Originally posted by Stage:I don't really know what 1a and 2 are..
1b is because Coded Manual (CM) mode is activated. Why is it activated there? I don't know..
So it is on manual mode??
Originally posted by bus555:I not sure if it ok to post about NEL train here?
There is one NEL train quite weird sio.I mean when it reaches stations, it slows down a-bit to stop lah (of course I understand, driverless) but it like a tortise when it need to stop at the staion plus when the train doors open, the plaform screen door never open until about 2-3 sec then open. and it is also one of the weirdest NEL train that I take and if I am not wrong, I was on 70251? the train cars
every NEL train also liddat...
Originally posted by MyNameisNas:So it is on manual mode??
Originally posted by MyNameisNas:Sorry if this questions had been asked before.
1a) Most trains entering Bukit Gombakfrom cck during heavy rains will stop first before entering the station. Why?
1b) After stopping, there will be a red light lighted from the 1st cabin.. It is located between the parted windows and on the top of the emergency exit door why? and what does it means? it will than make its entry.
2) Can anyone explain to me what are the flashing lights at every station means? And also the lights on the tracks... thanks..
it is probably due to lightning...
for qn 2, flashing yellow lights mean there is a warning/cautionary message for the driver to take note of. in this case, it will be "raining".
Originally posted by ^tamago^:
it is probably due to lightning...
for qn 2, flashing yellow lights mean there is a warning/cautionary message for the driver to take note of. in this case, it will be "raining".
always can remember the yellow plate for the TO to take note.
RAINING
Originally posted by MyNameisNas:Sorry if this questions had been asked before.
1a) Most trains entering Bukit Gombakfrom cck during heavy rains will stop first before entering the station. Why?
1b) After stopping, there will be a red light lighted from the 1st cabin.. It is located between the parted windows and on the top of the emergency exit door why? and what does it means? it will than make its entry.
2) Can anyone explain to me what are the flashing lights at every station means? And also the lights on the tracks... thanks..
1a. If the Operations Control Centre instruct them to stop, they have to follow orders. There are a thousand and one reasons why a train stops. Likely due to slippery tracks.
1b. CM (Coded Manual) - Train switches to manual mode and Train Operator has to guide the train into the station himself. The computers will then not be in charge of running the train.
2. Flashing lights at the FRONT of the platform indicate that the Train Operator needs to look at the notice board for instructions from Operations Control Centre. Usually they include things like i. raining; ii. Race Day; iii. Track works.
Thanks!!! Quite interesting lahh seyyy...
maybe this is a crap question.. How fast can a mrt stop from full speed(80km/h is it??) to zero?.. And what is the distance?
1 question... does anyone have photos of the SMRT trains to be serving in the Circle Line?
These are from 9V-SKA, they aren't owned by me!
many years back, SMRT also removed all the seats of some cars in a particular train, replacing them with cushions aka bum rests.. anyone can shed more light on this? esp why was this scheme failed.. and it was re-born again?
Originally posted by 105090:many years back, SMRT also removed all the seats of some cars in a particular train, replacing them with cushions aka bum rests.. anyone can shed more light on this? esp why was this scheme failed.. and it was re-born again?
C651. Last set to have it before being changed back: 237/238.
Scheme fail because passengers KPKB about not enough seats due to their "fragile legs".
Originally posted by bus555:I not sure if it ok to post about NEL train here?
There is one NEL train quite weird sio.I mean when it reaches stations, it slows down a-bit to stop lah (of course I understand, driverless) but it like a tortise when it need to stop at the staion plus when the train doors open, the plaform screen door never open until about 2-3 sec then open. and it is also one of the weirdest NEL train that I take and if I am not wrong, I was on 70251? the train cars
All NEL trains does that. The computers are programmed this way to ensure that the train can slow to a smooth stop. Then the computers need to check if everything is ok before they then can open the door. It's unlike EWL and NSL where the TO can just catch a glimpse if everthing is ok before opening the door. Somemore already a routine, so EWL/NSL doors open quicker.
now smrt has 10 c151 trains like the c651, entire row without chairs! somemore no cushions sia, juz a metal bar!
Yes... They are the last ten refurbist's. Mainly 055/056, 059/060, 067/068, 109/110, 117/118 and should be 039/040, 069/070, 071/072, 073/074, 075/076.. It's a sad thing they decided to do that...
I wished they would like change the current train announcements on the EW and the NS so taht they would also annouce in mandrin, like in hongkong mtr, all announcements in canto, chinese and english! sg should learn (:
"Next station, Pasir Ris terminus, xia yi zhan, ba xi li zhong dian zhan."
Won't you find it a bit long like that? Then at PSR still have the 'This train service terminates at this station. All passengers please alight. Thank you for travelling with S - M - R - T"
Hmm got a question to ask..
Regarding about driving manual mode. At the headwall, I usually see the notice, Raining. And there's one time I saw a notice saying Crane Working Ahead. So I would like to ask you guys if there are any more than those two above?
Originally posted by Interception_7:Hmm got a question to ask..
Regarding about driving manual mode. At the headwall, I usually see the notice, Raining. And there's one time I saw a notice saying Crane Working Ahead. So I would like to ask you guys if there are any more than those two above?
Tree pruning, race days at Kranji (at the two preceding stations, as said by Oceane), CCTV not working (hand written), Bishan track gauge (Notice at AMK)
Does Payalebar station (CircleLine), really have 3 tracks running through it like tanah merah station? That means that it would have 3 platforms?
Originally posted by Oceane:
The inner rails are used to reduce the amount of vibration caused by the train. Just like stones on the tracks to reduce sound.
The inner rails are called guard rails. They are to "catch" the wheels of the train to prevent it from falling from the viaduct when it derails. Hence, it is only found on viaducts.
Originally posted by Tranzort08:now smrt has 10 c151 trains like the c651, entire row without chairs! somemore no cushions sia, juz a metal bar!
its only gonna worsen it and make more ppl rely on SBST buses instead.
Why do some trains terminate at Yishun though this is not the terminal station
Originally posted by adkranz:Why do some trains terminate at Yishun though this is not the terminal station
So that the trains that terminate @ Yishun can go back downtown to pick up more people to fetch them home.
hello colleagues,
who's the voice behind SBS Transit NEL Trains?