ahkico... when u gonna bring us go rounding ????Originally posted by ahkico:Changin lane in heavy traffic ah...
Alot depends on ur own judgement lor...
Coz tester wants to see tat u r confi enough to change lane... Eg, u cannot wait until there is a super big gap then u dare to go in... Say 2 car length is considered quite big bah...
For me lah, i feel tat around 1 to 1.5 car length space is sufficent space for ur car to go in liao...
First n foremost, once the tester give command, siganl liao lor, to show ur intention... some kind soul hopefully will give way!
Most impt is tat u mus check ur rear mirror first, then ur side mirror to reconfirm again... sorta of double check... And most imptly ur blind spot!!! As some has mention earlier, turn ur head as much as possible!
I heard from frenzs tat one kena scolded from tester coz only use side mirror to change lane. Nev use the rear mirror, n tester ended up teachin him... Pt to the rear mirror n ask him to use it...
U ownself judge lor... U got confi to go in, n provided u not shove ur way in.... Really got sufficient space... Go ahead!
Usually, wat my inst taught me is tat... When u checkin mirror tat time, slow down... So as to give urself ample time to react while checkin... Not so dangerous also in a sense... Then u find ur opportunity, u got to see situation lor... To as speed up or slow down... The appropriate speed tat u need to use to get into tat space u have been eyein for lor... Haha
Dunno... But somehow, tis rule of slowin down while checkin mirror don appears to be of much use now after i passed out... Durin learnin daes, tis is lik die die mus follow rule... Now... Dunno why... Jus seldom seems to use it... hehee...
So dunno it be of help to u, but i think so bah... Once u passed n u more experience, trust me... Trust me, u won bother so much on the correct techniques etc liao! But pass test more impt... So learn all u need to know to pass tis tp k... Jia you!
Gd luck!![]()
Mi eh... Poor direction... dad don allow nite so...Originally posted by Kel^83:ahkico... when u gonna bring us go rounding ????
kekekeke
nooooOriginally posted by quek:oni heng is fast !!!![]()
now i m gonna tag behind KelOriginally posted by Kel^83:haha..... k k...
waiting for tat day wor......
slow speed easy 1 lar..... just don step so much on the accelerator pedal will do lor....
kekeke.....
anyway, i'm driving v.slowly de mah......
onli heng n quek become 2 fast 2 furious.....
whoa lau better slow now sia ... i just kena TP ray gun i think ... if kena sure license gantong leowOriginally posted by Kel^83:haha..... k k...
waiting for tat day wor......
slow speed easy 1 lar..... just don step so much on the accelerator pedal will do lor....
kekeke.....
anyway, i'm driving v.slowly de mah......
onli heng n quek became 2 fast 2 furious.....
Merging checklistOriginally posted by l0st-s0ul:can anyone give some tips on how to lane change in heavy traffic?
haha.....Originally posted by quek:now i m gonna tag behind Kel![]()
i'm always slow de..... don worry......Originally posted by johncooper:whoa lau better slow now sia ... i just kena TP ray gun i think ... if kena sure license gantong leow![]()
Ok... then me is turtle speed...Originally posted by quek:seriously i tot we r all beri slow ?
actually, the problem is that many people DO NOT SIGNAL when changing lanes! I find that if the guy in front signals that he's gonna change lanes, i can at least be warned and hang back a bit, and let him in. often find myself having to jam on the brakes when someone cuts in suddenly. so far, when i signal i haven't had the problem of ppl speeding up to cut me off, so i think its ok. when I was L plate, i had a lorry carrying gas cylinders run right up behind me in spite of having signalled early on. oh well. the roads r unpredictable. u win some, u lose some.Originally posted by ShutterBug:I think, with an L plate hanging back of your vehicle, it is easy to change lanes; just signal in advance, then change over when there are no cars visibly near ( about five car lengths away ).
But in my experience, once your L plate is removed, and you're on your own as a licensed motorist, it is quite a different world. Because then when you signal your intention to change lanes by signalling, motorists will just speed up instead. This sucks, but it is the NATURAL habits of our local motorists.
You will also find that many motorists forgot that one of the stick sticking out from the side of their steering wheel is a Signal Switch. Motorists here, mostly either DON'T signal, or signal just when they are turning or switching lanes.
Which is just as good as NOT signalling at all.
Driving in Singapore is VERY STRESSFUL. Because of such motorists.
Originally posted by ShutterBug:Well, usually and always in fact, I anticipate the traffic in front of me on my right and left. I expect and suspect anyone in front to just swerve into my lane, so I always keep a distance allowing just such moves.
The other problem that is largely common on our roads, are Tail Gaters. Yes, these are annoying motorists who move up reall close to your tail, meaning to urge you on faster, or frighten you out of their way. In retaliation, I noted some drivers jam their brakes. This is foolish, and dangerous to all of us on the road. Some resort to slowing down drastically until the tail gater overtakes. I usually do the second option - slow down until the offending motorist overtakes. If he honks, I honk back with my hidden airhorn and my disposable camera is ever present and visible on my dashboard.
Profile of tail gaters are usually people who drive the following: luxury cars, vans, lorries, private buses / coaches, and of course, flashy japanese sports cars. The others are mostly vehicles with Malaysian plates. But of all the cars I find most polite and tolerant of others on the roads are those in Porches, Ferarri, and exotic models. Why is this so? Simple, they are driving expensive dream machines, and they just as much wanna keep their machine free from accidents.
lol i thought it's worse with the L plate? others, esp the cabs, seem to see it as a taboo to stay behind L plate. haha but i can understand la 50 on some normal roads is sometimes frustratingly slow... heez that's why i feel freer w/o e plate, can be more flexible...Originally posted by ShutterBug:I think, with an L plate hanging back of your vehicle, it is easy to change lanes; just signal in advance, then change over when there are no cars visibly near ( about five car lengths away ).
But in my experience, once your L plate is removed, and you're on your own as a licensed motorist, it is quite a different world. Because then when you signal your intention to change lanes by signalling, motorists will just speed up instead. This sucks, but it is the NATURAL habits of our local motorists.
You will also find that many motorists forgot that one of the stick sticking out from the side of their steering wheel is a Signal Switch. Motorists here, mostly either DON'T signal, or signal just when they are turning or switching lanes.
Which is just as good as NOT signalling at all.
Driving in Singapore is VERY STRESSFUL. Because of such motorists.