I think sinicker may have a point and I say gravity is behind this. Because when the train enter the tunnel, the tracks slope down and when they exit, the tracks slope up.Originally posted by EXCO:You never really know if the train accelerates in the tunnel, simply because there is no means of reference in the tunnel. The closeness of the tunnel to the window makes one feel as though the train is travelling faster, same thing with the sound.
will, cos it's a fixed attribute of the card.Originally posted by 105090:today i took bus sv88 then transfer to MRT
so i walk to the fare gates and tap my card. it shows a red light ("Please Check Card" ) then i try another gate and says the same thing
then i walk to the control office.. that fella ask me point to the card reader, and deducted me 65cents!!! the screen said something like enter without exiting..
wth!
then i went to my destination station and that joker said i never tqap out the last time i took the MRT and looked super buay song..
last time i took mrt with that card was months ago still have record?
looks like choa chu kang northbound view.Originally posted by VODKA KE0601:How come Singapore's MRT tracks have two pairs of rails instead of one...???
The inner pair of rails are called "Bridge Guard Rail", which is one kind of the "Guard Rail" series.Originally posted by ^tamago^:looks like choa chu kang northbound view.
i can only speculate that the inner pair of rails works as a stabilser, silencer, vibration absorber or sleeper, as it is only there when the train is on a viaduct, but not when it's on the ground or in the tunnel (which is built on ground).
Thanks for the Infos, "C751B"...!!! And to the rests that responded to mine enquires too...!!! Nice little cosy forum here, IMO. Keep it up.Originally posted by C751B:The inner pair of rails are called "Bridge Guard Rail", which is one kind of the "Guard Rail" series.
They are used to avoid the train fall out from the bridge, viaduct or high land when derailing.
I think SMRT is too nervous and secure since bridge guard rails are usually used in high-speed tracks(over 100KPH) and curve tracks. As for straight tracks and normal-speed tracks, authorities seldom use guard rails.
Do not be so pissed yet... Does this not happen everyday? Hmm, don't tell me the LRT train is running the opposite direction than normal, or the 'soothing' red light became the 'bright-like-siao' white light...Originally posted by Chelzea:ccb e fucking lrt make so much noise and shine headlights into my hse fuck sia
I live in the BP / CCK area, LRT comes so close, you can touch it with a pretty long bambo pole. Not forgetting thrown items by inconsiderate ppl, which incudes bras and panties. They're are cleared every night.Originally posted by jetabt767400:Do not be so pissed yet... Does this not happen everyday? Hmm, don't tell me the LRT train is running the opposite direction than normal, or the 'soothing' red light became the 'bright-like-siao' white light...
Relax, this country is good, count in places like New York, you can literally touch the train. Cheer Up!
You labelled the school... Dangerous you know, if you know about those people, we never know what they are up to...Originally posted by VODKA KE0601:I live in the BP / CCK area, LRT comes so close, you can touch it with a pretty long bambo pole. Not forgetting thrown items by inconsiderate ppl, which incudes bras and panties. They're are cleared every night.
There's even one time, a group of malay boys from Fajar Sec threw water bombs at the LRT passing through, didn't stop them though.
Really? The LRT cars use rubber wheels and the tracks are quite far away from the buildings. LTA and SMRT have done their best to reduce noise I think.Originally posted by Chelzea:ccb e fucking lrt make so much noise and shine headlights into my hse fuck sia
According to Wiki, "C751B" is right.Originally posted by jetabt767400:Hmm, the Bullet Train, or Shinkansen, does not use a lot of guard rails!
As I remember, they only use guard rail on sensitive, high speed turning area. I once thought that the guard rails are for construction/inspection vehicles to travel on while inspecting main tracks, however, this is not the case as in the tunnel, tracks do not feature this, hence this theory is refused.
I do not think that the guard rails do much 'guarding' the train from falling off, as the centrifugal forces would be enough to tear the bogie(s) and tracks apart. In many derailing accidents, the bogie would be separated from the train body once the forces become too extreme. This would render the guard rails useless, and the guard rail would have been a catalyst too, helping in tearing apart the bogie in some sense, as forces are in work.
Wikipedia: Guard Rail (U.S.) Check rail (UK) --> A double rail section of track, sometimes found in train yards and on bridges to prevent derailments, by having rail on both sides of the wheel flange. Also found on curves with a tight radius and switches and crossings
Water Bombs that are thrown by students wouldn't really 'damage' those LRTs, on the thought the rain also drops on the LRT when they are crusing and in comparison to chewing gum that was indirectly banned due to inconsiderate people spitting them on to tracks at stations few years back. Labelling the school isn't really that serious, you can't really find a culprit if you just label the school, no matter how prestigious or bad that particular school is.Originally posted by jetabt767400:You labelled the school... Dangerous you know, if you know about those people, we never know what they are up to...
If LTA or SMRT is really sincere and if they have money to spend, they could install sound blocking glass panels or related stuff to greatly reduce the amount of noise, although it would not be really necessary as LRT isn't as loud as an aeroplane. FYI, roads leading to Sydney Airport or surrounding roads have these devices installed due to the protest of the people living real close to the airport and we as tourists have to pay a higher tax when using Sydney Airport.Originally posted by C751B:Really? The LRT cars use rubber wheels and the tracks are quite far away from the buildings. LTA and SMRT have done their best to reduce noise I think.
The so call 'money train' officially known as Cash Train already de-commission and given to SCDF for training purpose. Another one unofficially used for training by the *OF.Originally posted by jetabt767400:Burning Question:
Anyone got the number of the trains involved in the Clementi Station collision on 5th August 1993? Wikipedia sources state that the present 4-car 'money train' is 'salvaged' from the 'wreck' of the collision trains.
There is obviously something very wrong about this!
The collision, I believe, is very light, not enough to make the carriages telescope into each other, and the damage is under control as well. Hence, I do not trust the article, but I am sincere about the numbers of the train, including the number the 'money train' is carrying right now, I have not seen it for some time.
Today is Sunday, after 6PM you post here nevermind la, by wednesday people forget already then u can strike 4D lohOriginally posted by Manager433:The so call 'money train' officially known as Cash Train already de-commission and given to SCDF for training purpose. Another one unofficially used for training by the *OF.
The trains that involved in the clementi incident still in service today wor. But cannot disclose the emu number coz today is a Saturday ( 4D day ). Wait number sold out leh.