbo all start to race.
Guess What, SG plate with Turbo Engine are required to keep on the Left
lane...rofl..
Does not mean, Turbo Cars is a Turbo Drivers.!
my friend raced with a M3 on his Evo8. was ahead from 0-180kh/m till the factory speed limiter kicked in at 180khm. so if u are talking about acceleration from standstill to 180.. the evo is faster.Originally posted by HENG@:momma. an M3 is an M3.
Even if the E8 had removed his speed cut, the M3 will reel the Evo in and eventually pass due to its slightly higher bhp. But from standstill, tough fight...Originally posted by evoMR79:my friend raced with a M3 on his Evo8. was ahead from 0-180kh/m till the factory speed limiter kicked in at 180khm. so if u are talking about acceleration from standstill to 180.. the evo is faster.
Trackwise, these behemoths at over 2 tons each would be like the B-17 bombers while the Evo will be like the zeros. Okay maybe not that bad....they are actually very decent handlers considering their sheer size.Originally posted by dansplace:Now that straight line has been discussed.... lets talk track...
heavier. honestly i think an M3 sould well be able to take an EVO past 100. was the race done on public roads? when it comes to comparism tests, the best is to be done in controlled conditions. that said, the EVO is simply a marvel, no suprise that it runs it close. The UK spec FQ340 more than gives the M3 a run for its $$$. and the best part is, its 7000 pounds cheaper!Originally posted by evoMR79:my friend raced with a M3 on his Evo8. was ahead from 0-180kh/m till the factory speed limiter kicked in at 180khm. so if u are talking about acceleration from standstill to 180.. the evo is faster.
honestly... the barge.... well...Originally posted by saab95:Trackwise, these behemoths at over 2 tons each would be like the B-17 bombers while the Evo will be like the zeros. Okay maybe not that bad....they are actually very decent handlers considering their sheer size.
heavier.Originally posted by dansplace:Even if the E8 had removed his speed cut, the M3 will reel the Evo in and eventually pass due to its slightly higher bhp. But from standstill, tough fight...