Its not new. That one is a cash train DT car ( 1st generation KHI train ).Originally posted by sinicker:there is a carriage of the new kawasaki train in SCDF's Mandai Training Village.
Aiya...why you always think of the extreme? MRT can go as fast as bullet train, ah? This is not Japan lah. And do you think the engineers would put the guard rails there without calculating the amount of force it will be able to withstand? Of course, they would have anticipated the worst and rigorous tests have been done to ensure maximum safety. You wouldn't want to wreck a million dollar train and hundreds of lives just because the guard rails are not strong enough.Originally posted by jetabt767400:Hmm, the Bullet Train, or Shinkansen, does not use a lot of guard rails!
As I remember, they only use guard rail on sensitive, high speed turning area. I once thought that the guard rails are for construction/inspection vehicles to travel on while inspecting main tracks, however, this is not the case as in the tunnel, tracks do not feature this, hence this theory is refused.
I do not think that the guard rails do much 'guarding' the train from falling off, as the centrifugal forces would be enough to tear the bogie(s) and tracks apart. In many derailing accidents, the bogie would be separated from the train body once the forces become too extreme. This would render the guard rails useless, and the guard rail would have been a catalyst too, helping in tearing apart the bogie in some sense, as forces are in work.
Adei, the bogies are not stuck to the carraige with elephant glue lah. And how can the bogies get ripped off at all? If a carriage should become derailed, the guard rails will help to keep the derailed wheels more or less on the track, going straight on instead of over the side. In other words, they prevent the wheels from leaving the alignment of the track - even tho' they might be running on the sleepers - and so stop the train going over the edge. The guard rails bend towards each other after junctions and at the start of the viaduct, to try and catch derailed vehicles as they approach.Originally posted by jetabt767400:Hmm, I refer to Japan as both our MRT systems and track systems do follow theirs'. I am not thinking about only the extreme though, we still have to acknowledge its presence.
In derailing accidents, and in my explanation above, its not that I am saying that the guard rails are not being able to hold on to the forces the train and wheels apply on it, but rather, as designed, it does not move, staying rigid, hoping that the train does not derail. But, its the train and its bogie, now, that is at fault.
The forces become too extreme for the bogies to take, hence they break away from the train body itself, and a catastrophe happens. The guard rail is totally not at fault here.
Why do I have to explain myself? The words should do the job.
Why bullet train tracks have few guard rails; as the tracks are tilted, the trains literally hold ont the tracks thanks to gravity. Same thing in Singapore, the MRT tracks above ground are tilted at turning points, like Clementi.
that is the reason why most platforms are of 'island' design.Originally posted by DamienSaputra:I feel that LTA's plan to build a wall on the platform where the Southbound trains stop at Bishan station is unnecessary. Wouldn't it be difficult for the southbound passengers to change platforms if they wanted to change trains to the northbound platform in an event that they forgotten to alight at AMK?
They should just build it AMK/JE/TM style, the middle platform thingy.
But the thing is, why they wanted to build a new platform?
Any thoughts on this?
Check rail and guard rail are the same thing actually. The former is in British English, while the latter is in American English. Since Singapore uses British English, we should use the term "check rail".Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:... ... ...
The one you are talking about for the bullet train is known as check rails. They are found on curves and, I believe, are much closer to the running rails as compared to guard rails. However, they still work the same way.
Oh....anyway thanks for the info!Originally posted by ^tamago^:that is the reason why most platforms are of 'island' design.
in bishan case's, there are 2 reasons: making the platform less crowded and less accident-prone (and they will put up PSD's), another reason is that putting twin escalators on the current platform to CCL will take up too much space on the current platform.
Is Landmark station going to be built with side platforms, like Braddel station?Originally posted by ^tamago^:landmark station will also not use the island platform design.
from millenia, the tunnels at bayfront will be stacked, each direction in their own level and own platform.Originally posted by DamienSaputra:Is Landmark station going to be built with side platforms, like Braddel station?
I hear that the fare gates are on the same level as the platform, similar to Changi Airport station.
Hmmm....not surprised that Chinatown is a densely built up areaOriginally posted by ^tamago^:i think the tunnels will be stacked, each direction in their own level and own platform. next one at chinatown i think also tio.
Wow cool.....Where did you get all this info?Originally posted by ^tamago^:from millenia, the tunnels at bayfront will be stacked, each direction in their own level and own platform.
next at landmark, they actually cross to the other side so the prevailing direction now is the right tunnel and not the left tunnel. cross st and chinatown (terminating) looks like it too.
DTE will be directly linked to BTL.
Wow cool.....Where did you get all this info from?Originally posted by ^tamago^:from millenia, the tunnels at bayfront will be stacked, each direction in their own level and own platform.
next at landmark, they actually cross to the other side so the prevailing direction now is the right tunnel and not the left tunnel. cross st and chinatown (terminating) looks like it too.
hi ur sayin that (DTE) CNT stn will have platforms separated? so u need to change level if u overshoot your stop?Originally posted by ^tamago^:from millenia, the tunnels at bayfront will be stacked, each direction in their own level and own platform.
in HBF's case, the station box is constructed so that vivocity can be built on top of it.Originally posted by SMRT 32373238:hi ur sayin that (DTE) CNT stn will have platforms separated? so u need to change level if u overshoot your stop?
does this apply to the whole DTE?
and i think i read somewhere that CNT and HBF have CCL station boxes added while constructing the NEL... then why is it that Serangoon doesnt?
kinda weird.. as Serangoon is a Stage3 while HBF is stage5 stn..
hmmm ic thanks for the info... where'd u get the info that northshore line has stn box at PGL? but that line not even confirmed yet right?Originally posted by ^tamago^:in HBF's case, the station box is constructed so that vivocity can be built on top of it.
in CNT's case, the station box is also below the current NEL station so it has to be built first. if i'm not wrong, the train will have overrun behind the station a.k.a. harbourfront-style.
and if i'm not wrong, there was a mention somewhere that even PGL has north-shore line station box built alrd.
SER CCL was built till now cos it is not directly under NEL station box. it was also built later so that whoever the developer of that plot of land can build on top of the CCL station box right away.
note that even with the seperated platform arrangement at landmark and upp cross st, u still alight on the doors on the right side, which is different from braddell where u alight on the left door.
that north-shore line is in planning... it'll come sooner or later. even if not it's ok. it's just a mere shell, not even anything near woodleigh. it can act as CD shelter too.Originally posted by SMRT 32373238:hmmm ic thanks for the info... where'd u get the info that northshore line has stn box at PGL? but that line not even confirmed yet right?
oh and if any of u guys wanna explore new stns the stretch of CCL1 is ready and u can access the above of bras basah stn... there's a bridge over the stn's glass pool roof and u could try peer in... quite hard to see inside though... and if anyone love stations wanna take pics go esplanade stn... lots of flowers faster take b4 die
hmm true haha where's penang rd tunnel? which stn is that haha i don know the small roads very well... the tunnel as in the mall or train tunnel?Originally posted by ^tamago^:that north-shore line is in planning... it'll come sooner or later. even if not it's ok. it's just a mere shell, not even anything near woodleigh. it can act as CD shelter too.
even penang rd tunnel is ready liao. might be opening around nov.
tat is one of the entrances of museum station.Originally posted by SMRT 32373238:hmm true haha where's penang rd tunnel? which stn is that haha i don know the small roads very well... the tunnel as in the mall or train tunnel?
is the SHM tunnel part of the rail line or something else? haha nv heard of itOriginally posted by ^tamago^:tat is one of the entrances of museum station.
penang rd tunnel is the one behind SHM. the one where they demolish the old national library.
no. it's a vehicular tunnel.Originally posted by SMRT 32373238:is the SHM tunnel part of the rail line or something else? haha nv heard of it
Light Rail can be underground but they will be more expensive to build. LRTs in Malaysia (Kelana Jaya, Sri Petaling, Ampang) although they are called Light Rail Trains, they are actually classified under heavy rail like our Kawasakis, Siemens and Alstom. They call it Light Rail because it's as "fast" as Light. And it has a nice ring to it.Originally posted by SBS9889U:You are Right! LRTs in malaysia are partially underground, like PUTRALine.