manual ..... it's more funOriginally posted by l0st-s0ul:I am new to cars and I know this sounds really newbie. I would like to ask which type of transmission would you prefer to drive and the reason for it?
I feel that manual transmission looks really cool and needs more skill compare to auto.
And also what happens if you step the accelerator till about 2.5k RPM and throw clutch on gear 1? Do all racers pick up like this?
Originally posted by eutjin:hm if this is the case, how to you launch/pick up fast the car? I have read a similiar thread about this by HENG@. Is this how it is done? Revv up to 2.5 then throw clutch?
if you accel to 2.5rpm and then throw the clutch, you'll get the smell of burning rubber.
Depends lah,i feel is wat car u drive, if u drive & go tune up... er...mayb lik my friend S15 spec-C, he cannot really lonch cos he never fix the lonch control thing(dunno real name for this gadget).....& his tires spin even at 19" at pick-up when i play wid him...always "tiak" him 1/4 car den he suddenly pass me liao......Originally posted by l0st-s0ul:hm if this is the case, how to you launch/pick up fast the car? I have read a similiar thread about this by HENG@. Is this how it is done? Revv up to 2.5 then throw clutch?
wow sounds fun. this weekend for my lessons at ubi i think i going to try this method. hope their toyota soluna can tahan.Originally posted by bo liao:i myself if wan to pick-up faster... pull hand-break,find biting point of clutch, den rev to 2.5 to 2.8k on RPM, den release hand-break,den FLOOR acc...lolx...of cos u must get tires tat hv grip lah, if not,it wil spin & spin...or mayb get a REX cos 4WD mah...
auto. manual is fun but troublesome. but autos can bite.Originally posted by l0st-s0ul:I am new to cars and I know this sounds really newbie. I would like to ask which type of transmission would you prefer to drive and the reason for it?
I feel that manual transmission looks really cool and needs more skill compare to auto.
And also what happens if you step the accelerator till about 2.5k RPM and throw clutch on gear 1? Do all racers pick up like this?
if u're going for lessons then dun do it. not smart to give yourself a bad name to your instructor.Originally posted by l0st-s0ul:wow sounds fun. this weekend for my lessons at ubi i think i going to try this method. hope their toyota soluna can tahan.
whoa ^5Originally posted by borgkilla:auto
great for traffic jams
auto
great for long distance driving
auto
auto auto![]()
Auto is great for long-distance driving?Originally posted by borgkilla:auto
great for traffic jams
auto
great for long distance driving![]()
coz u not used 2 manual yet mah ... after u do ... it'll be fun 2 drive ... more control and response from your car, somemore cheaper and better FCOriginally posted by speedygonzales:wimp or no wimp.... its auto for me.... tried driving a manual car before and feel like my hand n leg very busy when changing gear....![]()
eh bro ... i drove manual like almost everyday the last year ... is a bane .... multistories carpark is a pain ... with Auto .. i park anywhere (i think i sux at moving of the slope)Originally posted by Aulf:coz u not used 2 manual yet mah ... after u do ... it'll be fun 2 drive ... more control and response from your car, somemore cheaper and better FC![]()
ouch.Originally posted by Hairyworm:Using manual in a traffic jams is a big NO NO! My cousin almost got leg cramp when he was in a traffic jam for abt 2 hrs.
might be true lah.... but lazy me just like the convenience.... n like one of the bro who posted, driving for me is just a get from pt to pt kinda thing.... so not looking at power or watever... though the better FC is ao alluring.... prices of petrol is so damn high!!!Originally posted by Aulf:coz u not used 2 manual yet mah ... after u do ... it'll be fun 2 drive ... more control and response from your car, somemore cheaper and better FC![]()