Yes, after the last train has gone to their respective depot to park, the maintenance department will sent people to investigate and repair tracks. That's why the tunnel lights are on.Originally posted by Icemoon:I have a question.
Why issit during the last few trains at night .. the tunnel lights will be on? I thought it is for track maintenance later .. but isn't this a bit too kiasu?
What about Kranji?Originally posted by sinicker:whyyyyy... really leh. enter tunnel aft bedok, speed up. come out, slow down. enter tunnel aft kallang, speed up, come out aft tiong bahru, slow down..
MidLifeUpgrade. EMU 01/02 and all first gen trains KHI will have its external carbody modify to look like 3rd gen trains KNS carbody.Originally posted by SMRT 32373238:i have a question...
some of us have seen a refurbished 1987-1989 kawasaki train that is black instead of white... i saw it once at midnight in bishan depot...
any idea wat number that train is? i've been hunting for it but i never saw it again...
by when do they intend to fully upgrade all the KHI trains? no press releases yet?Originally posted by Manager433:MidLifeUpgrade. EMU 01/02 and all first gen trains KHI will have its external carbody modify to look like 3rd gen trains KNS carbody.
no idea... i only saw one train like that but couldnt see its number...Originally posted by sinicker:by when do they intend to fully upgrade all the KHI trains? no press releases yet?
its called Orient ExpressOriginally posted by SBS9889U:I heard there is an E & O train(Relax journey) from Singapore to Butterworth or ???? that runs on a few seasons of the year. Anyone can provide me with more information? Thanks in advance.
This one huh? Wait for another 10 more years to go.....Originally posted by SMRT 32373238:no idea... i only saw one train like that but couldnt see its number...
nah they wont report this in press... its only changing the appearance...
then what abt 2nd gen? the Siemens trains 3201-3238?
SBS9889U was right. The train is called the Eastern & Oriental Express (E&O). It travels between Singapore-Kuala Lumpur-Butterworth-Hadyai-Bangkok-Chiang Mai. The train will be in Singapore roughly twice every month. It arrives on a Wednesday at about 9 AM and departs the next day (Thursday) at about 11 AM. Sometimes, there is a special dinner charter on a Saturday evening, departing at about 7 PM. This is a shortworking trip running from Singapore-Kulai-Singapore.Originally posted by 105090:
The Pics are nice This must be a rare sight. Anyway, does the operation of this E & O express affects the normal operating timings/ details of the KTM Railway?Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:Here are some pictures of the E&O
http://suhirman.fotopic.net/p25997061.html
http://suhirman.fotopic.net/p25997062.html
http://suhirman.fotopic.net/p25997063.html
btw what kind of locos are used to pull the E&Os?Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:SBS9889U was right. The train is called the Eastern & Oriental Express (E&O). It travels between Singapore-Kuala Lumpur-Butterworth-Hadyai-Bangkok-Chiang Mai. The train will be in Singapore roughly twice every month. It arrives on a Wednesday at about 9 AM and departs the next day (Thursday) at about 11 AM. Sometimes, there is a special dinner charter on a Saturday evening, departing at about 7 PM. This is a shortworking trip running from Singapore-Kulai-Singapore.
So usually the E&Os would start and arrive at destinations punctually?Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:Yes. The E&O has priority over all the other trains.
It is either pulled by a 24 Class or a 25 Class. However, there have been eyewitness reports of 2 YDM4 locomotives pulling the E&O. Once the train reach Padang Besar, the KTMB loco is relieved by a SRT (Thai) loco.Originally posted by SGEMP:btw what kind of locos are used to pull the E&Os?
Well, yes, generally that is true. A friend remaked that according to the train drivers, the E&O is a tough one to pull. Extreme care has to be taken to ensure a smooth ride. Also, the train will have to slow down when the passengers are having their meals.Originally posted by SGEMP:So usually the E&Os would start and arrive at destinations punctually?
Thanks for these valuable informationsOriginally posted by ^tamago^:some of the topics u have discussed here, i just put in/affirm watever i can:
NEL uses overhead with pantograph and a third rail below for the return circuit to complete it.
trains do not necessarily run faster underground compared to aboveground. as an indication, most of the time, trains accelerate to 60kph (which takes 17 secs from zero) eventually.
when decelerating, trains enter stations at 50kph (train head), hence if it was cruising at 60kph, it will slow down beginning from 28m (1/5 the station's distance away) from the station.
and yes, the tunnel lights are on for maintenance. the inspection train will join in behind the last train of the day and check for track corrosions and identify them for further action. work will also begin on other track sections, and has to be completed in 4 hours. tunnel lights are switched off after the first or second train has passed through the tunnel with no faults on braking distance (due to accidental oil spill).
You never really know if the train accelerates in the tunnel, simply because there is no means of reference in the tunnel. The closeness of the tunnel to the window makes one feel as though the train is travelling faster, same thing with the sound.Originally posted by sinicker:whyyyyy... really leh. enter tunnel aft bedok, speed up. come out, slow down. enter tunnel aft kallang, speed up, come out aft tiong bahru, slow down..